We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eve's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eve's Guesthouse
Save
You added Eve's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Spuistraat 44, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at Eve's for 4 nights and found it to be ideally located. It was only a short walk to the Red Light District, train station and zoo.

We were picked up at the airport by the shuttle arranged by Eve's, the driver showed us to our room, gave us our keys and, unfortunately, he was the only staff member we saw until the day before we left. We weren't shown where the breakfast room was and gave up after little exploration as we didn't want to be seen to be seemingly trying unlock other guest's rooms. When we did finally have breakfast it was quite good with a variety of rolls, cheese, meat and spreads. We also found the one member of staff we met to be very friendly and helpful with directions etc.

There was no housekeeping, which wouldn't be problem on a short trip, and as well as needing our towels refreshed we ran out of toilet paper during our trip.

Our room looked out onto the street, right into a red lit window(!) which was amusing.

The room itself was alright, the decoration is in need of refreshment but if all you're needing is a place to rest your head then it was ideal and excellently priced. It also didn't reek of hash which was a major plus in my book and in fact, the no drugs policy was one of the reasons we picked Eve's in the first place. We also had a mouse on our room one night but judging by the amount of cats we saw, this would appear to be a common problem in most Dutch buildings.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Eve's guesthouse was recommended to us by a friend who had stopped there and is a lovely place to stay. Me and my friend (both in our early twenties) stayed for four nights and both really liked the hostel. It was in a great location, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the room itself was spacious with lots of additional items we wouldn't automatically expect from a hostel (towels, tv, hairdryer, lots of information leaflets in the desk). Our bedroom and bathroom were clean and spacious.
Breakfast was served between 9 and 10.30 so you don't have to rush to get up and tea, coffee, water, beer and cola are all available in the fridge in the kitchen at all times, with an honesty jar to pay for them.
The room got very hot so the windows had to be wide open whenever we were in, which meant it could be a little bit noisy at points in the night but not constantly and not compared to the city centre.
We didn't really use the trams as we preferred to walk and the station is a ten minute walk from the hostel, if that. Trains to and from the airport were frequent and cheap (just over four euros).
The only slight negative I would have about this hostel would be that we stayed for four nights and the bins in our room and bathroom weren't emptied once. I usually find this is done at hostels and was a little disappointed it wasn't. Other than that, I would highly recommend Eve's hostel and would stay there again if I plan a trip to Amsterdam!
You don't really see the owners at all once you check in but they let you know they are in their office if you need them. The stairs are very steep so perhaps not suitable for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

My first time in Amsterdam and my wife's second. We loved the city and we loved Eve's. The room was large and looked over the street. The bathroom was a decent size too with a good strong jet from the shower (always a plus point in my book!) The bedroom was clean
The staff were friendly and the office is manned from 09:00 - 18:00 (sometimes later) although on the printout you receive there is a contact phone number. We let them know we would be there early and called them upon arrival. There was somebody at the office to open up within minutes and as another poster wrote, you can always pop in to the sex shop downstairs and ask them if you can have the keys.

Our only complaint was that some rickshaw drivers outside were having a loud conversation in the early hours of the morning, waiting for jobs from the "coffee shop" next door but I can hardly blame that on the hotel.

It was very central - 5 minutes walk one way and you were in Centraal station. 5 minutes walk the other way and you were in Dam Square. The red light district is about 10 minutes away by foot although there are some red lights around the hotel too.

If you don't like cannabis, prostitution and sex shops, this may not be the hotel for you but then, Amsterdam is probably not the city for you either!

If you want a good, clean hotel with friendly staff in the city centre of Amsterdam then Eve's is your place and well worthy of a 5 star review.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Much more then I'd expected.
The rooms are not that small and even normal.
The location is very good.
Breakfast not the good but you are in amsterdam..

More then good value for money.

I will recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Alright, so it's above a gay sex toy shop and across the street from red light windows, and right next to a coffee shop. Very Amsterdam in a way. This isn't why we are marking it down though, that is just Amsterdam. The day we arrived at 10:30, and we had told the manager we were arriving at 11am, so we waited 30 minutes, but no one showed up. Met some other people who wanted to check out, but they also had a problem finding the manager, even though they had said that they would be checking out then. After waiting another 15 or so minutes the manager of the downstairs sex toy shop showed up and was very helpful in taking our bags. Credit to him, but it is isn't really his job. The room was alright, pretty marked walls. Tiny, tiny shower. The breakfast was alright, a little stingy though. You don't really have much contact at all with the staff, so don't know if they are helpful. What got us was that my wife accidentally left a ring on the TV on our last day and rushed back to get it, only to find that the cleaner had put it in her wallet, she was saying it was too small for her fingers, so sounded like she was planning on giving it to someone else. So, be careful with your stuff. Maybe hard to trust people here

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Clean, comfortable guesthouse within walking distance of station. Staff very friendly and helpful.Good breakfast. Spacious rooms, with dining room and kitchen giving a feel of n apartment rather than just b and b.Good restaurants within walking distance.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

3 of us were looking for economical lodging and Eves was the perfect solution an easy walk from the train station. Enjoyed having a kitchen (though there was only a microwave available for cooking; no stovetop.) We occupied 2 of the 3 rooms (each of which has its own bath.) Our room on the street had poor bathroom ventilation or ? and developed a strong musty smell and the beds were just OK, but even with that we had a great time and would stay there again for the location and cost. There's a nice big table where breakfast is serves which provides a nice place to hang out and share stories after a long day of sight-seeing. Check the map before you leave the train station; it's only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eve's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eve's Guesthouse

Address: Spuistraat 44, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eve's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.