We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for a stay in Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

Save Saved
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Check availability here
Ranked #4 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good location for a stay in Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

NIce place to stay in good location. Breakfasts could be a lot better. Rooms were nice. Owners were very helpful. Enjoyed but not sure it deserves #1 ranking. Would stay there again more for the convenient location and decent accomodations.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    468
    73
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
401
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My wife and I loved the Mauro. We arrived at the Amsterdam HBF and easily walked the 10 minutes to the hotel. A very nice quiet street on a canal. The staff and hotel were exactly as all the other reviews state! We had a great room overlooking the street and the canal. We were several streets over from the center of the action, just close enough to get there quickly but far enough to not have all the crowds. Our room was HUGE! The owners were very thoughtful, laying a rose-petal heart on our bed and providing champagne for our anniversary! The huge windows even opened up! Breakfast was wonderful too. There was nothing at all bad to say about this hotel, it was absolutely amazing and a perfect home base to explore all Amsterdam has to offer. Book it, you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

The location is great, an easy walk from the train station, on a quiet street and over looking a canal. Our room was large. Dispite being on the 2nd floor and facing the canal, it was very quiet. The decor was delightful and the bed comfortable. Initially it was quite warm but we didn't need to use the air conditioner as the fan was perfect. Marcel insisted on carrying our bags upstairs which was helpful as they are steep - normal for a townhouse in Amsterdam. Breakfast was coldcuts, fresh baked breads, yougart, the standard European fare, however they also have an espresso machine for latte lovers. Berry and Marcel are excellent hosts, friendly and informative.

Room Tip: 2nd floor front, quiet and a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aucklad - New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Besides ourselves we had organised to meet up with two other NZ couples in Amsterdam and we booked the Mauro for the 6 of us hoping that it would be as good as what we had read about the place.
Well it WAS and more.Excellent value for money.
Berry and Marcel are excellent hosts, always ready to help with information and suggestions, and the location of the Mauro could not be better especially for first timers to Amsterdam. It really is only an easy 10 min walk from the central station.
The rooms are a good size, clean, comfortable and well appointed. It was a really nice touch to have a small fridge in each of the rooms with some complimentary drinks inside. The honesty bar downstairs was also a very good idea and the prices were very reasonable.
Breakfast each day was an experience with some sort of surprise arriving on the table each morning.The food selection was perfectly adequate for all our needs and the coffee machine worked just great.
As we 3 couples all left to go on our river cruise which by the way was conveniently only a 10 minute stroll from the Mauro to the ship we all agreed that the Mauro was a great place to stay. Next time any of us visit Amsterdam the consensus of opinion was that we would certainly go back there again

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We recently spent four nights at the Mauro Mansion and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is in a fantastic location. It is very close to the train station and right on a canal. There are also many restaurants very near. Our room, which was on the third floor, faced the canal and had a lovely and memorable view. The room was large and very clean and fresh. The bathroom was modern and again very clean. The bed was comfortable and it was nice to have a refrigerator in the room. The free WiFi was also greatly appreciated, as was the large flat screen TV and DVD player (a large selection of DVDs is available for use). Owners Berry and Marcel were wonderful hosts. They offered excellent restaurant suggestions as well as other very helpful information about touring the city and environs. Breakfast was great every morning with special little touches like fresh melon, strawberries and pineapple. This is a very charming and unique hotel. We would recommend it to anyone and we would stay there again in a heartbeat when we are in Amsterdam the next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

This place is sensational if your looking for a quiet, very convenient location, great hosts and lots of character. It is a boutique hotel with some very interesting features. Basic, modern, minimalist - but stylish. Free WiFi in room or Mac in the lounge - great

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalwil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This B&B is just wonderfully located near the main train station and on the canal. Walking distance to most of the attractions. Each of the 9 rooms are an original. We stayed there for 4 nights with our teenage kids. Marcel and Berry were extremely helpful and friendly in planning our activities. Red light district around the corner provided interesting evening strolls with the kids but no problems. Would definitely recommend this place to friends!

Room Tip: Call in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.