We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Mauro Mansions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
€5,00 full breakfast
Ranked #3 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Marvellous Mauro Mansions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Exceeded already high expectations, the love the owners have for Mauro shows through in every resoect. I feel very lucky to have stayed there. Location is the best, room and bed devine. Breakfast was amazing. Don't worry about the stairs, they carried my bags!! There is good reason that Mauro is rated so highly, they have studied and specialised the often lost art of hospitality.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    81
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
446
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
B.C.,Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I booked into this hotel based partly on its high ranking in Trip Adviser. We enjoyed our visit and had no problems but I cannot quite understand why this hotel gets such high ratings. It didn't seem to have any particularly marvellous assets beyond those found in MANY small hotels. The location was quite good, the room roomy and clean, breakfast options were somewhat limited, and the bathroom was in good but not in absolutely perfect repair (few cracked tiles). These things can all be found in many excellent quality hotels! The owners(?) were pleasant. A nice feature is the small fridge with a few free drinks. This is an unusual bonus! It should be noted that, like all the old canal side small hotels, there is no elevator so people with mobility issues should stay in one of the large city-style hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Mauro Mansion in October 2012 in a room overlooking the canal. The hotel, within several blocks of the train station and easy walking distance to major attractions and tram stops, is a quaint gem--more of a bread and breakfast than a hotel. Breakfast, included in the price, offered bread, yogurt, cheese, meat and juice basics and a different fruit selection each morning, and coffee and espresso drinks are offered without charge throughout the day. The room was larger than many European rooms and inviting. The owners were present throughout the day to offer suggestions and directions.

Room Tip: The canal room is well worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We recently stayed eight nights in Mauro Mansion and had a wonderful time. The owners Berry and Marcel were most helpful with recommendations on restaurants, museums and points of interest as well as tips on using the transportation system. The hotel location is very convenient--only a couple of blocks from the Central Station. We had a canal room on the third floor with a fine view. Like other reviewers, we especially appreciated the breakfasts and complimentary beverages in the mini bar. We're already planning a return trip in April of 2013 and will definitely stay at Mauro Mansion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in. I have just come back from a fantastic trip to Amsterdam and a large reason the stay was so good was due to the hotel.
Berry and Marcel have created a lovely place to stay and their attention to detail is second to none. The drinks in the courtesy fridge, the chocolates and waffles on the pillow each day, free coffee to go, free WiFi and a safe in the room are many of the reasons why the Mauro goes beyond being just a hotel. The breakfast is great and there is lots of choice. You also get something specially prepared each day which is always different and adds a really nice touch.
I loved the quirky room which had the comfiest bed ever! The bathroom was wonderful with loads of hot water and a very powerful shower in the bath and the location was great, with all attractions just a walk away. It is just around the corner from the Red Light District but this is nothing to worry about. It is very safe to walk through and is part of Amsterdam's culture. If you really don't want to walk through you can easily avoid it. I won't even bother looking for anywhere else the next time I go back to Amsterdam as I will definitely be using the Mauro again..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Like many others I booked to stay here on the back of reviews on this site. We stayed on the top floor in a room with no views however the room was brilliant, large double bed (you could have fitted another one in the room was so big), en suite with bath and jucuzzi and and a seperate wet room type shower. What really left me with a good feeling from the place was that they are there to make your stay enjoyable and not trying to rip you off at every opportunity. For example selections of free alcoholic and non alcoholic in your rooms mini bar, additional alcholol available downstairs at minimum cost E2 for a beer and E10 for a bottle of wine. A selection of DVD's that can be taken to your room. When I saw the DVD's I thought who is going to watch DVD's when they are on holiday, but one day after many hours walking we decided to head back early to the hotel, get a bottle of wine and dvd and have a relaxing evening in in our lovely room.

Breakfast was also great, again many places charge you a fortune for breakfast but here it was all included. A selection of quality meats, cheeses, yoghurts, fruit juices,breads and a surprise that was brought to your table every morning from crepes to scrambled eggs. It was great to be well fed before leaving the hotel with a plan of what we wanted to do instead of walking about trying to find somewhere nice for breakfast

Location wise it was great as well, very close to the main train station.

If i was to go back to Amsterdam I wouldn't look elsehwere for somewhere to stay!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I use tripadvisor a lot and we booked this hotel in October, 2012 also because of all the good reviews from tripadvisor and we are very pleased with our choice.

We stayed two nights in a canal room on the second floor. There is no noise at all. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Even though there is no elevator, they carried all our luggage for us and asked us to leave the luggage in the room at check out as they would carry them downstairs for us too.

The location could not be better. I usually like to take cab every where but I even have no issue dragging our luggage from the central station to the hotel. It is easy to find and really less than 5 min of walk so please do not waste your money taking a cab from the airport. Take the train instead. It is also reasonably close to the cruise terminal and I have no problems dragging our luggage to the cruise terminal at the end of our stay. It is approximately 15 mins of walk.

Amenities and service are superior than even the St Regis we stayed at in Rome. We forgot to bring our adapter and the owner gladly provided us one. Even though it is a small B&B type, they do provide nice brand name Rituals bathroom products. There is free coffee, water all the time in the dining room plus lots of DVD's to choose from if you still have energy to watch a movie at the end of your stay. All the complimentary drinks in the mini bar - wine, beer, pop, juice etc are really nice too.

It is close to the red light district but still very safe. We took the Randy Roy red light district tour, which I highly recommended too, and found it very handy to just walk back to the hotel in 5 mins late at night.

I would definitely stay at this place again and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.