We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Perfect Stay"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Posthoorn

Save Saved
You added The Posthoorn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Posthoorn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“"A Perfect Stay"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We booked the Canal View room for 4 nights. We always attempt to stay at B & B's that are as good or better than home. This is it! We highly recommend The Posthoorn. Everything we would say about our stay, has been said already. We genuinely echo all the positives! We had just the most comfortable perfect stay. Francois, your commitment to making your guests feel so welcome made our stay and first visit to Amsterdam just so memorable. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
118
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lachen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The lovely renovated B&B in one of the charming historic buildings along the Prinsengracht is located in the middle of one of the most popular parts of the city called Jordaan with many nice restaurants just around the corner. You feel immediately very welcome as your host takes his time to explain you the history of the building, discuss your plans for the next days and recommends some must do's and as well a variety of good restaurants in walking distance. The recommendations turned out to be really perfect. We had the Patio room that is rather big and fully equipped with a modern bathroom and a small kitchen. We got a rich breakfast along with unlimited tea and coffee. We can highly recommend the Posthoorn and will for sure be back with our next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

A great place. We loved the room, the house, the central location (just far enough from the madding crowds of the Red Light District yet still in the picturesque heart of the city), the knowledgeable and friendly host, Francois, his ideas for things to do in and outside Amsterdam, as well as the useful, pre-arrival suggestions, the breakfasts, ... shall we go on? We run a 4-star,silver award, B&B ourselves so feel qualified to wholeheartedly recommend the Posthoorn to future visitors.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I came here last week with my boyfriend for three nights.

Leading up to arriving the owner was easily reached via email. He gave fantastic directions from the airport to the hotel and was very professional.

The location was brilliant - a few minutes walk away from The Anne Frank House. We ended up walking everywhere and only got a train to/from the airport.

We stayed in the 'hidden church room' - which had a lovely comfy bed, seating area by the window which looked up onto the quiet street and canal, wardrobe, television (with UK and USA channels), small kitchenette (which we used to make two or three meals - there is a few good shops nearby selling pasta, etc which were reasonably priced and seemed to be very fresh/good quality) and shower room. The whole area was very clean and tidy. The shower was powerful.

Every morning we were brought breakfast (a vast array of breads, croissants, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, yoghurts, and spreads - you won't go hungry!) - which was lovely. The room was also cleaned every day to a very high standard.

The owner was very thorough in telling us the history of the property and about the local area. He also went through a map explaining good areas to visit, things to see. His knowledge was worth a lot and would be worth staying here just for his helpful local tips!

I cannot find anything bad to say about the Posthoorn - I would definitely stay here again, and I would definitely recommend it to friends and family. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

a home away from home, just perfect for a perfect holiday very quiet place,relaxed,Extremely Clean just Perfect all i can say.was supposed to stay for 2nights but i had to extend to 4 nights:-),the owner was very Helpful,he directed us nice restaurants,place to see,Anna Frankhouse is just few metres away,walkable distance from Central station,Redlight,lots of restaurants around.very nice breakfast enjoyed french eggs,croissant,better,fresh juice,fresh fruits, and also in Time.i felt was in heaven.Highly recommended. i can't wait to come back:-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

i recently stayed at the posthoorn for a few days in october. i was thoroughly impressed with the location and service i received. before i even traveled i was in constant communication with the owner-francois. as i was traveling alone i wanted to ensure that there would be no hiccups along the way. francois always replied promptly to my emails and provided very useful information to me even before i arrived. upon arrival he provided a warm welcome. he went over the history of the place and then sat with me and explained the surrounding area, recommended places to visit and eat, and also provided me with a map and directions on how to maneuver around the city. this was my first time traveling to amsterdam but it most certainly wont be my last. i would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone. i traveled alone and felt completely safe. the hotel was in a perfect location-i walked pretty much everywhere. i chose the canal view room and loved it! the breakfast provided in the morning was good. overall i had a great experience!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews, location and price, and were not disappointed!

Location

Just far enough from the city centre so as not to be overly touristy, but within 5 mins walk in all directions there are things of interest to see, both everyday Amsterdammers going about their normal day, but also many places of tourist focus.

Room

Lovely room of good size, nicely furnished with quality. Would happily pack it up and take it home!

Breakfast

You won't go wanting!

Host

Francois was really helpful - great host, and good advice on what to see/where to go, and also about how to avoid the crazy cyclists that go the wrong way down one-way streets, and on pavements without lights!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On one of the most beautiful Amsterdam canals, the PRINSENGRACHT, you will find THE POSTHOORN, an Amsterdam Canal house with 3 charming rooms.Imagine having an unforgettable stay in a historical 17th century canal house, right opposite of the most popular area of Amsterdam, THE JORDAAN. You will find most points of interest within walking distance of the house and there is an abundance of small pubs, cozy restaurants and shops all around you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Posthoorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.