We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Full breakfast only €5,00
Ranked #2 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We recently spent four nights at the Mauro Mansion and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is in a fantastic location. It is very close to the train station and right on a canal. There are also many restaurants very near. Our room, which was on the third floor, faced the canal and had a lovely and memorable view. The room was large and very clean and fresh. The bathroom was modern and again very clean. The bed was comfortable and it was nice to have a refrigerator in the room. The free WiFi was also greatly appreciated, as was the large flat screen TV and DVD player (a large selection of DVDs is available for use). Owners Berry and Marcel were wonderful hosts. They offered excellent restaurant suggestions as well as other very helpful information about touring the city and environs. Breakfast was great every morning with special little touches like fresh melon, strawberries and pineapple. This is a very charming and unique hotel. We would recommend it to anyone and we would stay there again in a heartbeat when we are in Amsterdam the next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    85
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
481
36
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

This place is sensational if your looking for a quiet, very convenient location, great hosts and lots of character. It is a boutique hotel with some very interesting features. Basic, modern, minimalist - but stylish. Free WiFi in room or Mac in the lounge - great

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalwil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This B&B is just wonderfully located near the main train station and on the canal. Walking distance to most of the attractions. Each of the 9 rooms are an original. We stayed there for 4 nights with our teenage kids. Marcel and Berry were extremely helpful and friendly in planning our activities. Red light district around the corner provided interesting evening strolls with the kids but no problems. Would definitely recommend this place to friends!

Room Tip: Call in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

This place is great if you want to feel like you are staying at a family home rather than a hotel. The guys make you feel so welcome from the time you check in to your checkout. The rooms are modern and comfortable. We made use of the DVD's when we wanted to have a chillout afternoon.

Quiet even though the place is based on a pretty busy canal lane. Very close to the train station and all the sights.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed at Mauro Mansion's during Xmas and the owners are super nice and thoughtful. They offered us help pre our arrival to make restaurant bookings etc for us. How nice.. and also every morning they had a unique daily touch to the breakfast! The rooms were lovely and they had floor heating in the bathroom! What a luxury! It felt like we were guests of our friends! They made us feel at home! Would def return! Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We spent five nights over the Easter holiday at Mauro Mansion. Easy to get to from the train station and we were greeted by Berry with coffee and tea and a warm welcome. Our room was not ready but we could leave our bags, have some breakfast, and freshen up before we headed out to explore Amsterdam. Our room on the third floor overlooking the canal was great...swans swimming in the canal when I woke up the first morning! Breakfast was a treat...something special every day and the bread was wonderful. An amazing coffee machine that made the best cappucino. We were especially grateful for the tips and information provided by Berry and Marcel....when to visit the museums and getting us our tickets online to avoid the crowds was much appreciated. The drinks in the room refrigerator made a nice treat. We had no problem with the walk up to the third floor, but that might be a consideration for some. Staying at the Mauro Mansion was the perfect spot to explore all of Amsterdam and it made our trip so special. Thanks again to Berry and Marcel for all your suggestions, help, and hospitality !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

If you enjoy staying in places with history and charm you'll love this place. Our room is on the second floor at the front of the house overlooking the canal - I'm looking out of the two huge windows as I write this. Perfectly placed for the train station and surrounded by restaurants and bars - perfect for business (my husband!) and leisure...me!!
Our room is well equipped and comforable. Breakfast is served in a charming room and the free drinks in our mini fridge are much appreciated. Berry has been very helpful giving us a map, orientating us and recommending places to eat. It's little touches like DVD's to borrow, an honesty bar downstairs, umbrellas which can be borrowed, chocolates on your pillow when you arrive, etc. that make this place special. I would heartily recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.