We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great for a weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #103 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great for a weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I Managed to book this hotel on Hotwire for £68 per night. Its located just a 10 minute walk from the nearest tram station (which is the best way to get around) and a 15/20min walk from the famous RijkMuseum, Van Gough Museum and the Bols Experience. The hotel offered full buffet cooked and continental breakfast for €12.99pppn. We bought this and worked out that we could probably skip lunch having a large breakfast. Very nice to have breakfast on the canal balcony. The breakfast service was very busy so recommend an early start for that. The rooms were really clean and tidy and well equipt with a good size bathroom. Everything you'd expect from a £68/£70 a night room. If your prepared to walk a little and/or tram through your stay then you won't be disappointed. It's €7.50 each for a 24hour tram ticket. I'd recommend downloading the POCKET AMSTERDAM app - this tells you where all the routes travel and is a map also. It's a 20 minute walk or 5 min tram ride into the main town or Dam Area. The reception staff were very quick and professional and a great help to get us started on our trip and organised a taxi for us to leave.
NOTE - I didn't know this hotel has a Shuttle bus Taxi service from Schipol Airport which is free and it's €7 each for a hotel to Airport shuttle and book all of this in advance.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear sir/madam,

This is one of these reviews that put a smile on my face. Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and had a good time in the city of Amsterdam.

We definitely hope to welcome you back in our hotel so we can assist you again in making your journey a success.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    288
    141
    57
    39
See reviews for
78
292
33
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

hotel excellent, friendly, helpful staff, close to everything.
Restaurant to die for!! Best food ever tasted. Exquisitely presented and taste. Fell in love with the serving person and chef - they gave us extra little tasting bits that were divine. Wonderful culmination of 4 weeks in Europe, far away for NZ. Would heartily recommend hotel and restaurant. we watched Netherlands get into the semis in the world cup. Good on you!

Antipodeans xxx

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear madam,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about our hotel.
I'm delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations! As a Hotel Manager I'm proud to have such dedicated team members, I will share your comments with all of them!

Thank you very much for complementing our restaurant La Sirene!

We hope to welcome you in the future once more!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel was ok but not very good value. The facilities are average. You can't rely on the prices quoted in the comparison websites in regard to this hotel as there are quite a few extra charges tacked on to the final bill.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your feedback is very important to us and your information will be used to improve our service.

I am quite surprised to hear about any extras on your final room bill. The only additional charge that I can come up with is the local city tax, which needs to be paid to the municipality of Amsterdam.
The city tax in Amsterdam is 5.5% and is charged by all hotels/hostels. It is a tax which needs to be paid for by anyone staying in Amsterdam (that is not registered as living here), so also for Dutch residents that do not live in Amsterdam. I am sorry if you were not informed about that. Also, I would like to inform you that this is charged by the local municipality, not by the hotel itself.

In case you have any questions or remarks, please do feel free to contact me directly at the following e-mail address: mt.wyndham@apollohotelsresorts.com.

I hope to welcome you again upon a future visit.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Excellent hotel for a stay in Amsterdam. Public Transit is nearby, the museum area is a few minutes by tram, and central Amsterdam is only another 10 minutes or so. The hotel has a fantastic buffet breakfast, a wonderful setting for your meals or simply for a drink or a coffee. The hotel staff is excellent and even allowed me to check in 3 hours early! That was a relief. I was even upgraded to an executive room at no extra charge! The room was very lovely with plenty of space, a nice chair for relaxing and a well appointed bathroom. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and have no problem recommending it to everyone!

Room Tip: Try to get one with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear mr. Charles S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel.

What a compliment you were over the moon with our hotel. We are always happy to help you with all your questions and requests during your stay, we are glad you have enjoyed the service from our staff.

Once again thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. We will do our utmost to make your stay memorable in a positive manner.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Brilliant stay, very helpful staff. Such a lovely place to relax after a busy day in the historic city
excellent service! the new room are beautiful and very convenient.Very near to all the attractions
beautifully located on the canals.In the summer they have a great terrace to enjoy the summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear sir/madam,

What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.

We are also very proud of our location and the great views on the canals!

I sincerely hope to welcome you again in the near future, when your travels bring you back to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Wyndham Apollo for two nights from 3rd August. We had booked online and mentioned on the booking form that we were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. We flew into Schipol and landed at around 7pm, unfortunately the free shuttle bus to the hotel from the airport had stopped running for the day so we had to pay €34 to reach the hotel... But that was our only disappointment!
On arrival we were given an upgrade to an executive room on the ground floor, overlooking the canal... A stunning view to wake up to in the morning! We went for a walk that evening and easily discovered the museum district, about 15 mins away from the hotel. The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area with stunning walks around the nearby canals. Next morning, after a lovely 'all you can eat' breakfast the concierge advised which tram (5) to take to Anne Frank's house - the only thing was, we never did discover how to pay for the team ride! We rather sheepishly got off and never used the tram again... But we didn't need to, so much walking but Amsterdam is best viewed on foot!
We returned in time for drinks on the veranda as the sun set... Absolutely beautiful! And the drinks are reasonably priced too... €19 for 4 medium beers with delicious snacks.
All of the staff were very helpful, cheery and enthusiastic. On our last morning, after another filling breakfast watching the boats go by, we were able to leave our bags in secure storage to explore once more before catching the return hotel shuttle to the airport.
The hotel is ideal for exploring the city. Yes, it's a little way out, but you can easily stroll from Dam Square back in around an hour. The room was stylishly decorated and furnished, the bed was huge and comfortable... But my best memory will be that view over the canals... Worth it just for that!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your detailed review about your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and our location.

I would like to congratulate you and your husband on your 20th wedding anniversary. It has been an honor to have you staying with us on such an important occasion.

It is nice to hear that the hotel met up all your expectations and that you had a great stay in Amsterdam. In addition we would like to express our gratitude for complementing our staff. It is our passion to deliver the best possible service every day again and guest compliments are the best motivation to strive to improve continuously.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kish Island, Iran
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Location :
Within 5-7 minute walk, you can reach the BRT station and from that station you can easily travel around the city.
The hotel is located in a very quiet and cozy area, calm and clean in front of a beautiful lake or river of water channel - whatever it is, it is pretty. You can have your HOLLANDIAN breakfast while enjoying this scene.

Room Tip: Go for waterfront rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Ladonni,

Thank you so much for writing a review about your stay.
Starting the day with a healthy breakfast is a good start of the day, especially when you have a nice view on the canals around our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.