We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merci,Francois !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Posthoorn to your Saves list
The Posthoorn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto,Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Merci,Francois !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

My wife and are are partial to small hotels and B&B's , and in the Posthoorn , we came upon a gem !

The building is wonderfully situated , within walking distance of more attractions than our 5 day stay could encompass ; and the walks themselves soon became a major attraction for us . What a marvellous area !

Our room (Canal View) was a happy choice ... clean , comfortable , and our window on the city !

Francois is the perfect host . He is aware of the history of the city , and particularly of the very interesting history of the building itself . He is attentive , thoughtful , shares good advice on where to go and what to do , and adds little things (complimentary wine , drinks , coffee , tea) and "room service" breakfasts , which add to your experience and your comfort .

We've stayed in many B&B's , and had many fine experiences , but none better than the Posthoorn . Unless you like to be in large (and more luxurious) hotels , or in the more obvious tourist areas , you won't find better

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
131
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I travelled with my family to Amsterdam and stayed at the Posthoorn 4 nights. The house is very well located in a central area of Amsterdam facing one of the canals and in a very quiet and calm area. There are several restaurants and bars around the area and walking distance from Anna Frank House as well as boat ride stores. The house is a beautiful house from the 1700"s very spacious, clean and with a very modern touch inside. It is a house with a lot of history.
From Francois, our host, we can only say: excellent service! We always heard "of course is possible", no problem.....always at service! He gave us excellent ideas for tours, recommendations to eat/dine, etc.
The room where we stayed had a nice back patio, an spacious bathroom and a queen size bed and a queen size sofa-bed. The four of us were able to fit in the room without conformably. Breakfast was served at the room in the small kitchenette and we were always surprised by a variety of fresh fruit, yogurt, cheese and fresh bread. We also had in our fridge wine, cokes and water that were complimentary.
Having the keys to the Posthoorn gave us the impression during 4 days that we were at home + a very child friendly place!

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The Posthoorn is one of the best B&B we ever have stayed on - and we travel a lot!
Nice room, we stayed 3 people for 3 nights in the Patioroom which was very clean(spotless) and silent. Nice furniture (the only thing we missed was a small table by the sofa), very nice small kitchen and a fantastic breakfast.
Francois is the perfect host: he is very nice and service-minded and he gave us a lot of useful information about where to go in Amsterdam (and what to avoid). The location of the B&B is very nice to and you can walk to all major sites (about 30 minutes to Rijksmuseum for instance). The Posthoorn is a gem!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Francois is a delightful host who not only provided an excellent breakfast every morning - fresh criossant and bread, fruit, yoghurt, cheese, ham etc. but was also full of recommendations for what to do and where to eat. He is very proud of The Posthoorn and will tell you the interesting history of the house. The location is fantastic, the rooms and beds very warm and comfortable and it's a lively area in what is surely the most interesting part of Amsterdam to stay as a visitor. Highly recommended. We'll be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms looking onto the canal at the front of the house but all 3 rooms look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We agree with everything said on the 1st April review. We will stay here again. Need to book well in advance tho! The breakfast was delicious, blueberries, strawberries, mango etc.lovely patries too. Having the breakfast delivered to our room was so relaxing. Having dtayed in a "corporate" hotel in London enroute made us resolve to look for great B&B's more often.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

After a 10 hour plus flight, airport baggage mishaps, I arrived at the Posthoorn 3 hours past my scheduled time. The B&B is not on the normal bus route from the airport. I was lucky that the bus driver saw my dismay and 55 minutes later I was at the postcard view buliding. Francios , the owner ,gave me a choice of two rooms. The downstairs flat, with its seperate outside entrance is very steep ( if u have large luggage as I did, it would be cumbersome), the room is clean but a bitt to confining for my taste. Also a little musty odor was present. The other room available is on the main floor and at the back with an outside garden view . The moment I walked in I felt I was at home. You go thru a small kitchenette area, then enter a hugh room with a queen bed,large sofa,and wall to wall windows that bring in the light ( even on a rainy day) ,an updated modern bath and no outside noise. The room has a TV ,comfortable bed, a window/door that goes to the small terrace with table and chairs , the small kitchenette with ample supply of coffee, cream, wine,beer and soda are all u need for a few days of rest .

I do want to add that their was no phone, no "tolietries" as u would receive at a regular hotel, but u do have a regular size liquid soap and shampoo .ALso ,do not forget your travel book/papers regarding the area . Franscios was limited in the "tourist" info stuff but he did have a map thus I was able to navigate thru out the city with ease. On that note, the positive things for the location of this B & B is that I was able to go a fantastic flea market that was right accross the canal and I purchased wonderful goods . They have this market every Monday!!! ALso ,the area has many local bakers, cheese stores, fresh food markets ,candy stores and of course the ample pubs/restaurants. plus the palce is clean,private and historical . I would return again ,only to book the same room or the front room with a view of the canal.

If you like to shop ,have too much luggage to dragg on the cobbble stone streets to catch local transport & thus have to use private trtansport ,bring one moderate size lightweight wheeled bag ,then u can use the local transport to the airport ( save your money for local goods ).

ENjoy your stay

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

This place was a really pleasant surprise. The rooms were beautifully decorated, spacious, comfortable and clean. The room we stayed in was more like a studio flat with a small kitchen area and breakfast bar. Breakfast was delivered each morning at our requested time and was excellent, consisting of breads, croissants, fresh fruit, yoghurt, fresh squeezed OJ etc... Coffee and tea facilities are in the room including an espresso maker. The owner was very helpful and friendly, clearly taking great pride in what he does. Location was perfect too. Just in the edge of the Jordaan, it was 10 minutes brisk walk to Central Station with lots of small cafes and bars on the doorstep yet did not seem like a tourist trap. Most of the main attractions were within 30 minutes stroll along the canals. Much better than any hotel we could have chosen. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On one of the most beautiful Amsterdam canals, the PRINSENGRACHT, you will find THE POSTHOORN, an Amsterdam Canal house with 3 charming rooms.Imagine having an unforgettable stay in a historical 17th century canal house, right opposite of the most popular area of Amsterdam, THE JORDAAN. You will find most points of interest within walking distance of the house and there is an abundance of small pubs, cozy restaurants and shops all around you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Posthoorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.