We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff, reasonable price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eve's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eve's Guesthouse
Save Saved
You added Eve's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Spuistraat 44, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff, reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The folks working at Eve's could not have been more helpful. There is a fridge stocked with drinks that you can purchase on the honor system and the rooms were comfy and clean. Very close to all the fun Amsterdam has to offer. For the price you could not ask for better service or location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Korea
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Little tired let me make this quick - the location is great - under 10 minute walk from the train station. As touristy Amsterdam is quite small, that makes it an easy walk to most everywhere else of great interest. Though I'd suggest renting a bike (a good shop is 6-ish doors down, toward the train station), to make it more fun.

The room we had was...OK. It looked very much like a well cared for, late- 1970s furnished apartment. I'm pretty sure that's what it was...

That said, it was a bedroom, hallway, then two separate rooms, one with toilet/sink, and one with toilet/shower. All ours. It was all very homey. Then a kitchen we shared with other guests (though never saw them). All in all, I'd say a great price for Amsterdam/its location.

Bottom line - for Amsterdam prices, we liked it a lot. People who especially like a homey charm...probably would absolutely love it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We chose the ensuite room. The room & bathroom were nice and clean. However, the bathroom was flooded after showering because there was no shower curtain. The breakfast was delicious (ham, cheese, bread, spreads, juice, etc.) On our second night, we found a mouse in the room even though the owner had placed mouse traps in the room. Everything else however, was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Location is great within walking distance of Centraal Station and the red light district. We arrived after hours but we just had to call and someone came and met us outside within a few minutes, at the time we didn't have any cash on us to pay for the room but the man was very kind and told us we could pay the next day at the "gift" shop downstairs. Breakfast was laid out each morning and you just had to help yourself which is great because you could eat as much or as little as you like. Downfalls were the shower head that wouldn't stay in place (we ended up jamming a toothpick in) and also the TV didn't work.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam at Eve's guesthouse. We arrived late due to the fact that our plane got delayed, nevertheless the owner was very kind, even though it was after midnight. Our room 1, was large compared to other rooms we have stayed in other cities. The room is basic, but it is clean. The location was brilliant. It is noisy, but you are in Amsterdam!We found the breakfast plentiful. It was fresh. There is a large fridge for the guests to use.
The owner kindly allowed us to check out late on the day of our departure (monday), because it wasnt booked.
It was wonderful. We will be sure to return.

Room Tip: We liked room 1, because it was on the street, in the action, but is was noisy and may not be for ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Helpful staff who tried to answer our questions as best as they could. But there is usually no one around except in the morning when the staff comes to prepare breakfast for us. Free wifi available. clean & spacious room. free breakfast was basic but sufficient. We had to miss the breakfast on our last day as we were taking an early train but Brian was kind enough to ask us to help ourselves to the bread and food from their staff fridge. Good location. Near central station n supermarket. Within walking distance to the canal tour and a few museums including Ann frank house.

no lift available but that's not a surprise since I knew abt that when I made my booking. Brian was helpful enough to help move my luggage up the stairs but moving the luggage down during the check out was a challenge since we left very early in the morning and were on our own since the staff was not there for work yet (they trusted us to leave the room keys on the dining table for them to collect)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at Eve's for 4 nights and found it to be ideally located. It was only a short walk to the Red Light District, train station and zoo.

We were picked up at the airport by the shuttle arranged by Eve's, the driver showed us to our room, gave us our keys and, unfortunately, he was the only staff member we saw until the day before we left. We weren't shown where the breakfast room was and gave up after little exploration as we didn't want to be seen to be seemingly trying unlock other guest's rooms. When we did finally have breakfast it was quite good with a variety of rolls, cheese, meat and spreads. We also found the one member of staff we met to be very friendly and helpful with directions etc.

There was no housekeeping, which wouldn't be problem on a short trip, and as well as needing our towels refreshed we ran out of toilet paper during our trip.

Our room looked out onto the street, right into a red lit window(!) which was amusing.

The room itself was alright, the decoration is in need of refreshment but if all you're needing is a place to rest your head then it was ideal and excellently priced. It also didn't reek of hash which was a major plus in my book and in fact, the no drugs policy was one of the reasons we picked Eve's in the first place. We also had a mouse on our room one night but judging by the amount of cats we saw, this would appear to be a common problem in most Dutch buildings.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eve's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eve's Guesthouse

Address: Spuistraat 44, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eve's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.