We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast only €5,00
Ranked #3 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed here in the begining of November 2011 with my girl. I really liked the hotel. I stayed on the ground floor and the room was big, and very clean. The room was quiet and I liked the idea of staying in a canal house. The owners were very nice and helpful, and had fastpasses for the different museums to skip the lines. I read a review on trip advisor where someone did not like the shower. I really liked the shower, the water is not trickling out, it is comming out with force. Another reviewer did not like the bed, I thought the bed was ok. The bed was not a 3,000 euro bed. A bed is an individual thing, some people will like it others wont. In certain spots on the bed I could feel a few springs. I would not have that bed at home, but for a few nights it is ok. Overall, I agree with this hotels high rating on Trip Advisor and recommend this hotel. If I go back to Amsterdam I will try to stay at this hotel. I have stayed at other hotels in Amsterdam including the Amrath, Radisson, Bellevue, and the Sofihotel when it was another name. Out of the four hotels I stayed at in Amsterdam I would rank the Mauro Mansion in the number one slot, followed by the Amrath. The room in the Amrath I thought was alittle small, but was still a very good hotel. I did not like the Radisson or the Bellevue and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    101
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
523
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My partner and I have just got back from a 2 night stay at Mauro Mansion, and what a lovely hotel it was. Very shabby chic and friendly. Breakfast was included and it was great. We had a room with a canal view which was lovely.. I honestly could not reccomend this hotel enough, perfect location and staff were soooo friendly! 100% would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We spent a long weekend at the Mauro Mansion with friends, a couple of whom had never been to Amsterdam before and are more used to big chain hotels. We were all delighted with Mauro Mansion - it's convenient to the station and the centre, the service from Berry and Marcel was excellent and being able to come back in the evening for a coffee or drinks from the honesty bar was the icing on the cake. Between us we had four rooms, all different and individual - the rooms around the courtyard had the more interesting features from the hotel's previous life, but the canal view rooms have the better view and are lighter. The stairs are typically Dutch - steep, narrow and curving - and there's no lift. It's a long way to the top floor, but they carried our bags up to the rooms when we arrived. Do ask Berry and Marcel to recommend places to eat - they recomended three different restaurants that I would never of thought of going to (and I used to live in Holland, and visit Amsterdam a lot) - all excellent. We'll definitely be back - Mauro Mansion captures the spirit of Amsterdam in so many ways, so much more enjoyable and far better value than one of the big chains.

Room Tip: Go for a canal view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Fantastic hotel!!! Great location, really nice and large rooms and a lovely breakfast. Stayed there a couple of times and I'm always enjoying my time..

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Perhaps this hotel receives such great ratings because it is a good value. The price is hard to beat and the rooms large and comfortable. However, I am willing to bet that very few if any of the reviewers had our room. We were on the second floor and our room had no view to the outside- just a large window looking into a small (about 10 to 12 feet in diameter) central courtyard. Due to the lights at night we had to draw the curtains, which made it very stuffy as only one small window in the wall of windows actually opened. Also, the courtyard is where guests and employees had their cigarette breaks, so the smoke rose directly into our room. Also, only the rooms with canal views are air conditioned, which I did not understand from the website.

I agree the owners were nice and helpful, but the breakfast was just O.K. Two mornings we had toast and cappuccino, but one morning the cappuccino maker was broken. There was a yogurt cup one morning which we really enjoyed.

I doubt we would stay there again, but the entire experience would probably have been much better in one of the outside air conditioned rooms with a view.

Room Tip: Only stay in rooms with canal or street views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa,On
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Mauro in late September. Other reviewers have done a great job describing the location, professionalism of the owners,the breakfasts and other details. We arrived just before 9 AM very tired after a transatlantic flight,and were told that our room would be ready 2 hours later. Welcome news! And it was. What I liked the best was the "honesty bar", the availability of great coffee all day in the common area,and the breakfast treats that Marcel prepared every day.

Thank you Berry and Marcel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I agree with previous reviews as this was an ideal place to stay. Great location and very clean hotel. I would add that the area around Mauro Mansion has a lot of bars and restaurants, too. It is very close to the red light district, but I still felt very safe. My husband and I actually found lots of great little bars within the neighborhood and had a fun time.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 354 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,781 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#8 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 900 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.