We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base camp for an Amsterdam adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eve's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eve's Guesthouse
Spuistraat 44, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 301 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent base camp for an Amsterdam adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Eve's two weeks ago and it's been a very pleasant experience. Optimal location: close to Central station, in the center but not noisy, 5 min walk to the canals.

The rooms were nice, breakfast was a perfect kick-off for the day. Not super filling (American style) but exactly what you need so you don't venture out on an empty stomach.

The ownes are excellent, great communication! They are not there (and there is no need for it) but easily reachable if needed. This is a truly "in the city" apartment experience. Couldnt have asked for more.

Thank you!

Angelina

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, CT
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

As other have mentioned, this little B&B, which is just a few rooms with a shared kitchen really, is above a gay sex toy shop, and you can see a couple of "red lights" from your window. We didn't mind either of those things (all part of the Amsterdam charm!), but of course if you have young kids or you just don't want to see those kinds of things this wouldn't be the place for you.

Otherwise, we thought the place was pretty great for the price. A few family members stayed at a much nicer (and bigger) hotel about a half mile down the street and sure it was nice, but considering our room at Eve's was 1/3 of the price, and we got to their hotel with just a 5-minute bike ride, I thought we had the better deal! We had an ensuite room and were so happy with the big comfy beds, and the large, beautiful windows you can sit in and look down on the street below. The bathroom was pretty standard, no complaints. The room was clean, and the continental breakfast was fine - they even set things out for you in the morning, and you could go into the kitchen at any time as you felt like it (also, lots of fun guidebooks and maps to peruse in the dining area, which was helpful). We barely saw the staff (no need for it), but they were very pleasant checking us into the room. The neighborhood is somewhat quiet at night which is good (for sleeping) and bad (doesn't feel quite as safe as a busier area with more people might), but we honestly felt pretty safe the whole time. A quick walk/bike ride/tram ride to anywhere you'd like to go in the city, but also close and easy to find from the train station. We truly loved this place and would go back again! A great choice for those who aren't looking to stay in a hostel but still want something affordable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The folks working at Eve's could not have been more helpful. There is a fridge stocked with drinks that you can purchase on the honor system and the rooms were comfy and clean. Very close to all the fun Amsterdam has to offer. For the price you could not ask for better service or location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Little tired let me make this quick - the location is great - under 10 minute walk from the train station. As touristy Amsterdam is quite small, that makes it an easy walk to most everywhere else of great interest. Though I'd suggest renting a bike (a good shop is 6-ish doors down, toward the train station), to make it more fun.

The room we had was...OK. It looked very much like a well cared for, late- 1970s furnished apartment. I'm pretty sure that's what it was...

That said, it was a bedroom, hallway, then two separate rooms, one with toilet/sink, and one with toilet/shower. All ours. It was all very homey. Then a kitchen we shared with other guests (though never saw them). All in all, I'd say a great price for Amsterdam/its location.

Bottom line - for Amsterdam prices, we liked it a lot. People who especially like a homey charm...probably would absolutely love it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We chose the ensuite room. The room & bathroom were nice and clean. However, the bathroom was flooded after showering because there was no shower curtain. The breakfast was delicious (ham, cheese, bread, spreads, juice, etc.) On our second night, we found a mouse in the room even though the owner had placed mouse traps in the room. Everything else however, was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Location is great within walking distance of Centraal Station and the red light district. We arrived after hours but we just had to call and someone came and met us outside within a few minutes, at the time we didn't have any cash on us to pay for the room but the man was very kind and told us we could pay the next day at the "gift" shop downstairs. Breakfast was laid out each morning and you just had to help yourself which is great because you could eat as much or as little as you like. Downfalls were the shower head that wouldn't stay in place (we ended up jamming a toothpick in) and also the TV didn't work.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam at Eve's guesthouse. We arrived late due to the fact that our plane got delayed, nevertheless the owner was very kind, even though it was after midnight. Our room 1, was large compared to other rooms we have stayed in other cities. The room is basic, but it is clean. The location was brilliant. It is noisy, but you are in Amsterdam!We found the breakfast plentiful. It was fresh. There is a large fridge for the guests to use.
The owner kindly allowed us to check out late on the day of our departure (monday), because it wasnt booked.
It was wonderful. We will be sure to return.

Room Tip: We liked room 1, because it was on the street, in the action, but is was noisy and may not be for ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eve's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eve's Guesthouse

Address: Spuistraat 44, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eve's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Eve's Guesthouse to your Saves list