We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quirky boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last-minute for 1 night earlier this month.
The B&B is in a great location, just a short walk from the train station.
The decor is quirky, different and great...we had a lovely spa in our room, and even though you're in the red light district, we had a wonderful quite sleep.
Breakfast wasn't huge, but was all we needed, and the wifi access was also great.
I'd definitely recommend Mauro Mansion to family and friends, and would stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    77
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
420
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pictou County, Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A short walk from the station, and well situated for us, we loved Mauro Mansion. we stayed 4 nights in a very comfortable and clean room which offered welcome wine and beers in the mini-bar (gratis). The owners were very helpful, suggesting places for dinner and just chatting. Breakfast was truly excellent revolving around meats, cheeses and wonderful breads. In addition, each morning, we were presented with a freshly made offering such as a Dutch pancake or fresh fruit.
Mauro Mansion set the tone for our awesome experience in the city. Even the jail cell in our room so added to the ambience. I don't think we have anything like that in Nova Scotia! (Thank you, guys for everything)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Had a 2 night stay in December, cant speak highly enough about Mauro Mansion, fantastic location, great rooms & breakfast, honesty bar, & not forgetting the hospitality of Berry & Marcel, roll on next December.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Loved the design of the hotel. A few minutes walk from central station in the red light district. We had a quiet court yard room. A great breakfast. Would stay again. Very easy walking distance to all areas of central Amsterdam, easy access to trams, boat tours, bus tours. There are so many great restaurants in the area it is hard to choose where to go. The staff was very welcoming and helpful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I've been meaning to write this review for some time. My wife and I stayed here while on our honeymoon in 2011. I had been to Amsterdam before and knew the area. The mansion was as convenient as I had expected, walking from the train station. My wife didnt have a problem with the walk, even while dragging her bags.

First, Barry and Marcel are awesome. We were welcomed warmly when arriving.

The room was large and comfortable. A bottle of bubbly was waiting for us when we got there! The glasses had strawberries in them too! What a way to start our stay!

Needless to say, we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, as we were out sightseeing, etc. But all of our interatction with staff, etc. was superb.

So, a few months after we got back from our honeymoon (Paris, Brussels also included) my wife and I found a kitten at the animal shelter. My wife loved the little guy because he had a patch of different colored fur on his side that was shaped like a heart. Sounds cheesy,, I know, but real. Anyway, with no debate between the two of us, the cats name is "Mauro."

Thanks for an unforgettable stay!

Room Tip: Canal side ground floor rooms - dont worry about sound. We never had a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Based largely on previous reviews of Mauro Mansion on tripadvisor, I stayed here for my last two nights in Amsterdam (after having stayed earlier at another very highly recommended B&B that had no space for me those two nights). The owner-operators of Mauro Mansion have a wonderful sense of style, very nicely expressed in the color scheme in the room (judging only from the treatment in my own room on the first floor). It is a modern scheme very nicely carried through, so you almost feel you are staying in a work of modern art, and that is despite the fact that this is an historic building on which construction began (so they say) in 1550. The room was very comfortable, but I was happy that the owner-operators carried my baggage up the stairs for me, since to get to the upper floors you need to make your way up a steep spiral staircase (no elevator). The television, wi-fi access, and in-room mini-refrigerator with stemmed glasses and small bottles of proseco were very nice touches. Moreover, there is an "honesty bar" with various refreshments for sale at reasonable prices on an honor system. The also have a huge number of DVDs which can be played on your in-room television. Among all the superlatives, perhaps the best is the location, which is thoroughly excellent. It is just a couple of minutes walk from Central Station for trains or tram lines or canal cruises, an easy walk to the Nieuw Markt area with its many restaurants with sidewalk seating (although some may be bothered that that walk takes you through an edge of the red light district -- perfectly safe). Moreover, the breakfast is very nice indeed. I stayed in a canal-side room and quite enjoyed being able to sit at the table and watch the passing boats on the canal.

Room Tip: Well, the canal-side room I had on the first floor above ground floor was delightful for its view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

You are made to feel welcome the moment you step inside, you feel like a guest staying at a friend or relatives house, it's warm and welcoming nothing is too much trouble for the hosts. The welcome drinks and honesty bar are a great touch as is the free wi-fi, the rooms are clean the breakfasts are great, the location is fantastic everything is within walking distance. Could not fault a thing and by far my favorite hotel on my European trip.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.