We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Mauro Mansion!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, Amsterdam 1012 BH, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Loved Mauro Mansion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

The reviews are definitely right and I am sooo glad that we went with Tripadvisor. Like others have mentioned, this is definitely more than a B&B. It feels like your home away from home. Our hosts Berry & Marcel were wonderful. When you first walk into the place, it reminded us of a trendy Brooklyn/NY type of a loft place. They have impeccable taste in designing this place. Our room had the antique barber chair in it and it faced the canal, what more can one ask for? Bed was super comfortable (which is a plus).

They also have a lobby/living room area where you can get your daily breakfast (which was absolutely fresh and delicious) and sip on your cappuccino. They also offer dvd's/cd's in the lobby as well as books/travel brochures, etc. Location is superb because it is a 3 minute walk from the main train station (Central) where you most likely would get off and also is a major tram stop. And it is located right in the heart of it all but the street that it is on is nice and quiet for when you have to relax.

We cannot wait to come back! Highly Highly recommend. Thank you Berry & Marcel!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    457
    70
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
392
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Deutschland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I had a great stay in Amsterdam in Mauros Mansion, so it's the first time I feel the need to write somthing about the hotel. Lovely, friendly persons, very clean rooms and really good service. Every morning something special for breakfast, good coffee for different tasts. Different drinks in the room for free, also there was the posibility of boiling water and have coffee and tee in the room. If I ever go to Amsterdam again, I know where to stay. Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'll never forget those days at Mauros Mansion......................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Located in a Canal House a few blocks from Central Station this small establishment is more of a B&B than a hotel. The owners are very gracious and helpful. The rooms are large and comfortable. Since we visited in the winter, the heated towel rack and heated bathroom floor tiles were much appreciated.

Location is great.

If you prefer a big hotel experience this is probably not the place for you, but if you want something small and welcoming, you will like Mauro Mansion.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Mauro Mansion for 2 nights. Both of us loved this place. We did not have a canal facing room. I think we had one of the smaller rooms compared to others and I thought our room was big, spacious and clean. The bathroom is huge with heated tile floor and jet tub. The bed was comfortable. We loved our room, felt at home and got the best nights sleep. Everything seems new, crisp and clean.

Having never been to Amsterdam, I was a little worried about the location being so close to the train station and the Red light disctrict. Let me reassure you. The location is perfectly fine. We walked, with luggage to MM from the train station without any problems.

There is free wi-fi, movies to watch in your room, and a community computer in the lobby. Breakfast is great. Wonderful breads and spreads. Sliced meats, cheeses, yogurts and fruit. The tea and coffee is even fabulous. I felt like they used high quality foods and beverages. I even like the music they played during breakfast.

The owners are wonderful. I can't say enough about MM. I would stay here again and recommend this place to everyone.

As a sidenote. Steven's a bar/cafe down the street had to-die for sandwhiches. Perfect place for lunch and a beer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I just spent 3 nights in Mauro Mansion in Amsterdam with my wife and we were very pleasantly surprised. Perfectly located in the city centre (very close to the Central rail station), it is a welcome change from the big hotel chains that all look the same. Here, your really feel like your on a special trip. it makes you want to stay longer (or come back soon)!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

This hotel had very high ratings. We stayed one night in the bricks room. It was better than expected. Fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

I never typically take the time to write reviews, but my stay at the Mauro Mansion was probably one of my best hotel experiences. We spent roughly 2 weeks here, with a portion used as our "base station" when we traveled to a few other cities. I have to say hotels in Paris and in Rome didn't match everything that we got here. It's just done right. The little details are taken care of and thought about. It's how a hotel should be, but somehow people forgot or it got lost with the larger chains. If you're looking for a loud party zone, or stuffy 5 star atmosphere this isn't the place, but if you cherish just the right amount of extravagance mixed with comfort and amazing hosts this is the spot. No really.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, Amsterdam 1012 BH, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list