We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Free Walking Tour !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Special Walking Tours !

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Special Walking Tours !
Borssenburgstraat 4-3e, 1078VC, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 197 Tours & Activities in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Japanese Tour Only. As it has such a compact center, Amsterdam is the perfect place to explore on foot.
Lyon, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Free Walking Tour !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I did the free walking tour with Julian (He's an Aussie who lives in Amsterdam...now ain't that funny ?) But that guy is GREEEEAT !!! He's so funny ! He puts life into the tour, so you dont feel like you're juste being bored stiff to death with information !

I learnt so much on that tour that i never would have learnt on my on walking through Amsterdam. It was really a pleasure ! Also, i met a lot of people who were travelling on their own too, and we ended up having our little night out together

Julian, if you read this : Dank je !

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“New Amsterdam Walking Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Took the free new Amsterdam Walking tour in April. It was a large group so they split us into 2 groups of 30 each. It was a very enjoyable walk for 3 hours that took in the Red Light District, the historical centre of Amsterdam, a cheese tasting, Anne Frank House and provided a good understanding of the history of The Netherlands.
Our guide was great (sorry forgot her name but she was Dutch/Canadian) and she made it an enjoyable and pleasant experience.
Perhaps for those who were a little put out with all the information on the Red Light District they may have wanted to reverse the order of the tour and allow those who did not seem to be interested in this part (although it is part of Amsterdam whether someone likes it or not) to drop off the tour after the break.
Would like to say great value for money....except it was free!!!! So of course a tip to the guide is a must and definitely worth it.
Would recommend it as a great overview tour of Amsterdam!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“MARK - Perfect guide to amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I have been to Amsterdam a few times on business, but not seen much. Mark gave a fantastic guide as described in reviews of the other guides. Im sure theyre all great - in addition he gave a fascinating view of the recent history - absolutely made our stay.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Start your day off with a walking tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our guide, Tim, was so upbeat and informative. He made the 3 hour tour very interesting. You can't miss this tour. We did it on our very first morning there - fresh off the plane and it was a good start to our trip. Plus, they give you lots of inside tips and free sample of cheese and a Dutch sweet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We did a walking tour with Julian. He is just superb - informative (very very), hillarious and engagin.. Could not ask for more - learnt so much from him in just 3 hours!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Special Walking Tours ! also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Special Walking Tours !? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Special Walking Tours !, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.