We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Posthoorn to your Saves list
The Posthoorn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

A beautiful view, absolutely excellent service and food. The hotel is also in a great location, Amsterdam is a beautiful city and a hotel like this really finished the trip off for myself and the family well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
131
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This could be the only hotel in the world where you have breakfast looking at canals while people pass by. Francois, the owner, is a gentleman who makes you feel welcome, at ease, brings fantastic breakfast every morning to your room, provides historic narratives about the house (formerly a church), gives tips about the best in Amsterdam etc etc etc.

We stayed in the lower level, with plenty of space for my wife, my daughter and I.

There is a kitchen, with fridge, sink, microwave, espresso machine and more.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

located in almost perfect location.The owner Francois could not have been more helpful.Everything written about this place is true.The canal view room we had may be a little bothersome for some people because of street noise,although in our case it didn't bother us(mostly people walking and talking).We walked to almost every area from the Posthoorn.The museum district we cabbed but did walk back.A great place to start off a river cruise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My mom, sister, nephew and I stayed here during our European trip. Francois was a gracious host and was very helpful and accommodating during our stay. He made restaurant reservations and gave us suggestions as to where we should visit and where to eat nightly. All his suggestions were excellent choices and wonderful recommendations. It is perfectly located in the Jordaan district which is close to the Anne Frank House and all other local attractions. We appreciated him making us a taxi reservation back to the airport on our departure, which was much more reasonable being pre-booked. I would stay again at the Posthoorn and highly recommend it to others visiting Amsterdam. Thank You, Francois for making our family's European vacation enjoyable!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the "Hidden Church Room" but some might think it is small and underground. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at Posthoorn. Perfect location, could not have been better. We had the canal view room which provided lots of people watching and beautiful city scenery. Francois was a gracious host and provided wonderful dinner recommendations along with reservations if needed. He also helped with information and directions for sight seeing as well as arranging transportation to the airport. The room had small frig, along with drinks,tea and coffee in the room. There was in small kitchenette which was nice for our four night stay. I would certainly stay at the Posthoorn if in the area and recommend to others for perfect Amsterdam accommodations.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is a beautiful place to stay in a great location. But its much more than that. Your host François is attentive and welcoming. His local knowledge massively enhanced our short stay. He really couldn't have done any more for us. The room was beautifully decorated with a superbly comfortable bed. Breakfast was fresh, tasty and filling. We'll definitely be back, we'll be recommending to everyone we know!!!!

Room Tip: Patio room was spacious, beautiful and quiet. End suite shower room and small kitchen. Has a small d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Francois has a gem of a property on a pretty canal in a very trendy and well located area. Restaurants and markets surround the property. Accommodation in an historic building is comfortable with good safety. Walking distance to the desirable attractions and neighbourhoods or hire a bike from around the corner like we did. Tariff is very reasonable and includes a delicious breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had the canal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On one of the most beautiful Amsterdam canals, the PRINSENGRACHT, you will find THE POSTHOORN, an Amsterdam Canal house with 3 charming rooms.Imagine having an unforgettable stay in a historical 17th century canal house, right opposite of the most popular area of Amsterdam, THE JORDAAN. You will find most points of interest within walking distance of the house and there is an abundance of small pubs, cozy restaurants and shops all around you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Posthoorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.