We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eve's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eve's Guesthouse
Save
You added Eve's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Spuistraat 44, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location & breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We chose the ensuite room. The room & bathroom were nice and clean. However, the bathroom was flooded after showering because there was no shower curtain. The breakfast was delicious (ham, cheese, bread, spreads, juice, etc.) On our second night, we found a mouse in the room even though the owner had placed mouse traps in the room. Everything else however, was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Location is great within walking distance of Centraal Station and the red light district. We arrived after hours but we just had to call and someone came and met us outside within a few minutes, at the time we didn't have any cash on us to pay for the room but the man was very kind and told us we could pay the next day at the "gift" shop downstairs. Breakfast was laid out each morning and you just had to help yourself which is great because you could eat as much or as little as you like. Downfalls were the shower head that wouldn't stay in place (we ended up jamming a toothpick in) and also the TV didn't work.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam at Eve's guesthouse. We arrived late due to the fact that our plane got delayed, nevertheless the owner was very kind, even though it was after midnight. Our room 1, was large compared to other rooms we have stayed in other cities. The room is basic, but it is clean. The location was brilliant. It is noisy, but you are in Amsterdam!We found the breakfast plentiful. It was fresh. There is a large fridge for the guests to use.
The owner kindly allowed us to check out late on the day of our departure (monday), because it wasnt booked.
It was wonderful. We will be sure to return.

Room Tip: We liked room 1, because it was on the street, in the action, but is was noisy and may not be for ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Helpful staff who tried to answer our questions as best as they could. But there is usually no one around except in the morning when the staff comes to prepare breakfast for us. Free wifi available. clean & spacious room. free breakfast was basic but sufficient. We had to miss the breakfast on our last day as we were taking an early train but Brian was kind enough to ask us to help ourselves to the bread and food from their staff fridge. Good location. Near central station n supermarket. Within walking distance to the canal tour and a few museums including Ann frank house.

no lift available but that's not a surprise since I knew abt that when I made my booking. Brian was helpful enough to help move my luggage up the stairs but moving the luggage down during the check out was a challenge since we left very early in the morning and were on our own since the staff was not there for work yet (they trusted us to leave the room keys on the dining table for them to collect)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at Eve's for 4 nights and found it to be ideally located. It was only a short walk to the Red Light District, train station and zoo.

We were picked up at the airport by the shuttle arranged by Eve's, the driver showed us to our room, gave us our keys and, unfortunately, he was the only staff member we saw until the day before we left. We weren't shown where the breakfast room was and gave up after little exploration as we didn't want to be seen to be seemingly trying unlock other guest's rooms. When we did finally have breakfast it was quite good with a variety of rolls, cheese, meat and spreads. We also found the one member of staff we met to be very friendly and helpful with directions etc.

There was no housekeeping, which wouldn't be problem on a short trip, and as well as needing our towels refreshed we ran out of toilet paper during our trip.

Our room looked out onto the street, right into a red lit window(!) which was amusing.

The room itself was alright, the decoration is in need of refreshment but if all you're needing is a place to rest your head then it was ideal and excellently priced. It also didn't reek of hash which was a major plus in my book and in fact, the no drugs policy was one of the reasons we picked Eve's in the first place. We also had a mouse on our room one night but judging by the amount of cats we saw, this would appear to be a common problem in most Dutch buildings.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Eve's guesthouse was recommended to us by a friend who had stopped there and is a lovely place to stay. Me and my friend (both in our early twenties) stayed for four nights and both really liked the hostel. It was in a great location, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the room itself was spacious with lots of additional items we wouldn't automatically expect from a hostel (towels, tv, hairdryer, lots of information leaflets in the desk). Our bedroom and bathroom were clean and spacious.
Breakfast was served between 9 and 10.30 so you don't have to rush to get up and tea, coffee, water, beer and cola are all available in the fridge in the kitchen at all times, with an honesty jar to pay for them.
The room got very hot so the windows had to be wide open whenever we were in, which meant it could be a little bit noisy at points in the night but not constantly and not compared to the city centre.
We didn't really use the trams as we preferred to walk and the station is a ten minute walk from the hostel, if that. Trains to and from the airport were frequent and cheap (just over four euros).
The only slight negative I would have about this hostel would be that we stayed for four nights and the bins in our room and bathroom weren't emptied once. I usually find this is done at hostels and was a little disappointed it wasn't. Other than that, I would highly recommend Eve's hostel and would stay there again if I plan a trip to Amsterdam!
You don't really see the owners at all once you check in but they let you know they are in their office if you need them. The stairs are very steep so perhaps not suitable for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

My first time in Amsterdam and my wife's second. We loved the city and we loved Eve's. The room was large and looked over the street. The bathroom was a decent size too with a good strong jet from the shower (always a plus point in my book!) The bedroom was clean
The staff were friendly and the office is manned from 09:00 - 18:00 (sometimes later) although on the printout you receive there is a contact phone number. We let them know we would be there early and called them upon arrival. There was somebody at the office to open up within minutes and as another poster wrote, you can always pop in to the sex shop downstairs and ask them if you can have the keys.

Our only complaint was that some rickshaw drivers outside were having a loud conversation in the early hours of the morning, waiting for jobs from the "coffee shop" next door but I can hardly blame that on the hotel.

It was very central - 5 minutes walk one way and you were in Centraal station. 5 minutes walk the other way and you were in Dam Square. The red light district is about 10 minutes away by foot although there are some red lights around the hotel too.

If you don't like cannabis, prostitution and sex shops, this may not be the hotel for you but then, Amsterdam is probably not the city for you either!

If you want a good, clean hotel with friendly staff in the city centre of Amsterdam then Eve's is your place and well worthy of a 5 star review.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#116 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#23 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eve's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eve's Guesthouse

Address: Spuistraat 44, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eve's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.