We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay! Will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
€5,00 full breakfast
Ranked #3 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing stay! Will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend in December 2012. I really could not fault this hotel at all I just loved it!! Our room was very quirky and modern- not like a normal run of the mill hotel! It was so beautifully clean and the beds were very comfortable. Our room even had a Jacuzzi bath- perfect for unwinding after a long day of sight-seeing! Great location just on the edge of the red light district and a 5 minute walk from the train station. The breakfast in the morning was just a continental meal but it was all so fresh and delicious- the bread was still warm out of the oven! They also have freshly blended smoothies and an array of fruit and cereal with an extra little treat that was different every day. I loved how personal this hotel was. We had 2 bottles of champagne waiting in our little fridge in our room when we arrived- complimentary of course!

Great service, great location and a fantastic nights sleep in a quirky, arty, comfortable and clean room- what more could you want! If i am ever back in Amsterdam I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else! Loved it!

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel if you are not very mobile. There is no lift and the stairs are so steep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    81
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
445
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We booked a courtyard room because it came with a bath - necessary after a hard day's tramping round Amsterdam! I liked the room although I can see that the stark style may be a little masculine for some. The bed was comfortable and there was a decent sized wardrobe. The cage above the door provided a nod to the hotel's former life as a fetish hotel! The bathroom was spacious - if I had one wee grumble, the towels were quite small - after a bath, you really want a bath towel to wrap yourself in. Free wifi and TV with BBC News for UK news junkies. The fridge had a few complimentary bottles and a box of nuts which was a nice touch. Even nicer was the card and the bottle of prosecco on my birthday - thanks guys.

Breakfast was very laid back - a fridge with home-made smoothies, different cheeses and hams, tomatoes, spreads etc; warm bread, jams, peanut butter, choc hazelnut spread and choc sprinkles; a bean to cup espresso maker which made us both very happy (a selection of teas also provided) and each day a surprise - on our 3 breakfasts, we had scrambled eggs, pancakes with honey and strawberries with yoghurt respectively. Coffee and tea is available all day and to takeaway. There is a small selection of wines, snacks and chocolate which you can help yourself to and pay on departure. The guys running the place are really friendly and helpful, happy to book tables, make suggestions, provide umbrellas, advise on transport etc.

I read one review which mentioned cold rooms - we were there in December and it was freezing outside (literally at night) and our room was very warm and cosy - and that was without having the radiator on full. Location wise, this place is close to the station and a bit further from the museum area where we have generally stayed before but Amsterdam is small enough that you can walk most places and the tram is pretty straightforward.

Room Tip: There is no lift and the stairs are quite narrow - we were helped with our bags but you may want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Mauro Mansion for 3 nights from the 6th December and we don't have a bad word to say about the hotel.We stayed in room 11 on the ground floor and everything was brilliant. Large room, heated floors in the bathroom, comfy beds, free mini bar everything you could think of. A personal highlight was the swing suspended from the ceiling and the ladder to a small second floor self thing with a cage (kind of strange but it fitted the fun style of the hotel).

Breakfast was fresh local produce and there was a special breakfast item each day such as mini pancakes or scrambled eggs. The owners Berry and Marcel were helpful and polite.

Overall this is probably the nicest hotel I have stayed in and the little touches make it what it is, would definitely recommend to anyone and will be returning next time I visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are perfect and minimal noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at mauro mansion for 2 nights. It was the best. We've stayed in a whole range of accommodation all over the world and we both agreed this was definitely one of the best.

Rooms were huge. Welcome fridge was free with drinks snacks and champagne. We even got a chocolate gift from Santa!

TV huge with a selection of DVDs free of charge to borrow downstairs. Wifi in room. Bathroom was big with huge bathtub which was fantastic to being back circulation to the body on freezing cold weather

Breakfast had a good selection of breads, cereals, cheese and cold meats. Coffee available 247. Juice was great and they made something extra for u, first day we had pineapple and second day some Dutch pancakes

Close walk to main train station and red light district. Lots of restaurants around. I would recommend greenwoods and bird snacks thai.

They have an honesty bar which has a selection of goodies which are cheaper than the convenience stores

Overall it was a fantastic stay !!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Mauro Mansion is top notch in every respect.

Privately owned, and the 2 owners are there whenever you need them and because they own it, have a direct interest in making sure you are a happy customer. From the moment we walked in from 20 hours of travel, one of the two owners was greeting us with open arms and offering advice about things to do in this fair city. Although we didn't expect our room to be ready until 4 pm, they had another room available right away at 9 am when we arrived and kindly offered it to these weary travelers so we could settle and have a hot shower before a full day of exploring the city.

Beyond that, after walking in with luggage in hand drenched in wet snow, they offered maps, guide books and a cup of freshly ground and brewed coffee and a selection of premium looseleaf teas which put an instant smile on mine and my girlfriends face.

Our first night was amazing with a spotless room, high end bath products, a room with unique and tasteful decor accentuating it's history of original beams dating back to the 1600's but modernizing it for the discriminating boutique hotel aficionado...

The beds are comfy and soft with just enough support that us North Americans are accustomed to. For the most part I have found beds in European hotels very stiff and board like...

The next morning we woke to fresh coffee and tea and an included with the price breakfast that had fresh yogurt and berries, several different carb vehicles including two different types of freshly baked bread (I mean so fresh that they are still warm from the bakery) with every available garnish from nutella to jam, the finest dutch meats and cheeses, freshly squeezed juices like orange kiwi and a great atmosphere with some Norah Jones playing in the background,,,,

The hotel is located a stones throw from Centraal Station, boat tours, trams, bike rental and is overlooking one of Amsterdam's beautiful canals.

The feather in the cap was on our checkout day, we didn't need to leave until about 2 pm, but checkout is at 11am, so they said we could just keep our bags (with a lot of valuables) in the room until we were ready to go at 2. So generous and a very kind gesture unlike any corporately owned hotel...

In case you couldn't already tell, I recommend this hotel to any and all travelers staying in Amsterdam... Happy Travels!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our 2-night stay in a canal room made our first visit to Amsterdam so enjoyable, thanks to Berry who has been most helpful, not only in taking our luggages up the steep staircase, but tips on museum visits in particular.

Apparently Mauro Mansion is an historical building despite the modern refurbishments. The room itself is comfortable by any motel standard (and we've stayed in many hotels while traveling EU, so I believe it is a fair comment), not to mention the breakfast which, though basic, have a classy & quality element to it, which is more than adequate for us.

True to its advertising, Mauro is one of the best B&B-motel combo we experienced so far:-)

Room Tip: get a canal room any time - it's quiet, roomy & the view tops it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here in one of the canal rooms - which was a fabulous size room with the most comfy bed ever! Great bathroom with plenty of hot water whenever needed and a mini bar which was free. Great location - with all the main sights in easy walking difference. If you want to stay somewhere a little bit quirky in Amsterdam - stay here!

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.