We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally very nice, with one small reservation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Generally very nice, with one small reservation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

On the whole this is a really nice hotel/B&B. The room was really nice (we had one with a canal view), the location's very convenient, etc. and my guest was very happy to be treated to a visit there. I would and do recommend it.

My only slight niggle is that I found the atmosphere slightly strained in the common areas, and the proprietors seemed slightly moody. It started when we arrived after a long flight, hoping to be shown to our room straight away. The person who greeted us made us sit down at a table in the breakfast room with him and look at a map of the area while he outlined nice places to go and areas of interest. He also quizzed us about which restaurants we would be visiting and what we would be doing during our stay, which I found slightly weird and embarrassing. Perhaps many people really enjoy this level of interaction, but all we wanted to do was drop our bags, have a shower and head out to see the city, and instead we were having to make awkward small-talk with the owner of the hotel.

Don't get me wrong; I like a knowledgeable proprietor, but give me a few minutes to settle in and come to you with the questions if I have any! As I said, it's a very nice hotel and I would recommend it, but the atmosphere could be a bit strained if you didn't want to spend ages chatting with the owners, and I think that's a bit of a shame as some people are more private than others, and they don't mean any offence by that!

The honesty bar was very reasonably priced indeed, and breakfast was good. You help yourself to everything (chilled stuff is in a big red fridge) so most dietary requirements could be catered for quite happily.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    462
    70
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
395
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiong Bahru
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Reservations were simple and easy, Berry & Marcel respond to emails real fast and provide very precise instructions on the way to get there. Using landmarks as guides to the hotel is really good idea since there are so many streets and alleys. Then again, Mauro Mansion is right by the canal so it's relatively easy to get to.

Situated stone throw from the Red Light District(2mins walk if fast-walker), it's surprisingly quiet at night, and the immediate surrounding area seems to be residential and some rented apartments. So the neighbours are safe enough!

Marcel was accomodating to my request for earlier check-in at 840(thanks) and when my room is ready, luggage is automatically put into a cage-like clothes rack in the room. Having said that, the rack was probably designed with mainly Dutch in mind(notice they are really tall?). Being 168cm myself, had to stretch abit to hang clothes. Tea and coffee in abundance, complete with creamer and sugar, but the water pot was totally mouldy, and didn't dare use it, couldn't bother to wash it thoroughly.

3 levels of rooms, and staying in room 32, it was peaceful enough(with only 4 other rooms around me) but the sound-proofing is near nonexistent cos it's very clear what the activities and conversation topics were outside my door. Having said that, it didn't happen often, probably thrice in a day(since was out almost the whole day).

The decor of the room and the little touches were probably what made this property stand out among the rest. Clad in red, with interesting drawings adorn the wall, a cafe style table + chairs set beside the window overlooking the peaceful canal with swans and geese keeping company. Rate includes two soft drinks, two juices, two beers and two proseccos with flute. Sweet for a canal view room and comes in handy when u just wanna relax with your partner or just appreciate the beauty of Amsterdam. A book "The UnDutchables" was in the cupboard should you want to know more about the culture, arts and the norms of Amsterdam society, good for those with some time to spare and a relatively long stay in the city, an check out their collection of novels stacked on the shelf. Welcome chocolates on the pillow adds another surprise. Bed is comfortable and big(queen sized) with seperate duvets, quality is not the "Dream Bed" kind like HIlton's, but good enough, and unless you're a Sleep Connoiseur, it's good enough to rest after a day of exploring. Wifi is provided free but signal is suspect at times. Then again, I am on the 3rd level, so.

In the welcome letter, states they are huge on recycling and green efforts, but I suppose it will be good if they can provide another trashcan to contain the gass/plastic/paper waste we produce since the hotel encourages this segregation. I had to leave my plastics and glass on the table since there's only one can in the room.

Toilet, as the room is, can be termed 'large' by European standards, with underfloor heating(useful in Amsterdam's weather) but smells abit when it's heated. Comes with good choice of bath gels and shampoo. No toothbrush so b-y-o. Bathtub with showerhead, sufficiently large to squeeze in two, but it appears to be quiteworn, so didn't try to do a bath. Water pressure quite weak(lvl 3, reason perhaps?) and takes some use to for the adjustments of hot/cold water. Once you got it, it's fine. Provides hand wash gel, very convenient instead of using soap.

Breakfast is sufficient, bread loaves, cold cut meats(x3 kinds), fromage (x6), yoghurts, butter, spreads, coffee/tea are all available, and Marcel brings out fruit yoghurt for everyone. For someone who doesn't like yoghurt, this is something special and is full of fruity burst goodness in every bite! Dunt reject this! In the breakfast room, there's also the 'Honesty Bar'; choose what you want and let them know at checkout or whenever you want to. Not sure if they know should you not report it, but I never tried. Eur6 for a prosecco/white wine, Eur 2 for bit bag snacks and beer is not exorbitant and quite good value pricing for a hotel.

Nearby are plenty of eateries, but none stay open till 12, so should you require a proper bite, walk alittle deeper into the RLD and you can find all the kebabs and Shoamar you need. 5 minutes walk to the Centraal station, 7 to the Damrak. They can keep your luggage should you require this service after you checked out.

Room Tip: Get the Canal View room, big, spacious and has a pleasant view. Room 32 is a little close to the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Marcel & Berry and two amazing hosts. They welcome at their place you as if you were a friend. The breakfast is really amazing, fresh, with fruits, cheese and everything you would like ! I will be back for sure !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Hard to know what to add - much deserved praise has already been lavished on this small, discreet and comfortable hotel, in a superb canal-side location a short and easy walk from the main railway station (hence also ideal for tram/bus/metro/ferry). Berry and Marcel (ably assisted by young RP from Hungary) were helpful, efficient and (important for us over-60's) extremely computer-savvy. Must also mention Marcel's delicious and varied treats at breakfast each morning! The coffee machine was much used - a bit scary at first, but it produced excellent cappuccino and caffelatte at all hours. We got used to the steep stairs - no problem even with a heavy case. Stylish room, with canopy bed and a surreal rocking chair, overlooking canal (minimal noise but worth taking ear plugs if you are a light sleeper), and a copy of Munch's "The Scream" to greet anyone daring to ascend the metal ladder(!). Wide choice of music/film on CD/DVD available to guests -good to hear Adele as well as Sarah Vaughan etc. We'd love to return when next in Amsterdam, but I suspect we'd need to book well in advance!

Room Tip: Room 21 - first floor with canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Literally a quick walk from the train station (you don't need a cab unless you're hauling steamer trunks - which to be clear I don't travel lightly and I didn't mind the walk at all!)

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, Marcel and Berry were the perfect hosts. We often read the welcome guest information package and I was delighted that they included a statement about their important relationship with their LOCAL suppliers (it truly is what builds a strong community) - in addition to that a statement was made about the simple but very nutritious breakfast they provided and this is where if you pay attention to the fine details you will be surprised every morning at breakfast by some creation Marcel has put together to add to what you've already chosen (I'll leave it as a surprise because no two days were the same for us)

Our room was #23 - absolutely immaculate and the deep tub was to die for after a day out walking about. (see my review of Sandeman's walking tours - the perfect start for your stay)

If you're looking to experience all that was and is Amsterdam - this is the place to stay at!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Just back from a great trip to Amsterdam made particularly pleasant by our 4 night stay at Mauro Mansion. We booked as a result of all the positive reviews already posted about this place and were so glad that we did. We'd visited Amsterdam for the first time in April this year and stayed in a large, so called '4 star' hotel which was pretty disappointing considering the cost, and it really wasn't a patch on staying at Mauro. We definitely preferred the small boutique hotel/bed and breakfast feel you get at Mauro and everyone who says that the owners - Marcel and Berry - are friendly and very helpful are spot on. Although they're not 'in your face' friendly, they do strike a great balance between being extremely courteous,polite and welcoming whilst leaving their guests to get on with their holiday, respecting privacy and in our case, a desire for peace and quiet. They're a very organised pair who are extremely efficient and happy to do anything to help their guests. Whilst there, we asked for recommendations for dinner and help with printing museum tickets - in both cases they were happy to oblige.

THE POSITIVES:

The whole place is spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished (with a quirky twist - check out the iron-work in the rooms! A reminder to guests of the hotel's very 'interesting' past - we did some internet research as our niavity caused us to puzzle over the purpose of the ladder in our room!!).

Very comfortable king size bed with separate duvets (a real PLUS for us as we have separate duvets at home and would recommend this to any couple - it definitely ensures a good night's rest and stops all those middle of the night fights for the sheets!). We've never stayed in a hotel that provides separate duvets before so thumbs up to Mauro for doing so! We slept pretty well.

In-room tea and coffee making facilities - restocked every day ( although only powdered creamer provided so buy your own milk and keep it in your fridge if you prefer it with your tea)

A fridge full of welcome drinks in each room (included in the room rate) - what a breath of fresh air - why don't all hotels do this? It makes the world of difference. Additional drinks (and a wide range of snacks) could be purchased from an 'honesty bar' in the downstairs breakfast room at very reasonable costs - a really nice touch.

A hairdryer in the room - v helpful

A room safe (pretty small though - not quite big enough to house an ipad!) - fine for passports, cash, tickets, jewellery, etc

A desk and seating area - this made the room feel really spacious - great since most hotel rooms in Amsterdam are so tiny that they are prone to induce claustophobia!

Free wi-fi - brilliant - so rare in other hotels

Spacious, super-clean bathroom with separate bath (jacuzzi) and large shower area - stocked with fluffy towels and lovely Rituals products (restocked every day)

Blackout blind on the window

TV and DVD player in each room (with a huge selection of DVDs that can be borrowed from the breakfast room - free of charge)

Great self-selection breakfasts each day (continental not cooked - breads, meats, cheeses, jams, spreads, juices, teas, coffee, cereal, yoghurt,etc and in addition, a freshly prepared 'treat' made and presented each morning by Marcel - a very nice touch). Certainly plenty to eat to keep guests going until lunch time.

Light and airy breakfast room - always with fresh flowers on the tables and cloth napkins - it sounds silly, but these little touches make all the difference to us!

And now just a few niggly things that if they were improved our stay would have been totally perfect . . . .

No ironing facilities in the room - the owners will happily lend guests an iron and a board, but they do request that both are returned after each use - this was a bit of a pain for us,since we like to iron our clothes each morning before we dress. So we had to ask for the iron each day and carry it up three flights of stairs each time - this was a bit annoying. It wouldn't take much to put irons and boards in each room would it? Or at least have a couple of irons and boards per floor for guests to use.

The walls were pretty thin so we were disturbed a few times one particular night by kitchen noises (there seemed to be apartments above and to the side of our room?) and other guests coming in late and talking loudly next door, etc - this is hardly anything to complain about though - you can't expect silence in a hotel! On the whole it was fairly quiet and we slept pretty well. We were in Room 34 which is supposedly one of the quieter rooms - I think the rooms at the front of the hotel (with canal view) well may have been pretty noisy compared.

Mauro Mansion is on quite a busy little side road (although other reviewers have said that Mauro is on a quiet road?? Perhaps being there during August - the height of the season meant that there was a lot more traffic around than usual?) - every time we stepped out of the front door it seemed that we had to dodge a constant stream of taxis, cars, bikes, lorries and delivery vans who were trying to squeeze down the narrow canal side. This didn't bother us too much but you do need to have your wits about you - however, no different to the rest of Amsterdam when it comes to negotiating traffic!

ON THE WHOLE THOUGH OUR STAY WAS REALLY GREAT - would we recommend Mauro Mansion to other visitors to Amsterdam? . . . . .100% YES!

Marcel and Berry work extremely hard and do a fantastic job. We wish them continued success with their hotel venture.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms require you to climb 3 flights of stairs - not for the unfit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I booked Mauro based on the excellent Trip Advisor reviews, and although it is a lovely place to stay it didn't quite live up to expectations. It's definitely unique... in a good way! And I agree with a previous reviewer that it's more a boutique B&B rather than a hotel, but that's a positive in my book and makes it more appealing.

It has a lot going for it... The location is superb - 5 mins walk from the train station and a very central starting point for whatever you want to see and do. The room we had was on tlhe first floor and faced the canal; it was spacious with a high ceilling, uniquely decorated and furnished, and had a great view. A kettle is provided with a selection of teas and coffee, and there's also a mini fridge in the room which was stocked with complimentary drinks. The little treat on our pillow each day was a really nice touch.

The breakfast room is lovely, as was the breakfast... great selection of breads, peanut butter, jams, chocolate sprinkles etc., cold meats and cheeses, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, juices, teas and coffee, (although if you like your tea made with boiling water you'll be disappointed!)
The 'honesty bar' is a great idea - whether you use it or not, it's nice to know it's there.

The not so good points are:
The pillows are too high and hard - ok if you like sleeping with your head at right-angles to your body!
The mattresses are very uncomfortable - you can feel the springs coming through!
It was a bit strange having 2 single quilts over a double bed, but I guess that's because we had 2 single beds pushed together!
If you sleep with the window open it's very noisy - although you can keep the window shut and put the aircon on (our choice not to do that!)
There's a ridiculous net canopy above the bed... what's the point? It just gets in the way and gathers dust!

All in all, is it value for money? Probably not - it's quite an expensive and you could find a perfectly good hotel for much less.
However..... Would I stay there again?.... Most definitely!
And would I recommend it to others?..... Absolutely yes!

Room Tip: I don't know what the other rooms are like but the first floor canal room has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
;