We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Good taste” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diya Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

Diya Indian Restaurant
van Woustraat 240, 1073 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is truly exceptional Indian food and a favorite of my friend who lives in Amsterdam (and is half-Indian and knows from good Indian food). The chicken saag and lamb punjabi were truly great.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, Good taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Surprised to find this restaurant rated so low. Went there for dinner on a vegetarian night :( with a couple of friends. Ordered Kadai Paneer, Dal Makhani, Bharta, Rice, Garlic Nan, starter which I cant recollect and Mango Lassi.
Kadai Paneer, Dal Makhani were excellent although the Nan was a bit too crispy and very very thin. Bharta was passable.
Overall food was good. Service was prompt.
Ambiance is cosy (which means not huge place).

Will visit again sometime to try their non-veg stuff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Authentic indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food. It is one of the best Indian food i tasted outside India. For those who cannot take hot food, remember to tell them to make it mild.. Like real Indian food default is spicy.

I came to this restaurant twice in my 5 days trip. Try chicken madras, chicken lalfrazi, mattar gobi

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
“Very nice Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have been here quite a few times.
Real Indian flavours, good taste, large portions in a nice atmosphere.
Tandoori fish, lamb tikka marsala and chicken vindaloo are all great choices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flensburg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Original Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was the indian Restaurant that was closest to our hotel (Casa 400) and we were pleasantly surprised, as I read some not flattering reviews. The atmosphere was very cozy and the style was as you see it in most Indian Restaurants. The food was original Indian and prepared as spicy as we ordered. The garlic naan was really good. And the service was good and friendly. If you are looking for real Indian food in a small cozy Restaurant I would definatly recommend Diya.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Indian food considering they are in Amsterdam.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The restaurant was a good place to have Indian food and the food was real good. But the service surely dampened our spirits.

The waiter didn't know how to pour a Beer and the service was exceptionally delayed.

Overall an average place with good food and below expectation service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diya Indian Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diya Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.