We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Posthoorn to your Saves list
The Posthoorn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cairo
Level Contributor
198 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Francois, the owner, was waiting for us personally while coming late. Than we had the fun to stay in a very old Amsterdam house, with a "Hidden Church" for Catholics... centuries ago. NOw this 3 Room Hotel is of a quality of it`s own! The room was to the backside of the house, but even here there was much light due to the fact that there are huge windows. The is even a stylish balcony - very romantic. The room does not lack anything! There is a kitchenette, fully equipped, so that you can make your own meals if you want.
The owner Francois brings you the breakfast to your room, you can make yourself a great expresso and start the day! LOve to come as soon as possible back to the Posthoorn!!
If you look for something special to live in for some days: Go to the Posthoorn - but reserve your room early!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
146
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lachen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The B&B is in the middle of the most beautiful part of Amsterdam and a lot of nice pubs and restaurants are in walking distance. Ask the host for the best Indonesian Food we ever had, the Satay was just amazing! He is also very helpful to show you the best spots in Amsterdam- don't forget your warmest clothes in wintertime because it's often windy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were glad to have chosen The Posthoorn for my first visit to Amsterdam. Communication by email with the owner, Francois, was encouragingly warm and prompt. His clear instructions enabled us to walk unerringly from the central railway station to his front door in about fifteen minutes, and he proved a most welcoming, friendly and informative host. We were in the patio room, which was spacious and quiet, with a large and very comfortable bed and a nice shower room. Francois made helpful suggestions about where to eat, and reserved tables for us towards the end of the week when restaurants were busy. We enjoyed his breakfasts, which were delivered to the room - the fresh fruit which formed part of it changed daily, and croissants and bread appeared to be bought first thing each morning. We are not big breakfast eaters, in fact, and packed up some of our breakfast each day to eat at lunchtime, which made an expensive city somewhat less so!
The Posthoorn has an interesting history, which Francois told us about - and put his house into the same context as the Church in the Attic and the chapel at the Begijnhof on the other side of the city. It's a very old house, and that is part of the charm of staying there. It's not like a room in a Novotel, nor would we have wanted it to be.
We were conscious of the rest of his family only from occasional glimpses of his little children on their way to playgroups with their mum. There are two cats, but we only met one of them, and then only very briefly. The Posthoorn is a family home, but the guest rooms are separate from the family's accommodation and we were never remotely intruded on by the family.
Francois' emails specified payment in cash at the beginning of the stay, but he was very relaxed about when we paid him - we got round to it on day 3, I think. That he doesn't take plastic was not a particular problem for us, but needs to be planned for. It should be noted that he didn't take a deposit from us either.
7 Prinsengracht is very close to the Anne Frank Huis, which was our first and in many ways our most memorable visit of the holiday. It's also very close to a canal cruise office, should you wish to enjoy one of the boat tours. It's on a lovely canal and we walked everywhere - the Rijksmuseum was less busy at 1000 than we had expected, and we were there comfortably by then on two mornings.
So we would recommend this B&B very warmly and would stay there again if we were back in the city, as we hope one day to be.

Room Tip: Patio room was very quiet. There was no view but we didn't need one having been out enjoying th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

... did I expect that, at the eighth visit to Amsterdam, to discover the pleasure of staying in a typical Dutch house???
I have never written a review of a hotel before, no matter how much I enjoyed my stay there, but this place, located in the heart of Joordan district, worth all the praises and the kind words.
How do all the wonderful things were written before, in such many excellent reviews, the only thing I can say is thank you and ... I love Amsterdam!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward County, Ontario
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Posthoorn. Out host, Francois was a really lovely man and very accommodating. The location is perfect in the Jordaan District. Our room (The Patio Room) was spacious and comfortable. All things did not work well in the bathroom, however and though they were only minor irritations they contribute to why we didn't rate this as a 5. The stops in both sinks didn't work, the shower head was great but wouldn't stay positioned. The lighting in the bathroom made it difficult to put on make-up.

Breakfast was delivered every morning by Francois to our little kitchenette. I was a great service, always fresh and good but it was the same each day. I feel that there was a waste of food as a result. This house does not accommodate a community room for breakfast but I wished it did so that we could only choose what we wanted.

The bed was great and we slept really well while we were there. We particularly appreciated the quilt on the bed that allowed us to have a lightweight cover for our afternoon naps.

Francois recommended some spots for dinner and they were all very good. If you stay in Jordaan, I would recommend that you ask Francois to make reservations a day in advance as we encountered two fully booked conditions for restaurants that we wanted to try. Francois was terrific to resolve an issue with one of the restaurants that turned us away.

We would certainly recommend this B&B to anyone going to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Posthoorn for 3 nights in the Hidden Church room and overall our experience was was very nice. The location is in the Jordaan, which is just a few blocks away from the Anne Frank house and the Nine Streets (one of the best places in the city). It is a 15 minute walk from Central Station. Our host Francois, was very warm and accommodating. When we first arrived, he gave us a map and a list of places he recommended we visit and eat which was very helpful. He also arranged transportation back to the airport The room was spacious and clean, with a small kitchen for snacks and coffee which was great. You can come and go as you please. We never heard a peep from him or his family except when he dropped off breakfast. The breakfast every morning is very fresh and filling. There is also free wifi, and while the signal can be weak the fact that it is free was much appreciated. As mentioned on their website, if you are over 6ft tall, then I wouldn't recommend the Hidden Church room as the ceilings are pretty low. My wife and I are under 6 feet, so it was perfect for us and the room is wonderful, complete with the original marble from the Hidden Church that once was here. Overall, we would stay at the Posthoorn again when we return to Amsterdam and would recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Canal View room. We loved watching street life and canal life right outside our window. We had made a mistake in our booking, completely our fault, and arrived a day early. The host was most gracious and accommodating in solving the problem. The walk from Centraal Station was easy with rollaboard suitcases. Room was very clean and nicely decorated with thoughtful touches like good reading lights. We appreciated the little kitchen just for snacks. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, served in our room at a cozy table with seating next to the window. Shower was very nice. Bed was extremely comfortable. We never heard a sound from the resident family, and were free to come and go as we pleased with complete privacy. Wifi, much appreciated, was fast and worked perfectly. The location is lovely and convenient. We are already planning a return to the entertaining city of Amsterdam, and will certainly choose the Posthoorn again. Bonus history: the house dates from the 1600s. It once held a secret church during a time of religious persecution. There was once even a secret escape tunnel which went under the canal to the equally historic cafe just across the canal.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,832 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#8 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the fine walls of a listed historical 17th century canal house on one of Amsterdam's most picturesque canals in the heart of the city - the Prinsengracht - part of the UNESCO World Heritage, The Posthoorn Bed and Breakfast features three charming rooms which offer guests four-star luxury whilst staying in the Jordaan district. The Canal View Room, Patio Room and Hidden Church Room ooze opulent and stylish character within the pleasant atmosphere of this contemporary bed and breakfast flawlessly disguised in the old-fashioned exterior of this canal house. The history behind this interesting building dates back to 1578, during which time Catholics were refused to visit their churches so several hidden churches were built in private houses. Around 1650, one was built in the basement of what stands as The Posthoon today and if you wish the owner will be pleased to tell you the history of the house. The elegant decor of The Posthoorn is boasted throughout each and every room. The livingspaces feature a flat-screen cable TV, en-suite bathroom with under-floor heating, comfortable sofas, free wireless internet. In each room you will find a kitchenette including coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator complete with white wine, beer, orange juice, milk and mineral water. Full continental breakfast including freshly baked bread and croissants is served to guests in their room each morning. Staff aim to make guests' stay at the Posthoorn memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Posthoorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.