We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B in a Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Posthoorn to your Saves list
The Posthoorn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Jacksonville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B in a Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

From the moment we arrived, Francois ensured that we were comfortable and completely satisfied with our stay. He provided an orientation to Amsterdam along with walking directions to the important sites and restaurants. Daily breakfast was great with fresh pastries, croissants, eggs, meat, cheese, yogurt and fresh fruit. The room was a good size, clean and very well maintained but above all in the most perfect location in the heart of the Jordaan area. We would strongly recommend The Posthoorn and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
126
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

very nice and very clean hotel, we stayed here for 3 nights, the staff is more than exeptional, very helpful and very kind, the breakfast is fantastic, we really had a great stay our room was very spacious and well furnished, we will certainlt return to this nice place...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We (2 adults and a 3 year old) have just come back from a 3 night stay at The Posthoom - it was fantastic! Beautiful room, immaculately clean and fabulous breakfast. Francois was extremely welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The location was perfect - not too far from any of the 'attractions' but far enough away to enjoy some peace and quiet. A wonderful stay in Amsterdam and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights. Francois was very, very welcoming and exceptionally helpful with information about the city, maps, directions, restaurant suggestions and transport back to the airport. The canal house is charming and in the perfect location for exploring the Anne Frank house, the Jordaan district, the nine streets area, and the flower market. It was also a very easy tram ride to the Van Gogh museum. We stayed in the Hidden Church room, which was very comfortable (great bed and pillows) and clean. Francois brought us a lovely breakfast each morning in the room. We would definitely stay here again when we return to Amsterdam. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I had a great stay in Amsterdam.
The Posthoorn was easy to find by foot from the station.
The location was brilliant, just far enough out of the maddening crowd, but all with walking distance.
The hidden church room was great and we really felt like we were on holiday.
Great breakfast, thanks Francois.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed here a few nights with my family and was so impressed by the attentive service. The hotel was beautiful and conveniently located, really such a perfect find and way to spend the vacation. The staff also gave great restaurant and activity recommendations in the area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel is a must for all travellers. Central, well equipped, very comfortable, with the most charming host, Francois. The room has a kitchenette which allows guests to make snacks and drinks. Nothing is too much trouble and we enjoyed 4 days of walks, museum visits and great food. Will be returning.

Room Tip: Back room was quiet and well provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On one of the most beautiful Amsterdam canals, the PRINSENGRACHT, you will find THE POSTHOORN, an Amsterdam Canal house with 3 charming rooms.Imagine having an unforgettable stay in a historical 17th century canal house, right opposite of the most popular area of Amsterdam, THE JORDAAN. You will find most points of interest within walking distance of the house and there is an abundance of small pubs, cozy restaurants and shops all around you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Posthoorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.