We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Posthoorn to your Saves list
The Posthoorn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Absolutely Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This could be the only hotel in the world where you have breakfast looking at canals while people pass by. Francois, the owner, is a gentleman who makes you feel welcome, at ease, brings fantastic breakfast every morning to your room, provides historic narratives about the house (formerly a church), gives tips about the best in Amsterdam etc etc etc.

We stayed in the lower level, with plenty of space for my wife, my daughter and I.

There is a kitchen, with fridge, sink, microwave, espresso machine and more.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
146
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

located in almost perfect location.The owner Francois could not have been more helpful.Everything written about this place is true.The canal view room we had may be a little bothersome for some people because of street noise,although in our case it didn't bother us(mostly people walking and talking).We walked to almost every area from the Posthoorn.The museum district we cabbed but did walk back.A great place to start off a river cruise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My mom, sister, nephew and I stayed here during our European trip. Francois was a gracious host and was very helpful and accommodating during our stay. He made restaurant reservations and gave us suggestions as to where we should visit and where to eat nightly. All his suggestions were excellent choices and wonderful recommendations. It is perfectly located in the Jordaan district which is close to the Anne Frank House and all other local attractions. We appreciated him making us a taxi reservation back to the airport on our departure, which was much more reasonable being pre-booked. I would stay again at the Posthoorn and highly recommend it to others visiting Amsterdam. Thank You, Francois for making our family's European vacation enjoyable!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the "Hidden Church Room" but some might think it is small and underground. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at Posthoorn. Perfect location, could not have been better. We had the canal view room which provided lots of people watching and beautiful city scenery. Francois was a gracious host and provided wonderful dinner recommendations along with reservations if needed. He also helped with information and directions for sight seeing as well as arranging transportation to the airport. The room had small frig, along with drinks,tea and coffee in the room. There was in small kitchenette which was nice for our four night stay. I would certainly stay at the Posthoorn if in the area and recommend to others for perfect Amsterdam accommodations.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is a beautiful place to stay in a great location. But its much more than that. Your host François is attentive and welcoming. His local knowledge massively enhanced our short stay. He really couldn't have done any more for us. The room was beautifully decorated with a superbly comfortable bed. Breakfast was fresh, tasty and filling. We'll definitely be back, we'll be recommending to everyone we know!!!!

Room Tip: Patio room was spacious, beautiful and quiet. End suite shower room and small kitchen. Has a small d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Francois has a gem of a property on a pretty canal in a very trendy and well located area. Restaurants and markets surround the property. Accommodation in an historic building is comfortable with good safety. Walking distance to the desirable attractions and neighbourhoods or hire a bike from around the corner like we did. Tariff is very reasonable and includes a delicious breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had the canal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

From the moment we arrived, Francois ensured that we were comfortable and completely satisfied with our stay. He provided an orientation to Amsterdam along with walking directions to the important sites and restaurants. Daily breakfast was great with fresh pastries, croissants, eggs, meat, cheese, yogurt and fresh fruit. The room was a good size, clean and very well maintained but above all in the most perfect location in the heart of the Jordaan area. We would strongly recommend The Posthoorn and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#8 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the fine walls of a listed historical 17th century canal house on one of Amsterdam's most picturesque canals in the heart of the city - the Prinsengracht - part of the UNESCO World Heritage, The Posthoorn Bed and Breakfast features three charming rooms which offer guests four-star luxury whilst staying in the Jordaan district. The Canal View Room, Patio Room and Hidden Church Room ooze opulent and stylish character within the pleasant atmosphere of this contemporary bed and breakfast flawlessly disguised in the old-fashioned exterior of this canal house. The history behind this interesting building dates back to 1578, during which time Catholics were refused to visit their churches so several hidden churches were built in private houses. Around 1650, one was built in the basement of what stands as The Posthoon today and if you wish the owner will be pleased to tell you the history of the house. The elegant decor of The Posthoorn is boasted throughout each and every room. The livingspaces feature a flat-screen cable TV, en-suite bathroom with under-floor heating, comfortable sofas, free wireless internet. In each room you will find a kitchenette including coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator complete with white wine, beer, orange juice, milk and mineral water. Full continental breakfast including freshly baked bread and croissants is served to guests in their room each morning. Staff aim to make guests' stay at the Posthoorn memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Posthoorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.