We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to our 3 week honeymoon in Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Full breakfast only €5,00
Ranked #2 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect start to our 3 week honeymoon in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

After our flight(s) from Chicago, and train ride from the airport to the Central Station, we arrived to a very busy Amsterdam. Thankfully, it was only a short walk to the hotel. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Berry. We immediately felt welcomed; the atmosphere & feel of the hotel was very relaxed. The room was cool... decorated with an old-school barber chair, a desk with a chair, a flat screen TV, and a canopy netting over the bed. The bathroom was great! (We were a little worried about the room sizes/bathrooms heading to Europe, but we were 1 for 1 with this place) Also, rose petals on the bed, a small bottle of wine, and a postcard signed by both Berry & Marcel, were really loved by my wife, and was just one example of the attention they seemed to give all of their guests. This coupled with the awesome breakfast (including home made crepes one morning), really make this place feel like a bed & breakfast, which we really enjoyed!

The location was perfect. It was close to the Central Station, right around the corner from the Red Light District, yet on a quiet street across from a canal, that was nice to come home to every night after running around all day. The hotel was very clean & very secure, which was definitely important coming to another country. Another thing that made this trip to Amsterdam awesome, were the recommendations coming from Berry & Marcel. The places they suggested for lunch & dinner were PERFECT!

So, I would highly recommend this hotel. The #1 ranking is definitely justified. We spent 3 nights in Amsterdam, which seemed like enough, however, we would have loved to stay longer, and would definitely stay again if we ever return, in the Mauro Mansion. Thanks Berry & Marcel!
Jeff & Casey

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    84
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
480
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Europe. We stayed 4 nights in Amsterdam at the Mauro Mansion. I decided to book the hotel after reading all of the great comments on trip advisor. I can't imagine there being any better place to stay in Amsterdam. It feels more like staying at a friends house then staying in a hotel. They have a good selection of nutritious breakfast items to choose from in the mornings. The hotel is in a great location that is close to everything but on a quiet street. There are several good places to eat close by. They put yummy chocolates on your pillow everyday. They also stock the fridge in your room with several drinks that are there as your welcome gifts. We stayed in one of the rooms at the front next to the canal and it was very quiet. No problems with noise at all. Barry and Marcel are very friendly and always seem happy to answer any questions. Absolutely loved staying here and will definitely stay again the next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Hotel is five minutes walk from Amsterdam Centraal (look out for the pushbikes!) and tram and metro stops. Very warm greeting from owners. Our room was clean, quirky with a lovely view of one of the many canals. Complementary mini bar (not re-stocked)was a bonus and we loved drinking our bottle of Prosecco looking out on the canal one night. Breakfast was between 9.00 and 11.00, although they were happy to accommodate us at 8.00am one morning when we wanted an earlier start. They were also happy to recommend a restaurant for us and managed to reserve us a table during a very busy period, which we don't think we could have done ourselves. Would not hesitate in booking again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

everything was perfect : very close to the station, small and lovely hotel, very clean, good breakfast, nice rooms, perfect destination so you can start with your discovery and not to forget the owners : lovely, helpful, funny, had good conversations in the evening and morning...my hotel in amsterdam for my next visits.....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

The reviews are definitely right and I am sooo glad that we went with Tripadvisor. Like others have mentioned, this is definitely more than a B&B. It feels like your home away from home. Our hosts Berry & Marcel were wonderful. When you first walk into the place, it reminded us of a trendy Brooklyn/NY type of a loft place. They have impeccable taste in designing this place. Our room had the antique barber chair in it and it faced the canal, what more can one ask for? Bed was super comfortable (which is a plus).

They also have a lobby/living room area where you can get your daily breakfast (which was absolutely fresh and delicious) and sip on your cappuccino. They also offer dvd's/cd's in the lobby as well as books/travel brochures, etc. Location is superb because it is a 3 minute walk from the main train station (Central) where you most likely would get off and also is a major tram stop. And it is located right in the heart of it all but the street that it is on is nice and quiet for when you have to relax.

We cannot wait to come back! Highly Highly recommend. Thank you Berry & Marcel!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Deutschland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I had a great stay in Amsterdam in Mauros Mansion, so it's the first time I feel the need to write somthing about the hotel. Lovely, friendly persons, very clean rooms and really good service. Every morning something special for breakfast, good coffee for different tasts. Different drinks in the room for free, also there was the posibility of boiling water and have coffee and tee in the room. If I ever go to Amsterdam again, I know where to stay. Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'll never forget those days at Mauros Mansion......................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Located in a Canal House a few blocks from Central Station this small establishment is more of a B&B than a hotel. The owners are very gracious and helpful. The rooms are large and comfortable. Since we visited in the winter, the heated towel rack and heated bathroom floor tiles were much appreciated.

Location is great.

If you prefer a big hotel experience this is probably not the place for you, but if you want something small and welcoming, you will like Mauro Mansion.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.