We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, Daft and Dutch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #117 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delightful, Daft and Dutch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a delightful hotel to stay in, though the architecture is a bit daft in my view, being built in almost a semi circle on the ground floor, making it slightly odd.....but never mind. This hotel is right on the canals...actually a junction of 3 canals meet making for a real Dutch setting. Breakfast by the canal is lovely. The hotel is not city centre but is in a very pleasant neighbourhood that is quite residential. Restaurants are about 10 minutes gentle walk away as is the tram stop...with a frequent service to the city centre. The rooms are very nice and well appointed. The staff are very helpful and very friendly indeed. My only concern is the showers tend to flood the bathroom floor.

Room Tip: 6th floor facing the front is a good choice for a nice view over the city and canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear davepat77,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel.

The comments about the view and the location of the hotel made me smile and I can only agree on that point. The view on the canals gives us every day a living painting.
We always try to make every stay a memorable stay! I am so happy to read you are very impressed with the hotel and the staff!

Your comment about the shower has been discussed and and directly improved where possible.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    319
    154
    63
    44
See reviews for
83
313
35
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a 2 night break at Wyndham Apollo. I was a little disappointed to find our room (32) was on the ground floor right next to lifts but once we got into the room it was modern, clean and noise from the lifts was minimal. The shower head was placed in a rather unusual place meaning you had to stand right in the corner of the bath to avoid drenching the floor (my partner learnt this the hard way and on our first night managed to leave about an inch of water on the bathroom floor!). The door handle to the bathroom was also quite loose and wouldn't allow you to shut the door. This was fine for us but I'm not sure everyone would be comfortable with sharing a room where the bathroom door doesn't close! We also found the bed quite hard and woke up aching like we'd slept on wooden boards.
However, I can't fault the reception staff. They were very helpful at check in and also storing out bags and booking the shuttle for the airport. The shuttle was very convenient and saved us heading back into the centre to catch the train. We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that but we saw the price and thought that was expensive.
Overall I think that the hotel is getting there, but just needs a bit more TLC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hotel is located nicely and tram lines 5 and 24 stop is nearby and takes you to the city center and to all main attractions easy.
Breakfast was also very good at the hotel and you can even sit outside by the marina and enjoy eh morning and breakfast on the terrace.

Parking was quite expensive - 30 EUR / day. But i guess that is about the normal rate in Amsterdam.
Free WiFi was working very well.

There was one unpleasant surprise. When checking my credit card bill after the trip I noticed the hotel had charged something from the minibar, even if I told the receptionist we had not used the minibar during our stay - that's why I give just three points on the service

Room Tip: We had room 634, which is an executive room with canal view and on the top floor. We thought it woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear sir/madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us. I'm delighted to read your positive comments on Tripadvisor.

The fee to park your car is in line with the parking fees in the neighborhood. The hotel offers parking for €4 per hour with a maximum of €35 per 24 hours. The concierge department is more than welcome to inform you about all other parking facilities in the near surrounding (distance and prices). Please contact the concierge department for your next visit.

I am very sorry to hear about the mini bar charge. If you will contact our front desk at 0031-20 6735 922 we will be happy to refund the charge. My sincere apologies for this inconvenience.

We do hope to get the chance to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just got back from a stay in the Wyndham Apollo and really enjoyed it. We had a room on the 6th floor overlooking the river with great views over Amsterdam. Room was modern, spacious, clean and really comfortable with all the facilities you would expect nowadays and free wifi throughout also thrown in too. I guess if I was being picky it would have been nice if the hotel was a bit closer to tram stops and more in the centre as you do have to walk 10-15 mins to the nearest line which will take then take you on to the centre of Amsterdam. This takes another 20-25 mins. The hotel however is in a nice quiet location so ideal for getting away from the hustle and bustle. Worth mentioning they also run a shuttle service to the airport. It cost us 7 euros each to get back and was worth every penny as it took the stress out of carrying out luggage across the city and getting a train.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartasesti
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Very good services and excellent location!
My only comment would be that the equipment and style of the hotel is not very uptodate, but that was my first trip to Amsterdam, so I don't have much to compare.
I would come back to Wyndham next time too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Mr. Florin T,

What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.

I would like to inform you about the updating of the rooms, we have recently renovated a part of the hotel and in the near future we are renovating the rest of the hotel.

We are looking forward welcoming you upon a future stay in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The kingsize suite 108 is a great room! You overlook the canal outside your room. Very quiet room. The staff is the main reason to return, from the bell hop to the bartender. Very classy and professional.

Room Tip: First floor rooms on the canal side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear mrs. Cmp1130,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We will share your lovely comments about the staff with them. It is our passion to deliver the best possible service every day again and guest compliments are the best motivation to strive to improve continuously.

We hope to welcome you again soon at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.