We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good with a few hiccups” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bollywood Indian Restaurant

Bollywood Indian Restaurant
Lange Leidsedwarsstraat 108, 1017NN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020 489 90 03
Improve this listing
Ranked #932 of 2,281 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Biggar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good with a few hiccups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went here a few days ago on our first night of our most recent trip to Amsterdam. Welcomed by friendly waiter, and we ordered a mixed veg platter to start, followed by a lamb tikka bhuna, lamb rogan josh, a rice and a nan bread.
Starters arrived and were really good, very fresh tasting although some more sauce with them would have been welcome. Just as we finished all the lights went out. It didn't affect the power in kitchen so the main course was brought, but for the rest of the night we had to eat by candle light. The staff were understandably a bit distracted and the rest of the service wasn't quite the same, and I would have thought perhaps a drink on the house etc might have been given, but all the food was very good, although the heating had obviously been affected as it got decidedly chilly by the end of the meal. I would visit again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    9
    13
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hoorn, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Yesterday we had a delicious diner at this restaurant, good food, good service! We will definitely come back here!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great indian food, bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

In a central location in Leidseplein - away from the hustle and bustle of the Main city area. This place is very large and modern. Was almost empty when we went in (Monday night) with only one other group. Has 2 levels also with tables upstairs. The service was good and attentive. The food was delicious!! Normally I get unusual things, but this time I just had butter chicken, which was awesome. My partner had Palak Paneer which she said was also good. They give you complimentary poppadums as well. Prices are pretty steep (for us) at 16-18 euro per curry, which comes with rice and a small salad. For us this is about $30, a lot more than we would pay at home for an indian meal. Also be aware that the special menu on the little blackboards out the front is a seperate menu and you are limited in the choices you get if you order off that menu. Overall excellent food, but a little expensive. Would recommend if you like a good authentic Indian meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Surprised to find a delicious Indian food at touristic area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Restaurants at touristic areas such as the Leidseplein mostly has no quality ...But surprisingly the Bollywood was one of the best Indian food restaurant not only in Amsterdam but maybe in Europe,if you stay longer time in Amsterdam sure you will go twice ...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Exceptionally clean restaurant in the heart of the Leidseplein Sqaure area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our second visit separated by 16 months from our first and we were just as impressed! Nice variety of dishes but their Lamb and Chicken tikkas seem to be their best and house specialties. Friendly staff with good English. Very modern décor while lively Bollywood music videos play on the flat screens. The value was excellent considering the quality and price of other nearby tourist restaurants. 17 or 20 Euros for a Chicken or Lamb tikka and worth every penny.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Indian Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bollywood Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bollywood Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.