We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soen

Soen
Prinsengracht 178, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #496 of 2,463 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Very tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The three dishes my wife and me ordered (shrimp fishcakes, shrimp tom yam & tofu dish with white rice) were excellent. Service was pleasant and effective.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    38
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here last night, location on the trip advisor map is on wrong side of bridge.
When we walked in , it didn't look like a Thai restaurant but when the food arrived, all doubts were dispelled. Simply excellent food. Best restaurant we were in during our 4 days.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Thai Meal on Prinsengracht”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were looking for something a little different after 9 days in Belgium and Holland and decided Thai food would be a nice change of pace. We also needed something close to Boom Chicago so we could make it to an 8:30 show. We lucked out with Soen Thai! The food was tasty and very reasonably priced. The service was friendly, the chicken was tender and the giant metal containers of rice were a fun touch. Would definitely return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Went here due to location and good reviews here. The good ratings are more than justified. Excellent and reasonably priced food. Friendly and efficient service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Nice Thai restaurant by the canal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

It was a recommendation by our friend and we figured is only a block from our rented flat. We have great entree and the main course quite nice. Not exactly as great as Thai that I have been eat and cook occasionally but nevertheless still a recommended one

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Soen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.