We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #114 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From the minute we walked in the girl on reception could not be more helpful.The large room was lovely and modern with a comfortable bed and a great view of the canal. The cleanliness was 10/10 The hotel is not in the centre however this prompted us to explore more. The tram station is close (Tram apps I downloaded were very helpful) and a taxi from Leidseplein after a night out cost about 12 euro so it's not far out from the hot spots. I would recommend to anybody looking for a weekend break, I will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review!

It really is pure joy to read that your stay at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam was amazing! That is what we are ranking for.

Thank you so much for recommending our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    330
    156
    64
    44
See reviews for
86
321
35
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great hotel, 20 minutes by tram to the city center, no problems. The rooms were very good, the breakfast was first class and the staff were excellent. We left some items in our room on departure, contacted the hotel, and the receptionist, Suki, took ownership of our problem, got the items and posted them to my home address. They arrived 2 days later.
The only hiccup was when I asked for a Brandy at the bar, was told that they had none left and asked if i wanted a Cognac, absolutely !!!! Billed for 19.50 euro, ouch !!!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Mr. Eddie,

Thank you so much for your nice review.

I really enjoyed reading your feedback about your stay. Thank you for all your kind words and positive feedback. I will make sure that Suki will be informed about this.

I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam upon a future visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spend 6 nights there, it was walking distance from Amsterdam Rai, we were atending a show there. Hotel is very nice, clean, the view from restaurant, lobby and some rooms its so spectacular. I definetely recomend this hotel for any purpose of your visit in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear sir,

Thank you for leaving a review about your stay.

I really appreciate the nice comment about the view on the canal and the decoration of the general areas. The view on the canals reflects the typical Amsterdam surrounding.

It is great to read that you recommend our hotel to other travelers!
I hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My stay at the hotel started good when I was assisted with a smiling and effective staff at the reception. The room was very clean and big enough. Add to that the reasonable price per night, and you get my five star review. You should take the 5 or 24 tram to get to midtown and takes about 20 minutes. The tram charges €7.5 for 24 hours, or €3 per ride.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear sir,

What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and had a good time in the city of Amsterdam.

Thank you for sharing the correct public transport options with other travelers.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is in a generally quiet residential area on one of the many wonderful canals in Amsterdam. Away from the "touristy" areas, but a short taxi or tram ride and you are in the heart of the city center. Family friendly on weekends and full of business travelers during the week. They have improved the service in the restaurant and bar since the last time I was here in May. Great breakfast buffet. The hotel rooms (at least on the 5th floor) are spacious, modern, and clean. Fitness center is currently under renovation. Recommend this hotel, I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review!

It is very good to read that you liked the location, breakfast and the hotel room.

The fitness centre is currently under renovation, but the reception can be contacted for an alternative.

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel to others, and we are looking forward to welcome you again to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband, three children (all teenagers) and I stayed in the Wyndham Apollo for four nights at the end of July this year after more than a week of hotel-hopping that included trips to Antwerp, Bruges and Brussels so we were pretty much "citied" out by the time we reached this hotel. First impressions were not favourable; it looked like an office block and was next-door to a filling station. However, things looked up once we entered the building - nice, bright airy lobby and even though it was very busy at reception, the girl who booked us in was very welcoming, friendly and efficient. We had got a very good deal on a rooms-only basis and had planned to go out for breakfast each day as the 25 Euro price per person was going to be very expensive, but happily, the hotel was doing a half-price deal over the weekend so we signed up for that, which turned out to be a godsend. After days of traipsing around cities and eating out for most meals, going down for breakfast every morning was an absolute pleasure. The restaurant overlooks the water and it was so relaxing to sit there and watch small boats go by and feel as if you were part of the waterway itself. The food was very good, lots of variety, hot and cold meats, loads of fresh fruits and delicious pastries - really set us up for the day. If you can get the breakfast deal, go for it!
The bedrooms themselves were very spacious, clean and comfortable - nice toiletries provided and tea/coffee-making facilities. Despite being on a busy road, the hotel was very quiet (and I am very sensitive to noise) both inside and out; the sound-proofing must be top-notch! Another really nice thing about this hotel is the terrace leading off from the bar. We sat out here most evenings after coming in from city restaurants and it was a veritable oasis - so calming to sit there and have a drink after a busy day. While we all loved the buzz and vibrancy of Amsterdam, we all agreed that it was lovely to get away from the hustle and bustle. I had been a bit concerned about being out of the city, however, the tram stop is a short walk away and it was really cheap, easy and convenient to hop on and off the trams to get in and out of the city centre plus we felt we got to know Amsterdam much better. My husband and kids also rented bikes from the hotel and spent a morning cycling around the city, which they loved.
Finally, when it was time to go home, being able to book a shuttle bus direct from the hotel to Schipol was a bonus - it was only 30 Euros or so and took no more than 15 minutes door-to-door.
All in all, the Wyndham Apollo was a great find and we all loved it. It's not the most grand or plush hotel in the world, but we loved it and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms seem to be among the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for your extensive review about your stay and the tips for a nice stay in Amsterdam.

What a pleasure to read your review of your stay with us. Thank you for all the kind words.
I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay this much.

It's great to know that you will return as our guests!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.