We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice in Amsterdam :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Posthoorn to your Saves list
The Posthoorn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice in Amsterdam :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My mom, sister, nephew and I stayed here during our European trip. Francois was a gracious host and was very helpful and accommodating during our stay. He made restaurant reservations and gave us suggestions as to where we should visit and where to eat nightly. All his suggestions were excellent choices and wonderful recommendations. It is perfectly located in the Jordaan district which is close to the Anne Frank House and all other local attractions. We appreciated him making us a taxi reservation back to the airport on our departure, which was much more reasonable being pre-booked. I would stay again at the Posthoorn and highly recommend it to others visiting Amsterdam. Thank You, Francois for making our family's European vacation enjoyable!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the "Hidden Church Room" but some might think it is small and underground. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
139
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at Posthoorn. Perfect location, could not have been better. We had the canal view room which provided lots of people watching and beautiful city scenery. Francois was a gracious host and provided wonderful dinner recommendations along with reservations if needed. He also helped with information and directions for sight seeing as well as arranging transportation to the airport. The room had small frig, along with drinks,tea and coffee in the room. There was in small kitchenette which was nice for our four night stay. I would certainly stay at the Posthoorn if in the area and recommend to others for perfect Amsterdam accommodations.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is a beautiful place to stay in a great location. But its much more than that. Your host François is attentive and welcoming. His local knowledge massively enhanced our short stay. He really couldn't have done any more for us. The room was beautifully decorated with a superbly comfortable bed. Breakfast was fresh, tasty and filling. We'll definitely be back, we'll be recommending to everyone we know!!!!

Room Tip: Patio room was spacious, beautiful and quiet. End suite shower room and small kitchen. Has a small d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Francois has a gem of a property on a pretty canal in a very trendy and well located area. Restaurants and markets surround the property. Accommodation in an historic building is comfortable with good safety. Walking distance to the desirable attractions and neighbourhoods or hire a bike from around the corner like we did. Tariff is very reasonable and includes a delicious breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had the canal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

From the moment we arrived, Francois ensured that we were comfortable and completely satisfied with our stay. He provided an orientation to Amsterdam along with walking directions to the important sites and restaurants. Daily breakfast was great with fresh pastries, croissants, eggs, meat, cheese, yogurt and fresh fruit. The room was a good size, clean and very well maintained but above all in the most perfect location in the heart of the Jordaan area. We would strongly recommend The Posthoorn and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We (2 adults and a 3 year old) have just come back from a 3 night stay at The Posthoom - it was fantastic! Beautiful room, immaculately clean and fabulous breakfast. Francois was extremely welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The location was perfect - not too far from any of the 'attractions' but far enough away to enjoy some peace and quiet. A wonderful stay in Amsterdam and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights. Francois was very, very welcoming and exceptionally helpful with information about the city, maps, directions, restaurant suggestions and transport back to the airport. The canal house is charming and in the perfect location for exploring the Anne Frank house, the Jordaan district, the nine streets area, and the flower market. It was also a very easy tram ride to the Van Gogh museum. We stayed in the Hidden Church room, which was very comfortable (great bed and pillows) and clean. Francois brought us a lovely breakfast each morning in the room. We would definitely stay here again when we return to Amsterdam. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the fine walls of a listed historical 17th century canal house on one of Amsterdam's most picturesque canals in the heart of the city - the Prinsengracht - part of the UNESCO World Heritage, The Posthoorn Bed and Breakfast features three charming rooms which offer guests four-star luxury whilst staying in the Jordaan district. The Canal View Room, Patio Room and Hidden Church Room ooze opulent and stylish character within the pleasant atmosphere of this contemporary bed and breakfast flawlessly disguised in the old-fashioned exterior of this canal house. The history behind this interesting building dates back to 1578, during which time Catholics were refused to visit their churches so several hidden churches were built in private houses. Around 1650, one was built in the basement of what stands as The Posthoon today and if you wish the owner will be pleased to tell you the history of the house. The elegant decor of The Posthoorn is boasted throughout each and every room. The livingspaces feature a flat-screen cable TV, en-suite bathroom with under-floor heating, comfortable sofas, free wireless internet. In each room you will find a kitchenette including coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator complete with white wine, beer, orange juice, milk and mineral water. Full continental breakfast including freshly baked bread and croissants is served to guests in their room each morning. Staff aim to make guests' stay at the Posthoorn memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Posthoorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.