We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Chic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
€5,00 full breakfast
Ranked #4 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
North West England
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Boutique Chic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Fabulous boutique hotel. Exemplary service from the owners although we did not see them much. Room was spacious and extremely clean and the daily clean is appreciated. Location is fantastic.
I will definitely stay here again on my return although I reckon it will be booked up months in advance.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    81
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
438
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slagelse, Denmark
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

If you are looking for a small, boutiquelike centrally located hotel in Amsterdam, with a friendly atmosphere and excellent rooms with a touch of personality and at the same time references to the past - stop looking, im sure Mauro Mansion is the place for you.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Fabulous boutique hotel. Exemplary service from the owners who make you feel like a guest in their house. We stayed in the Courtyard 'Dentist Chair' room. Absolutely stunning. Dentist chair was a great feature! Room was spacious and extremely clean. Location is fantastic. Yes.. it's at the foot of the red light district but do not let that put you off. That side of things is actually quite away from the hotel itself. I've stayed in many hotels in Amsterdam.. This is by far the best.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cremona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is an house hotel; very cool furniture, design elements but comfortable, a big room for three, silent room, good breakfast with fresh product and warm bread, every morning a special dish prepared in real time. The hotel is very close to central station but far enough to be quiet; you can go in few minutes to red light district, to station, to dam square and other strategical places. Berry & Marcel are very kindly and available to help you to have a good dinner and to know what you should see in the city. Great city, great Hotel. least but not the last, big bathroom with shower and bath.
My 12 years old son has appreciated mauro Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The great things about this hotel:

Friendly staff
Super comfy rooms
Luxurious bed - I slept so well here!
Free minibar
Swinging seat at the window (loved it)
Fantastic view
Right on the canal
Really clean and trendy hotel
3 minute walk from the Amsterdam Central Station
Close to everything!

They had a bottle of bubbly, heart ballons and a petal heart on the bed to welcome us for our honeymoon! It was so sweet!

Close the window to completely block out any street noise, it just completely silences anything.

Nearby:

The indian resturant across the canal is very nice.

Also the local coffee shop on the corner a couple of doors up (Voyagers) was really great, highly recommended.

Try the stroopwaffles from the Albert Heijn supermarket at Nieuwmarkt down the canal!

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

After a 12 day Baltic Cruise we planned on spending 4 days in Amsterdam. MM is easily walkable from the Boat terminal , even with our wheeled luggage. This location is very central. Walking to all the major tourist attractions is very doable although the van Gogh will take a bit of time.
As to the actual hotel our room (#22) overlooked the canal, was spacious, impeccably clean and recently been upgraded. The selections for breakfast were many. Each day we were also treated with a special presentation from Dutch pancakes to a very delicate and tasty scrambled eggs. Barry and Marcel were as attentive as required. Well priced, high quality wines on site were also most appreciated.
Our expectations were more than exceeded. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are adequate. The upper floor canal rooms provide one with a great view and lots of aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We just returned from a four night stay at the Mauro Mansion for our honeymoon. We could not have been more happy with the hotel. It is located close to Central Station, which is convenient after a long flight as it's within walking distance of the train station. When we arrived, Berry greeted us and brought our bags to our room. The room was spacious, stylish and comfortable. We stayed in room 31, which had a hammock swing in the room which was a cute feature. The bed was easily the most comfortable I have ever slept in!!! Each morning, we enjoyed a great breakfast in the beautiful breakfast room. Because the weather was so nice, we even were able to sit on the little open air patio which was great. The hotel was close enough to all of the city's attractions and we basically walked everywhere. We definitely took advantage of the drinks and treats in the honesty bar, which was an added bonus. The Mauro Mansion exceeded our expectations and I only wish we lived closer so we could visit often!

Room Tip: We had a canal view room on the third floor. I think the first floor could get a little noisy so I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.