We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for a stay in Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Full breakfast for €7,50
Ranked #2 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location for a stay in Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

NIce place to stay in good location. Breakfasts could be a lot better. Rooms were nice. Owners were very helpful. Enjoyed but not sure it deserves #1 ranking. Would stay there again more for the convenient location and decent accomodations.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank reluctant33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My wife and I loved the Mauro. We arrived at the Amsterdam HBF and easily walked the 10 minutes to the hotel. A very nice quiet street on a canal. The staff and hotel were exactly as all the other reviews state! We had a great room overlooking the street and the canal. We were several streets over from the center of the action, just close enough to get there quickly but far enough to not have all the crowds. Our room was HUGE! The owners were very thoughtful, laying a rose-petal heart on our bed and providing champagne for our anniversary! The huge windows even opened up! Breakfast was wonderful too. There was nothing at all bad to say about this hotel, it was absolutely amazing and a perfect home base to explore all Amsterdam has to offer. Book it, you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alanwmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

The location is great, an easy walk from the train station, on a quiet street and over looking a canal. Our room was large. Dispite being on the 2nd floor and facing the canal, it was very quiet. The decor was delightful and the bed comfortable. Initially it was quite warm but we didn't need to use the air conditioner as the fan was perfect. Marcel insisted on carrying our bags upstairs which was helpful as they are steep - normal for a townhouse in Amsterdam. Breakfast was coldcuts, fresh baked breads, yougart, the standard European fare, however they also have an espresso machine for latte lovers. Berry and Marcel are excellent hosts, friendly and informative.

Room Tip: 2nd floor front, quiet and a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PercyPym97035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aucklad - New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Besides ourselves we had organised to meet up with two other NZ couples in Amsterdam and we booked the Mauro for the 6 of us hoping that it would be as good as what we had read about the place.
Well it WAS and more.Excellent value for money.
Berry and Marcel are excellent hosts, always ready to help with information and suggestions, and the location of the Mauro could not be better especially for first timers to Amsterdam. It really is only an easy 10 min walk from the central station.
The rooms are a good size, clean, comfortable and well appointed. It was a really nice touch to have a small fridge in each of the rooms with some complimentary drinks inside. The honesty bar downstairs was also a very good idea and the prices were very reasonable.
Breakfast each day was an experience with some sort of surprise arriving on the table each morning.The food selection was perfectly adequate for all our needs and the coffee machine worked just great.
As we 3 couples all left to go on our river cruise which by the way was conveniently only a 10 minute stroll from the Mauro to the ship we all agreed that the Mauro was a great place to stay. Next time any of us visit Amsterdam the consensus of opinion was that we would certainly go back there again

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GN&YS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We recently spent four nights at the Mauro Mansion and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is in a fantastic location. It is very close to the train station and right on a canal. There are also many restaurants very near. Our room, which was on the third floor, faced the canal and had a lovely and memorable view. The room was large and very clean and fresh. The bathroom was modern and again very clean. The bed was comfortable and it was nice to have a refrigerator in the room. The free WiFi was also greatly appreciated, as was the large flat screen TV and DVD player (a large selection of DVDs is available for use). Owners Berry and Marcel were wonderful hosts. They offered excellent restaurant suggestions as well as other very helpful information about touring the city and environs. Breakfast was great every morning with special little touches like fresh melon, strawberries and pineapple. This is a very charming and unique hotel. We would recommend it to anyone and we would stay there again in a heartbeat when we are in Amsterdam the next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrlandoFLTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

This place is sensational if your looking for a quiet, very convenient location, great hosts and lots of character. It is a boutique hotel with some very interesting features. Basic, modern, minimalist - but stylish. Free WiFi in room or Mac in the lounge - great

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangels01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalwil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This B&B is just wonderfully located near the main train station and on the canal. Walking distance to most of the attractions. Each of the 9 rooms are an original. We stayed there for 4 nights with our teenage kids. Marcel and Berry were extremely helpful and friendly in planning our activities. Red light district around the corner provided interesting evening strolls with the kids but no problems. Would definitely recommend this place to friends!

Room Tip: Call in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubyann328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,034 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,008 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,767 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing