We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect to visit Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

Save Saved
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Check availability here
Ranked #4 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
padova
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect to visit Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Once arrived in Amsterdam you can travel from Schiphol to the Central Sttion in 10 minutes. Other 5 minutes walking (not more than 300 meters) and you can find Mauro Mansion, a botique hotel overlooking the Geldersekade canal in the Nieuwmarkt area. Fantastic. Owned by Berry and Marcel the hotel is perfectly organized and allows an unforgettably stay in the historic center of the city. Our room was the #23, one of the Courtyard rooms; very clean, silent we had wonderful nights of sleep in this modern room. In the morning Marcel pampered us with delicious breakfasts.
Again I have to thank Tripadvisor that allowed me to discover another jewel: Mauro Mansion

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    468
    73
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
401
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I had booked this hotel for a romantic weekend getaway. I can't actually rate this hotel highly enough - Berry and Marcel do a fantastic job of looking after their guests in an extremely helpful but unintrusive way. We had a Canal view room on the top floor which had a very comfortable bed and large bathroom, equipped in a stylish way with all mod cons. It's a world apart from staying in a bog-standard Hilton etc - the place has real character and quirky charm. Welcome drinks are very generous and, should you run out, there is a reasonably priced honesty bar equipped with anything you might want. The location is great as it's only 3 mins walk from the Central Station, but still on a quiet street that's in easy reach of the main Red Light District and all its entertainment. Breakfast was a combination of freshly-prepared fruit, (still warm) fresh bread and all you could want in the way of cereals, yoghurts etc.

I must make a special mention of Berry. I actually proposed to my girlfriend on this trip and he really went out of his way to make the whole thing a success. Not only did he offer sound advice on locations, restaurants etc (including undertaking all the booking with no fuss), he decorated our room with rose petals, champagne and fresh flowers after my girlfriend had (thankfully) said "yes". This was a lovely touch and I can't thank him enough for all the effort he put in without asking for anything at all in return.

In short, don't bother considering anywhere else for your next trip to the 'Dam.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 32 which had a fantastic Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Marcel and Berry are wonderful hosts. They somehow manage to be helpful and caring (they help carry luggage up and down the stairs!) without being at all intrusive. The location is perfect--we walked everywhere--and despite being on the edge of the Red Light District, the hotel is an oasis in a very busy city. The breakfast is wonderful: hot, fresh breads; platters of cheeses and meats (along with containers of yogurt and other accompaniments in a lovely red refrigerator!); coffees/espresso; and, every day, a special "side" treat prepared by Marcel. One morning, he prepared skewers of fresh, mini pancakes alternating with strawberries; another morning, rolled pancakes; yet another, a cup of fresh fruit with yogurt. We stayed in one of the front rooms facing the canal (on the first floor--what in the US would be the second floor), and while I might wish for some small, fold-out luggage racks, we loved our room--very whimsically designed, with a comfortable bed and welcome beverages in the mini fridge. While there is free WiFi, the signal is often a bit weak, or at least it was in our room. (We might warn everyone, though, about mosquitoes. That's not a criticism of the hotel, but a fact related to Amsterdam's canals. Use the air conditioning rather than opening the window.) Berry and Marcel were very knowledgeable and helpful about restaurants (we took their advice), and when my husband contracted a cold, Berry knew to direct me to the nearest pharmacy and also helped me decide on where to get a gift for the business associate I would be visiting. (The young man who assists Berry and Marcel at the desk is also very nice and helpful.) When we go back to Amsterdam, we will try to book far enough in advance to be able to stay here again. This place was perfect for our combination vacation/business trip. Thank you yet again, Berry and Marcel.

Room Tip: We were at first concerned that a room facing the canal would be too noisy at night, but this was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Excellent central location for all the main places too see, five minutes walk from the train station.

Excellent hosts in an excellent establishment, lovely breakfast in the morning and happy to share local knowledge as we wanted to eat in local traditional Dutch restaurants.

We would stop at Mauro Mansion again without hesitation

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Mauro Mansion for 2 nights and absolutely loved it. It was priced at the higher end of our budget but was definitely worth it. It was actually great value. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

Pros: Extremely accommodating and helpful hosts; clean, comfortable and beautifully designed room; Central location close to major sites and transport; breakfast; complimentary items in the mini bar

Cons: nil

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were very happy to stay at Mauro Mansion. The location is terrific with truly a short 5 minute walk from Amsterdam central. It is most convenient for sightseeing as well. We were welcomed by Arped who although new to the staff was very friendly and helpful. Marcel and Barry provide wonderful little touches like fresh flowers in the rooms as well as in the breakfast area. We had a canal view room and were able to sit at the small table and chairs. We enjoyed the complimentary prosecco provided upon our welcome and watch the swans on the canal! The rooms were well appointed and very clean. Mauro Mansion will definitely be our first choice when we return to Amsterdam!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the room with a view of the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Mauro Mansion is a must stay in Amsterdam. The owners know how to run a hotel and make you feel at home the minute you get there. One of them even came out to help us with our bags as we got there. It's in a perfect location, walking distance from the central station and there is an excellent Indian and French restaurant right across the street. It feels more like a bed and breakfast with delicious food served in the common area every morning. If your lucky Marcel will even make you something special. Both owners are very friendly and provide great recommendations when ever needed. Amsterdam was amazing and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are nice if you have heavy bags. Don't have to take the steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.