We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Posthoorn to your Saves list
The Posthoorn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We felt that by staying here we were able to get in touch with the real Amsterdam. The location is perfect - walkable from Central Station, but in a real neighborhood. Anne Frank house is a few blocks down the street. We loved talking to Francois and learning about the lives and routines of Amsterdam citizens. The hidden church room was comfortable and provided all of the amenities we needed. Breakfast included the best bread we had our entire trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
138
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne,Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband & I stayed at The Poosthorn for 3 nights in June 2012 & were happy we chose this place. It is in a great location, in a hip part of Amsterdam right on the canals and only a short stroll from many attractions. Just out of the complete hustle and bustle but everything is on your doorstop - Anne frsnk's house is just down the street, canal tours, great shopping. Francois is a great host - delicious breakfast at your leisure and little extra's provided like tea, coffee and some drinks in the fridge. Francois also provides good local information & has a good knowledge of history, restaurants & tourist traps to avoid. We stayed in the Hidden church Room, which In the basement still provided a view of the goings on right outside. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Posthoorn & would definitely return here next time we're in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: If you are taller than 6 foot 3 you will need one of the other rooms due to the lower ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at the Posthoorn for five nights in early June; our third stay there. As always, Francois was a wonderful host, the room was comfortable, clean, charming, the location in the middle of everything we wanted to see, and as an added bonus, we got to babysit his 3-month old kitten, Bergamot, for a few minutes when she unexpectedly escaped from his apartment. It is a joy to be there and in fact, although we usually go to Amsterdam in early May, we replanned our trip to accommodate the Posthoorn's availability. The other reviews are right on the mark!

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the back room with the patio. Quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in June/July 2012 in the front canal room. The room is a little smaller than ideal but is made up for by the great, ever changing view out the window right over the canal. Francois was the perfect host and assisted us with making dining suggestions and dinner reservations - all of them very good and at places we would never have dropped in to. He gave a detailed history of the house and area and gave tips on where to go and details of each neighborhood. The breakfasts Francois provided were excellent with plenty of choice. The added advantage of a fridge, tea and coffee facilities and free drinks in the fridge were highly appreciated. The room even had a hot-plate and microwave which we didn't use - but a good touch. Francois provided free excellent wi-fi as well.
The location is perfect - walking distance from Central Station with bags, close to many of the best attractions and we found we could walk to everything we wanted to see without feeling foot sore.

Would highly recommend Posthoorn B&B to everyone and will certainly stay there again when visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Everything about The Posthoorn B&B was simply outstanding - from the service, to the spacious room, to the delicious daily breakfast!

My husband and I stayed in the Patio Room (off the back of the house) for 5 nights in June. The room was warm, inviting, comfortable, and very clean. Francois proved to be the perfect host! He assisted us with making dining suggestions and dinner reservations; he provided us with helpful tips on where to go (and where not to go); and he gave us a brief summary of the history of the house, the area, and the sights of Amsterdam. The service he provided on a daily basis is at par to what one expects in a Boutique Hotel - personal, pleasant, efficient, and exceptional.

The Posthoorn B&B is perfectly situated - close to all amenities and many popular sights, but it is just far enough away from the bustle to provide you with a comfortable, quiet evening of rest after a hectic day of sightseeing and walking.

Staying at The Posthoorn was the best decision we made, and it truly added to the quality of our time in Amsterdam. We will definitely stay again! Thank you Francois!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Such a great place to stay! Francois is amazingly helpful, the canal room was beautiful and clean, nice and roomy. Bed was comfy, shower was great. Location was great, close to beautiful streets and canals. Walk able to all the main attractions yet feels away from the touristy crowds. Breakfast was amazing and enough for lunch as well. Complimentry drinks in the fridge was a lovely touch. Loved it and would recommend for sure.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This delightful canal house couldn't be better located -- just minutes from the Anne Frank House, canal boat access, Trip Advisor's "best" restaurant (Brasserie Vlaming), the locals "best" apple pie (Winkel), fabulous bike tour (Mike's) and just about everything else one would enjoy in this great city. The owner and host, Francois, couldn't be more hospitable and helpful -- even to the extent of lending us his IPhone to use as an alarm to get us up for the 5 a.m. airport taxi he had arranged. Breakfast was simple, but generous and delicious. The room (Canal View Room) was spacious and well-fitted out and the beds were amazingly comfortable (especially after two weeks in a river boat).

Room Tip: The Canal View Room is at street level, yet quiet and private. A charming view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On one of the most beautiful Amsterdam canals, the PRINSENGRACHT, you will find THE POSTHOORN, an Amsterdam Canal house with 3 charming rooms.Imagine having an unforgettable stay in a historical 17th century canal house, right opposite of the most popular area of Amsterdam, THE JORDAAN. You will find most points of interest within walking distance of the house and there is an abundance of small pubs, cozy restaurants and shops all around you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Posthoorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.