We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class cooking and relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bouf

Bouf
Van Baerlestraat 51, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
020-6736222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #508 of 2,459 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $39
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Museumplein
Cambridge
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“First class cooking and relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We went to the Bouf because of a recommendation from our hotel. It was a fairly quiet Monday night with about 6 other tables occupied. There was only one waitress working but the service was good and friendly. My husband ordered the spinach soup with goat's cheese which was delicious. Both our main dishes(fillet steak and duck breast) were cooked to a high standard. I had the cheese course which was slightly disappointing as out of the 3 cheeses offered only one was Dutch, the others were a French and Irish.
If you are staying in the Museumplein area, this restaurant should be near the top of your list to go for a relaxed dinner with good food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    69
    18
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Feb 14 weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Location and menu attracted us as our party had non meat eating and non fish eating members and we were staying just next to Vondel Park. We got there early along with concert goers and were asked if we were attending a show. As we were not we benefitted from the laid back service we like having a good break before we start and between courses. Food and wine were excellent as we're staff who were very friendly taking the time to explain the menu + specials in very good English. All told a great experience so much so we went back the following night which equally as good in all respects. Will definitely go back when next in Amsterdam.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stumbled across Bouf looking for something to eat before visiting the museums. It was empty but we were told that most tables were booked. We had a light lunch, food was lovely and service was great. it was a cold February day but the restaurant was cosy. By the time we left the place was bustling.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I've been 3 times now, and had excellent food every time, well worth a visit, and is very reasonable prices for the quality of the food.

Wine Pairing also very good.

Try it! Hopefully you will like it as much as we did.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great dinner in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Very nice restaurant, cosy and very good food ! We went there for new year's eve and enjoyed the special menu (35€, 3 courses). Prices are not too expensive especially for dinner. Restaurant situated next to the Van Gogh Museum.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouf also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bouf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bouf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.