We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soen

Soen
Prinsengracht 178, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #322 of 2,314 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We went here based on reviews and the fact it was very convenient to where we were staying. We ordered dishes with two flames out of three on spiciness level and it was spicy but not too much. The food was very good and definitely worth the stop for dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    27
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved it here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across this place by chance on a Friday night. Luckily got a table and what a treat for us. Starters of fish cakes and tartars(burgers) were beautifully spiced and as good as I've tasted. Main courses were very generous and had a real kick to them. Great service to boot. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Casual Thai, canal side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

great little Thai place on the Prinzengracht (canal) near the Anne Frank House. Food is prepared in the basement and carried up to the simple wood floored dining room. Food is reasonably priced and very good. The service was efficient and friendly.

Good place to drop in while exploring the city for a nice lunch or dinner that won't break the bank.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“If you're ever in the Jordaan area ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

... try this restaurant. Nicely positioned overlooking the Prinsengracht, it's very relaxed, frequented by locals and serves goodly sized portions of tasty and not too expensive food.

The beef salad was beautifully spiced and contained lots of tender beef. The green curry would satisfy two people, especially if you'd already taken a starter. The curry was standard fare but did not disappoint, although it was a little too sweet. Soen keeps Leffe on tap, which I consider a perfect accompaniment to Thai cuisine. Oh, and the staff were very pleasant and efficient.

All in all, it's the kind of establishment I'd be proud to own.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Made a note of a few highly rated restaurants but these were all fully booked, carried on walking and came across Soen. It was busy and obviously popular, but we managed to get a table and were served by the most efficient and friendly waitress of our trip so far. The food was deliciously flavoured and spiced, nicely un-fussy and good sized portions. Best Thai meal I've had in a long time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Soen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.