We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd Return to the Posthoorn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Posthoorn

Save Saved
You added The Posthoorn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Posthoorn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We'd Return to the Posthoorn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Well located in a charming part of Amsterdam, the Posthoorn provides a convenient, clean and comfortable home base from which to explore the city. My husband and I stayed in the Canal Room, where we especially enjoyed the view of the canal and that of the residents of Amsterdam bicycling, strolling or walking past our large windows. We also loved being in the Jordaan, close to everything of interest to us but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the busier tourist centers. Although the room faces the street, there are relatively few cars driven in Amsterdam, so we had no exhaust fumes or engine noises to contend with. In addition, day shades provide both light and privacy. While the room was most pleasant, the very best part of our stay at the Posthoorn was the hospitality extended by Francois, the owner, who puts heart and soul in making sure that guests are comfortable, informed and well nourished before heading out to explore the city in the morning. His breakfasts were beautifully presented and delivered promptly at the time we had arranged the night before. We enjoyed talking with him very much as he shared information about city attractions, its history and current events--as a private tour guide might do. It is clear that Francois loves Amsterdam and hopes that those who stay at the Posthoorn will feel the same way about it as they discover all that it has to offer. Were we to plan another trip to Amsterdam, we would definitely stay at the Posthoorn again for the warm welcome we received, the very comforable room, the excellent location and Francois's desire to make our visit both enjoyable and memorable. Thank you to Francois for sharing his historic home and his knowledge of and passion for Amsterdam with us! This is the kind of experience that is difficult to have at even the best of hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
118
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for three nights September 2013. I chose the canal room, and we were so happy that we did, as the room has two large windows, looking out over the canal scene. The room was an acceptable size for us, with a small kitchenette, including a handy refrigerator. Our host, Francois, was very helpful when we checked in, giving us enough information to get us on our way in Amsterdam. We were very thankful that we chose this establishment because it is a real neighbourhood feel, while still close to the main attractions in town. On Saturday, there was a wonderful market that took place just a block away. There was everything there, including food, flowers, clothing, shoes, costume jewellry, and antiques. On Monday there was a flea market on another street, also about a block away. Anne Frank Museum is a 2 or 3 block walk from here. We did not have an issue with noise from the street, or the owners above us. Francois served us a beautiful breakfast in the mornings, in our room. The person who cleaned the room did such a good job of making the bed, that we could have sworn the sheets were changed daily. There were 3 beers in the fridge when we got there, but they were not replenished over our 3 day period. The bathroom was a bit tight, but clean. My only issue was with some mould in the shower. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this B & B. Thank you, Francois, for such a memorable stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family spent 2 nights in the Patio room in July. What a wonderful bed and breakfast! The patio room was perfect for our family of 3. The only suggestion I would have is that it would have been nice to have had a room fan to use, as July was unusually warm this year. Francois is a wonderful host. He is very knowledgeable and his love for Amsterdam is evident as he offers you suggestions. A wonderful breakfast with fresh pastries is brought to your room every morning! The house is located on the Prisengracht canal near the Jordaan, the Anne Frank House and the Seven Streets area. It is a perfect location to base yourself as you are visiting Amsterdam. I loved how the house is close enough to everything, but yet situated in a nice quiet area of the canal. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast if you are lucky enough to be able to find a room available! We drove to Amsterdam from Paris and Francois was very helpful in finding us a car park for our car. Francois was extremely good at answering all of my emails as I was planning our trip! He definitely made the process of planning our trip much easier and he helped make our trip to Amsterdam a very memorable one! I hope you have found this information helpful as you plan your exciting trip to Amsterdam! Have fun!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Patio Room and enjoyed it very much. It was at the back side of the house, away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

What a hidden treasure this B&B was! Whilst we usual choose to stay in bigger hotels, the Poosthorn was one of our highlights of our European trip! We stayed in the beautiful Patio room - the largest room we saw anywhere in Europe. Francois was fantastic, couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating. We left for our flight at 6am and Francois even ensured we would have breakfast prior to leaving. The location was the best in Amsterdam, right on the Prisengracht canal. We cannot recommend the Poosthoorn highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked the canal view room. Although there was some street noise (it is a main street in the Jordaan), the room was perfect! Comfortable bed, great service, and excellent breakfast with fresh pastries. When we had to leave early on our departure date, it was made sure we had breakfast for the following day in our room the night before. Francois was wonderful, and gave us recommendations of restaurants and places to go in the city. The history of the house is amazing! We will definitely return if we are ever back in Amsterdam!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, BC, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The final 3 nights of 30 in high quality B+Bs in Ireland and Amsterdam were spent at The Posthoorn. In the busy city of Amsterdam, we found an oasis that we so enjoyed. The location is on a canal, about a 15 minute walk from the Central Station. The Patio Room is situated at the rear of the building; it is a large suite with a small kitchen that included a fridge stocked with food and drinks. We did not use the kitchen for meal preparation. The spacious suite is tastefully decorated and we especially enjoyed returning to the oasis from the bustling city. Francois provided valuable information, when confirming our reservation, re: booking museums, galleries, etc. His directions from the Central Station to the B+B were easy to follow. On our arrival, Francois reviewed our interests, provided a map, suggested excellent restaurants and made reservations for us. He delivered a generous breakfast every morning, at the agreed to time. We enjoyed the sounds of Francois' children and family, the sounds of a family living in such an urban setting. On departure, Francois arranged for a taxi to take us to the airport and assisted us with our departure. We found this property to be excellent value and a positive experience for our stay in Amsterdam. We have already recommended The Posthoorn to friends who will be in Amsterdam in October.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The historic building was nice, the room was large and nicely decorated, but it was lacking in many ways for the money that we paid. And while, the owner did show us some places on the map and answer a couple questions, I was hoping for more from a higher end bed and breakfast.
STAFF
The owner was a little pushy, first of all. One day, I had a stomache bug and needed to stay in the Room for the day, the cleaning person came and after I told them to just skip my room for the day, the owner came down and practically forced me to leave my room so that they could clean. I still refused, so he went away, but every day after he would remind me that I needed to leave so that they could clean. What they need is a " do not disturb sign". Then when I did leave for them to clean, they didn't actually clean much. The bed was made with the same dirty sheets, and the dirty towels were refolded and put back on the shelf. Not to mention that they threw away some of the items we were using in the kitchen. ( our butter that was in the butter dish and our honey. I know this sounds small, but we needed that to cook).
NOISE
I expected this place to be a relaxing bed and breakfast, but the reality of the situation is that the owner and his family lived directly above my room. They have 3 young children that are very loud and a dog. Not only did we hear them running around above, but they were screaming constantly. The kids scream and cry.. Then the mom screams..then the dad...it was very annoying. The windows stay open in the room, because there is no air conditioning, and their window is also open right above ours, so we hear everything. They also share the patio with this room, so what could have been a tranquil patio, now is something to avoid, as they were frequently outside, fighting or yelling for the dog. I understand how families and kids can be...BUT I paid good money for this BandB for vacation...not to join the family drama.
BREAKFAST
Mediocre at best. It was okay. There was fruit and yogurt and cheese and bread. But nothing high quality or homemade. It was all stuff that I could go get down the street. ( prepackaged,ect) Again, if I paid less for the room, it would be fine.. But it was underwhelming. He also brings the breakfast to the room in the morning and he was either late or early.. Which was another annoyance.
WIFI
The wifi does not work very well at all. It is VERY spotty and often did not show up at all. When it did show up on my devices, it was a weak signal that was very slow.This is a big problem when you need to communicate its the outside world, or look up an address for something.
BATHROOM
While this bathroom was clean, and did have a heated floor, which is fancy.. It had very little provided for you in there. There was a generic shampoo and body wash ( meant more for men) but that was it. No lotion , anything else. Again, if not for the price, I would not complain. I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts in Europe, and this amount of toiletries was consistent with places that were half the price. ALSO the shower was very awkward and uncomfortable.
PAYMENT
Just know that you will have to pay in cash. We stayed for 5 days, so for us that was quite of bit of cash to have to have on us. Just another inconvenience.
Overall, the place was large, and had a location on the Jordaan, which is a nice area of town, but that is what you pay for. And while breakfast is included and you get some free drinks in the mini fridge, I just think you can do better for the money. They aren't terrible, but I would not recommend this place to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frnch55, Owner at The Posthoorn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are sorry to read that Kacie and Nicole did not enjoyed their stay at The Posthoorn. This was obviously from our point of view an error of casting. If we would have known that their vacation plan in Amsterdam was to stay locked in their room 24 hours a day for almost 5 days experiencing exotic substances which can be found in Amsterdam, we would have obviously advise them to stay at another place. The Posthoorn is a private family house and we kindly ask our gests to not smoke or take drugs in the rooms.
Regarding the points mentioned in the review, we believe the best answer is in the reviews posted by all the other guests we had the pleasure to welcome in our house and with whom we could share our love for the real and authentic Amsterdam.
By the way we do not have a dog...
The Posthoorn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On one of the most beautiful Amsterdam canals, the PRINSENGRACHT, you will find THE POSTHOORN, an Amsterdam Canal house with 3 charming rooms.Imagine having an unforgettable stay in a historical 17th century canal house, right opposite of the most popular area of Amsterdam, THE JORDAAN. You will find most points of interest within walking distance of the house and there is an abundance of small pubs, cozy restaurants and shops all around you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Posthoorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.