We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

Save Saved
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Make your choice
Ranked #4 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed at Mauro Mansion for one night. The room was basic and clean, I was a bit underwhelmed because of the super glowing reviews... it reminded us of the Ace Hotel, which is a budget, cool, funky place. This is more expensive than the Ace so I would really expect a bit more for the price... but anyway, the issue that came up was that we were awoken at 8 am by extremely loud construction near our window. They deducted half off our bill for this - that was appreciated and helped make up for it - I consider that good customer service. They also carried our bags up and down the stairs, which we were grateful for. Lastly, the breakfast was also underwhelming - I eat mostly organic and healthy food, and the yogurts were all the 'sugary' kind, no plain yogurt, and the fruit selection could have been better. Great, fresh bread was a nice touch.

Overall, not bad, as long as you don't have the construction next door (not their fault!).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    77
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
410
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for a couple of days for my 40 th. We could not of asked for more. The hotel was situated perfectly, close to station and quite central for all else. Berry and Marcel made us very welvome, it was like a quaint home from home. The rooms were clean, quirky and very comfortable. We would both thoroughly recommend it. Lastly please visit restaurant recommend to us by Berry & Marcel , The Lastage, it was beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband booked this hotel for our 10th wedding Anniversary after reading previous reviews on trip advisor.

We arrived at about 3p.m and were greeted by one of the hotel owners Berry, who showed us into a gorgeous living area. He was lovely shook our hands and gave us a very warm welcome, he offered us a map to the city and gave us a quick rundown on where we were on the map in relation to places of interest, asked us if we had any plans, and offered to book our tickets for us on line. He then showed us to our room and carried our luggage up the winding stairs.

Our room was beautiful, high ceilings, a beautiful canopy above the bed, very stylishly furnished, fresh flowers near the window, a complimentary mini bar, tea and coffee etc.
Breakfast the next morning was in the living room, it was very relaxed, Marcel and Berry's philosophy in quality not quantity, warm bread, cooked meats and sliced cheese, fresh fruit and juice, and extremely good coffee, along with a surprise daily. It was all delicious.

There was free internet access, they would print things off for you if you asked, there was a phone at the front desk so you could call them if you needed them, umbrella's for you to borrow, DVD's to borrow, reading material. An honesty bar filled with wines selected through wine tastings. It really was just perfect.

The hotel itself is located about 10 minutes walk away from the central train station, and the furthest we walked to anything was about 20 minutes away, we had two very nice meals at the hard rock cafe, and a place called CAU near to Dam square.

The icing on the cake however was the day of our 10th wedding anniversary, we arrived back at our hotel to find freshly cut roses, two glasses and a bottle of champagne with a note to say congratulations on 10 years.

If there was nothing else to see Amsterdam I would return just to stay at the Mauro Mansion, I felt so relaxed and much of that was down to our hosts, everything seemed effortless yet it was obviously that every effort had been made to make our stay a very enjoyable one.

Room Tip: ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimfink
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

As you walk in through the front door you are greeted warmly and enter the common area and breakfast room. There is a cooler with bottles of wine, beer, water and such at quite reasonable prices that you can access any time on the honor system. Rooms are roomy, unique and fun. Be aware that the stairs are narrow spirals in the Dutch tradition, but the proprietors are quite helpful getting bags to the room. Great amenities including the complimentary proseco, beer and drinks in the room. The breads at breakfast were wonderful. A unique and wonderful travel experience.

Room Tip: Check calendar for individual rooms on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Stayed here for our honeymoon in early April 2011. Loved the place. Welcoming and kind hosts, quirky and fun rooms, yummy breakfast, nice location, just wonderful. I'd absolutely stay here again and will tell anyone I know visiting Amsterdam to stay here too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIBBLE VALLEY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Thank you Berry & Marcel - your hotel is lovely. The hospitality, rooms, breakfast, location all top class. We felt at home straight away and knew we could get any help and assistance if we needed it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here recently and were absolutely delighted with everything about this hotel. We stayed in one of the larger canal rooms and it was worth the extra few bucks though the hotel is not particularly expensive. The room was bright and airy with a lovely view of the little canal. The room was also very well equipped and furnished - comfortable bed as well. The location couldn't be better - less than a 10 minute walk from the Central Rail Station and close to all the sites you will want to visit on a quiet side street/canal. The breakfast, which is included is also very good. The hosts are friendly and very helpful - particularly good with restaurant suggestions.

Room Tip: Go for one of the larger canal rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.