We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel an experience in itself!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
€5,00 full breakfast
Ranked #3 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Unique hotel an experience in itself!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed at Mauro Mansion for 3 nights on our honeymoon. It was our splurge for our 8 week trip but it was well worth it! We had a canal room which was definitely worth the extra cost as we loved sitting and people watching from our room. Our room was so unique with 4 different types of wallpaper decorated in Mauro Mansion's colour theme of black, red, grey and white. The furniture and decorations were all carefully chosen with every little detail attended to. The owners Berry and Marcel have put so much work into making the hotel a relaxing and luxurious place to be we really did not want to leave!

The room was quite large with a lovely comfortable bed with quality linen and a nicely decorated bathroom with large deep bath. Quality bathroom products were supplied too. Everything was spotlessly clean and well looked after.

Each morning we had breakfast downstairs in the lovely sunny breakfast room. All the items available for breakfast were fresh and again carefully chosen. We enjoyed fresh juice, freshly baked bread, cheese, meats, yogurt, cereals and fresh fruit. Each morning the boys have a surprise special item to go with breakfast too which we looked forward to! Coffee and tea is available all day in the breakfast room which you can help yourself.

Marcel and Berry were very helpful in suggesting places to eat dinner and both places we tried were delicious! We were welcomed on arrival with a bottle of wine to enjoy plus some softdrinks, beer and juice in our room. There is also an honesty bar downstairs with lots of food & drinks to purchase.

We were staying at the hotel when Marcel and Berry celebrated Mauro's 1st birthday - congratulations guys - here's to many more and we hope to return again one day.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to be on the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    81
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
446
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Mauro Mansion is a darling, tiny hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. It was so easy to get around and walk to most of our to do list. The staff was extremely helpful with suggestions, reservations, sights,n planning for the weather, etc. They made our visit memorable.
Best breakfast anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Everything everyone has raved about is true: super clean, nice location, honor bar, mini bar stocked with drinks, tea kettle in room, fresh flowers on nightstand, nice breakfast, funky decor, luggage transported up and down the stairs, etc. BUT.... I found Berry and Marcel more formal than friendly. Maybe it was just my perception and I don't view it as a negative, but I was expecting something different.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it without hesitation to all.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We loved our time at mauromansion...the room was magic and quiet.location excellent and the breakfasts to die for..we love healthy food breads and juices..all provided generously and with a sensible time for breakfast 9 to 11 and for stragglers like us you could still be eating nearer noon. As for the honesty bar! Such consideration.they also advised us of some divine eating places such as lastage, on the other side of our canal.DEserves to be number 1 in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed at Mauro Mansion for one night. The room was basic and clean, I was a bit underwhelmed because of the super glowing reviews... it reminded us of the Ace Hotel, which is a budget, cool, funky place. This is more expensive than the Ace so I would really expect a bit more for the price... but anyway, the issue that came up was that we were awoken at 8 am by extremely loud construction near our window. They deducted half off our bill for this - that was appreciated and helped make up for it - I consider that good customer service. They also carried our bags up and down the stairs, which we were grateful for. Lastly, the breakfast was also underwhelming - I eat mostly organic and healthy food, and the yogurts were all the 'sugary' kind, no plain yogurt, and the fruit selection could have been better. Great, fresh bread was a nice touch.

Overall, not bad, as long as you don't have the construction next door (not their fault!).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for a couple of days for my 40 th. We could not of asked for more. The hotel was situated perfectly, close to station and quite central for all else. Berry and Marcel made us very welvome, it was like a quaint home from home. The rooms were clean, quirky and very comfortable. We would both thoroughly recommend it. Lastly please visit restaurant recommend to us by Berry & Marcel , The Lastage, it was beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband booked this hotel for our 10th wedding Anniversary after reading previous reviews on trip advisor.

We arrived at about 3p.m and were greeted by one of the hotel owners Berry, who showed us into a gorgeous living area. He was lovely shook our hands and gave us a very warm welcome, he offered us a map to the city and gave us a quick rundown on where we were on the map in relation to places of interest, asked us if we had any plans, and offered to book our tickets for us on line. He then showed us to our room and carried our luggage up the winding stairs.

Our room was beautiful, high ceilings, a beautiful canopy above the bed, very stylishly furnished, fresh flowers near the window, a complimentary mini bar, tea and coffee etc.
Breakfast the next morning was in the living room, it was very relaxed, Marcel and Berry's philosophy in quality not quantity, warm bread, cooked meats and sliced cheese, fresh fruit and juice, and extremely good coffee, along with a surprise daily. It was all delicious.

There was free internet access, they would print things off for you if you asked, there was a phone at the front desk so you could call them if you needed them, umbrella's for you to borrow, DVD's to borrow, reading material. An honesty bar filled with wines selected through wine tastings. It really was just perfect.

The hotel itself is located about 10 minutes walk away from the central train station, and the furthest we walked to anything was about 20 minutes away, we had two very nice meals at the hard rock cafe, and a place called CAU near to Dam square.

The icing on the cake however was the day of our 10th wedding anniversary, we arrived back at our hotel to find freshly cut roses, two glasses and a bottle of champagne with a note to say congratulations on 10 years.

If there was nothing else to see Amsterdam I would return just to stay at the Mauro Mansion, I felt so relaxed and much of that was down to our hosts, everything seemed effortless yet it was obviously that every effort had been made to make our stay a very enjoyable one.

Room Tip: ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.