We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, relaxed and lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
€5,00 full breakfast
Ranked #3 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Plymouth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cool, relaxed and lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed for long weekend to celebrate my 40th birthday. everything from the easy booking through to the location, the room, the breakfast to the friendliness of the owners was as good (and probably better) as previous reviewers have said.
the hotel is on a fairly busy small road, beside a canal, very close to the station. It is close to the main Red light district (there is a window on the same road - speciality looking bored) but that really isn't an issue.
We were greeted by Berry, who checked us in and helped with the luggage. We had a 2nd floor courtyard room so the stairs are an experience, almost a spiral ladder!! but it was quiet (apart from other guests coming back at 4am - they werent rowdy but the doors opening and closing is fairly loud)
The whole hotel has a certain cool/funky feel from the rooms, with memories of the buildings past(we had a cage!!), to the communal eating area.
If you like the large chain type hotel experience, then this place is probably not for you, however if you want a clean, quirky, friendly, great value place where the owners actually take the time to care about your stay then I don't know how you could do any better.
It is the extra touches that make this place special. The welcome drinks, the special surprise in our room on my birthday, the lovely breakfast(with little freshly prepared extras every day), the very reasonably priced honesty bar. Berry helped me find a restaurant for the Saturday, and made the reservation (it was CAU and a good choice if you like Steak)

There is free Wifi in the rooms. The TV reception on some channels was a bit dodgy, but that really wasn't an issue, if you want to watch TV why come to Amsterdam to do it, go out and see the wonderful city!!

Berry and Marcel have a lovely business and the only negative was we had to leave. I won't look to stay anywhere else when visiting Amsterdam

Room Tip: The stairs are steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    81
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
445
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Mauro Mansion, it was the little touches which made this hotel so great. We arrived on Valentines Day, red and white heart shaped balloons, alongside a little chocolate were placed on our bed. The mini fridge was stocked with juice, beer and sparkling wine, free of charge! Each evening a different treat was left on our pillow (waffle cookies etc) and each morning an extra surprise at breakfast - freshly cut pineapple, mini pancakes, little pastries. These were on top of an already delicious breakfast of fresh fruit, local bread, meats and cheeses (stored in a funky red fridge by the breakfast table) and a coffee machine and selection of teas. Tea and coffee were available from reception all day. The honesty bar was an added bonus if you got the munchies late at night or fancied an extra glass of wine or beer.
There were a selection of dvds and books which could be borrowed and an ipad and macbook available at reception at all times.
The rooms were spacious and well equipped with ipod docking station, flatscreen tv and dvd player. Our bathroom had a deep bath, walk-in shower and fragrant toiletries.
Mauro Mansion is located a few minutes away from central station and is walking distance to so many of the squares and local attractions.
We were lucky enough for the ice to melt on the canals so that we could enjoy an hour cruise around the city.
I totally recommend Mauro Mansion!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location - 5 minute walk from central station, so no need for a taxi/tram. We had a room on the second floor with a courtyard view, we would have preferred a canal view, but booked late so was to be expected. The room was well equipped and flawlessly clean and tidy, and cleaned to perfect standards every morning. The facilities at the hotel were fantastic. Breakfast was great, with a little surprise treat each morning, the free use of wifi, iPad, MacBook, TV/DVD player in the room, the honesty bar... All fantastic. Owners are extremely friendly and happy to help with any queries you may have (they recommended a great Indonesian restaurant for us). Would certainly stay here again, and recommend to anyone wanting a relaxed few days away.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Berry and Marcel are perfect hosts and staff is exceedingly friendly and helpful. Only drawback was no elevator, but they took luggage to and from room for us so we didn't have to struggle up 3 flights of stairs. The building is historical and all structural changes must be approved so no elevators. Plus is that rooms are large and have high ceilings. GREAT breakfasts - variety of cheeses and meats, the best whole grain bread ever, yogart, fruits, cereal, etc. Every morning there was a special dish freshly prepared for each guest - chocolate crepes, a fruit and yogart parfait, etc. There are drinks in lobby/breakfast area and you just tell them what you had when checking out. There is tv and vcr in room and large selection of dvds, cds and books to borrow. Lighting in room is poor if you like to read in bed. We loved the location - walking distance of everyplace we wanted to go and if you don't want to walk, rent a bicycle. Down the street there was red-light house which we did not notice until second evening. The "ladies" stood in narrow windows and beckoned and sometimes knocked to passerbys. Lots of good and relatively inexpensive restaurants nearby and if you want to eat in, there is a small refrigerator in rooms and serving utensils in breakfast area you can use. We HIGHLY recommend this place and would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here in a street level canal room. We can only agree with all the positive comments about Mauro. Honesty bar, breakfast, free use of iPad, friendly owners and staff person. STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenspen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Again Berry and Marcel.....Perfect! Thank you!
I'm not going to write a long review because I have done so before and I just cannot fault in anyway your perfect hotel!
If anyone is considering this place then GO!!!! Great hosts, great location, great honesty bar, great rooms....it goes on and it's all great.
We are going back in Summer and cannot wait!

Room Tip: Room 12 - ground floor - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Really good place for my stay in Amsterdam. My room was so warm (-10° in Amsterdam with frozen canals) and comfortable; bathroom is big and the floor heating is fantastic. clean and really smart. Delicious breakfast and the hotel guys are really kind. I don't care if it's not in best part of Amsterdam (just few steps from Central Station) but from here you can reach all the most intersting place of Amsterdam. Definitely my place for Amsterdam!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.