We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Posthoorn to your Saves list
The Posthoorn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great B&B in wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our stay at the Posthoorn was very enjoyable. The location was wonderful; located on the famous Prinsengracht canal, you're a stone's throw away from the Central Station and attractions like the Anne Frank house and The Nine Streets (Amsterdam's most picturesque streets and canals). The breakfast each morning was fresh and plentiful. The room was incredibly clean and welcoming, the bed incredibly comfortable, and the Posthoorn building had quite a history and story. We were provided free internet (which isn't always the case in Europe) and, unlike a previous review, we had no issues with our connection. Francois was a gracious host who made sure our every needs were met and was a pleasure to speak with. When we go back to Amsterdam, we will most definitely stay at the Posthoorn. We would have no reservations recommending this to our dearest friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Patio Room, which faces away from the main street - I can't speak for the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    27
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
144
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Posthoorn is a lovely B&B in the Jordaan, just a few blocks up from the Anne Frank House and close to many pubs and brasseries. It's a fairly easy 10- to 15-minute walk from Centraal Station, doable for anyone with a small/medium rolling suitcase. We stayed in the Canal Room, which offers a pleasant view and a very comfortable king bed, and seemed very quiet to us--but of course we were very tired from all the sightseeing! The room itself was small but sufficient for our needs, and we appreciated the complimentary beverages provided in the mini fridge. The shower in the bathroom is a bit tight for one person, which I note only for anyone for whom that might be a concern. Finally, Francois is a delightful host, provided a nourishing breakfast each morning, and sincerely cared that we enjoy our stay. He made excellent restaurant suggestions (Ko Chang and Prego, for example) and was a great resource for all things Amsterdam. Thank you, Francois, for everything!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Well located in a charming part of Amsterdam, the Posthoorn provides a convenient, clean and comfortable home base from which to explore the city. My husband and I stayed in the Canal Room, where we especially enjoyed the view of the canal and that of the residents of Amsterdam bicycling, strolling or walking past our large windows. We also loved being in the Jordaan, close to everything of interest to us but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the busier tourist centers. Although the room faces the street, there are relatively few cars driven in Amsterdam, so we had no exhaust fumes or engine noises to contend with. In addition, day shades provide both light and privacy. While the room was most pleasant, the very best part of our stay at the Posthoorn was the hospitality extended by Francois, the owner, who puts heart and soul in making sure that guests are comfortable, informed and well nourished before heading out to explore the city in the morning. His breakfasts were beautifully presented and delivered promptly at the time we had arranged the night before. We enjoyed talking with him very much as he shared information about city attractions, its history and current events--as a private tour guide might do. It is clear that Francois loves Amsterdam and hopes that those who stay at the Posthoorn will feel the same way about it as they discover all that it has to offer. Were we to plan another trip to Amsterdam, we would definitely stay at the Posthoorn again for the warm welcome we received, the very comforable room, the excellent location and Francois's desire to make our visit both enjoyable and memorable. Thank you to Francois for sharing his historic home and his knowledge of and passion for Amsterdam with us! This is the kind of experience that is difficult to have at even the best of hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for three nights September 2013. I chose the canal room, and we were so happy that we did, as the room has two large windows, looking out over the canal scene. The room was an acceptable size for us, with a small kitchenette, including a handy refrigerator. Our host, Francois, was very helpful when we checked in, giving us enough information to get us on our way in Amsterdam. We were very thankful that we chose this establishment because it is a real neighbourhood feel, while still close to the main attractions in town. On Saturday, there was a wonderful market that took place just a block away. There was everything there, including food, flowers, clothing, shoes, costume jewellry, and antiques. On Monday there was a flea market on another street, also about a block away. Anne Frank Museum is a 2 or 3 block walk from here. We did not have an issue with noise from the street, or the owners above us. Francois served us a beautiful breakfast in the mornings, in our room. The person who cleaned the room did such a good job of making the bed, that we could have sworn the sheets were changed daily. There were 3 beers in the fridge when we got there, but they were not replenished over our 3 day period. The bathroom was a bit tight, but clean. My only issue was with some mould in the shower. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this B & B. Thank you, Francois, for such a memorable stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family spent 2 nights in the Patio room in July. What a wonderful bed and breakfast! The patio room was perfect for our family of 3. The only suggestion I would have is that it would have been nice to have had a room fan to use, as July was unusually warm this year. Francois is a wonderful host. He is very knowledgeable and his love for Amsterdam is evident as he offers you suggestions. A wonderful breakfast with fresh pastries is brought to your room every morning! The house is located on the Prisengracht canal near the Jordaan, the Anne Frank House and the Seven Streets area. It is a perfect location to base yourself as you are visiting Amsterdam. I loved how the house is close enough to everything, but yet situated in a nice quiet area of the canal. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast if you are lucky enough to be able to find a room available! We drove to Amsterdam from Paris and Francois was very helpful in finding us a car park for our car. Francois was extremely good at answering all of my emails as I was planning our trip! He definitely made the process of planning our trip much easier and he helped make our trip to Amsterdam a very memorable one! I hope you have found this information helpful as you plan your exciting trip to Amsterdam! Have fun!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Patio Room and enjoyed it very much. It was at the back side of the house, away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

What a hidden treasure this B&B was! Whilst we usual choose to stay in bigger hotels, the Poosthorn was one of our highlights of our European trip! We stayed in the beautiful Patio room - the largest room we saw anywhere in Europe. Francois was fantastic, couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating. We left for our flight at 6am and Francois even ensured we would have breakfast prior to leaving. The location was the best in Amsterdam, right on the Prisengracht canal. We cannot recommend the Poosthoorn highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked the canal view room. Although there was some street noise (it is a main street in the Jordaan), the room was perfect! Comfortable bed, great service, and excellent breakfast with fresh pastries. When we had to leave early on our departure date, it was made sure we had breakfast for the following day in our room the night before. Francois was wonderful, and gave us recommendations of restaurants and places to go in the city. The history of the house is amazing! We will definitely return if we are ever back in Amsterdam!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 354 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,781 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 354 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the fine walls of a listed historical 17th century canal house on one of Amsterdam's most picturesque canals in the heart of the city - the Prinsengracht - part of the UNESCO World Heritage, The Posthoorn Bed and Breakfast features three charming rooms which offer guests four-star luxury whilst staying in the Jordaan district. The Canal View Room, Patio Room and Hidden Church Room ooze opulent and stylish character within the pleasant atmosphere of this contemporary bed and breakfast flawlessly disguised in the old-fashioned exterior of this canal house. The history behind this interesting building dates back to 1578, during which time Catholics were refused to visit their churches so several hidden churches were built in private houses. Around 1650, one was built in the basement of what stands as The Posthoon today and if you wish the owner will be pleased to tell you the history of the house. The elegant decor of The Posthoorn is boasted throughout each and every room. The livingspaces feature a flat-screen cable TV, en-suite bathroom with under-floor heating, comfortable sofas, free wireless internet. In each room you will find a kitchenette including coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator complete with white wine, beer, orange juice, milk and mineral water. Full continental breakfast including freshly baked bread and croissants is served to guests in their room each morning. Staff aim to make guests' stay at the Posthoorn memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Posthoorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.