We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, cosy accommodation in good part of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Posthoorn to your Saves list
The Posthoorn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great, cosy accommodation in good part of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for 3 nights, it's in a great part of the city alongside the canal and one the same street as Anne Frank's house. The room is a good size with fridge, hot plate, microwave and kettle. Just up the road are some supermarkets and there are plenty of good restaurants and places to eat on the go everywhere. Breakfast is delivered to your room at the time agreed and consists of fresh bread, fruit, cold meats, cheese, yoghurts and juice. Ample for the morning and in my case lunch as well. I stayed in the Canal Room and while you do notice noises such as people walking around it settles down at night and my sleep was never interrupted. Francois has great advice for places to eat, how long it will take to get to places, etc.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
131
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have just enjoyed a four night stay at The Posthoorn.
From the moment we contacted Francois, inquiring of availability etc he could not have been more helpful.
He gave us very useful instructions regarding how to find his property, a 15 minute walk from the Central Station, to the beautiful area of The Jordaan.
The Posthoorn is ideally situated in an area crammed with great bars, cafe's and excellent restaurants, all within walking distance.
We stayed in the patio room, which was extremely well appointed, with a little kitchen area where we could make tea and coffee when required.
Breakfast was delivered to our room at our convenience, and consisted of a wonderful continental breakfast, with the best boiled eggs and locally sourced fresh bread and croissants.
Francois gave us some great advice for local restaurants and we were not disappointed.
We will definitely return to The Posthoorn. It made our visit to Amsterdam, something very special.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at the Posthoorn for a three night break in late November and loved it! The hotel is situated in a quiet canal-side location opposite the Jordaan and is an easy 15 minute stroll from the station. Our welcome from host, Francois, made us feel at home immediately and he is obviously (and rightly) very proud of his beautiful house and its history; he also has plenty of recommendations about stuff to do and places to eat that are worth paying attention to. A most gracious, helpful, attentive and friendly host - and a really fine breakfast each morning at a time of your choosing.

We stayed in the Canal View room and any doubts about noise disappeared completely during our first night - the glazed windows do a very efficient job so I can't understand those who claim to have had disturbed nights in this room. Also, as there's only three rooms, you won't have dozens of guests tramping about the place. All this makes for a fantastic place to stay and one we'll want to come back to when we return to Amsterdam.

Amsterdam is a great city to visit and the Posthoorn is a great place to stay. Thanks Francois!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

We loved our three night stay at the Posthoorn in early September. Francois is a gracious, helpful and very pleasant host.
Our stay was in the downstairs Hidden Church Room which was very comfortable. We liked having our own entrance out to the street.
Breakfasts were always enjoyed, sitting by the window watching the cyclists go by. There was always a nice assortment of yogurt, fruit, pastries, meat, cheeses and rolls.
The location is perfect.......right on a canal, near lovely districts in easy walking distance, plenty of shopping and dining options close by.
We would definitely stay here again if we return to Amsterdam in the future.

Room Tip: Although we were completely happy in the Hidden Church Room, we would probably request the Canal Vew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We stayed four nights in the patio room at the back and found everything satisfactory: the situation in the city, welcome, breakfast, bathroom, and especially the bedroom where we could relax in comfort. We even caught a glimpse of one of the family cats peering down at us from the garden.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We stayed here with my wife….after traveling to Paris and Bruges…Francois (the owner) offers a service that is personalized, friendly and useful. The house is beautiful, and for those of you interested in history, the house has a little and interesting twist!!.

If you are arriving by train, follow the exact instructions of Fancois and you will be at the door of the Hotel after a 15 minutes nice walk along HarlemerStraat……it´s safe and fun……..no matter the hour of your walking experience (We arrive at night)…..

I never write in this reviews, but I think that this entrepreneur (Francois) deserve a lot more…...

Room Tip: We stayed at the indoor (Patio) room…..no problem at all…..it´s huge and has a fridge, coffee machin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

I cannot say enough great things about this B&B! From check-in to check-out everything was fabulous. Francois greeted and gave us the lay of the land, including restaurants, museums, and how to use the public transportation. He also told us the most important thing about Amsterdam- watch out for the bikes! We stayed in the canal view room, which is a nice, big, clean and pleasant room. It has a great view of the Prisengracht canal and made us feel at home. Some reviews have said it was noisy, but those people must live in the rural areas, b/c we barely heard any noise at all. As bikes rule the roost in Amsterdam, there are not a lot of cars and most of the "noise" was a bike bell every once in a while- never did we have a problem sleeping or were disturbed by the noise at any time. The breakfast was excellent, with delicious croissants, bread, cheese, yogurt, fruit and juice. The location is also superb, right in the canal belt, close to everything including excellent and efficient public transportation, right across from the Jordaan, with it's delicious restaurants, but far enough away from the red light district and nightlife, so it feels like a real neighborhood. I cannot recommend The Posthoorn strongly enough and will definitely stay here again when I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On one of the most beautiful Amsterdam canals, the PRINSENGRACHT, you will find THE POSTHOORN, an Amsterdam Canal house with 3 charming rooms.Imagine having an unforgettable stay in a historical 17th century canal house, right opposite of the most popular area of Amsterdam, THE JORDAAN. You will find most points of interest within walking distance of the house and there is an abundance of small pubs, cozy restaurants and shops all around you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Posthoorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.