We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really just a lovely place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #105 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Loch Lomond
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really just a lovely place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just back from a weekend in Amsterdam with my wife, we stayed at the Wyndham Apollo. We both had an amazing time, both in the city of Amsterdam and at the Apollo hotel. The hotel sits on the Apollo canal and has a small marina next to the restaurant, we sat at in the evening and had dinner in the sun with boats passing on the canal, very relaxing. Our room was very spacious, clean and cool thanks to the air conditioning. I would definitely pay a bit extra and go for a suite, especially a canal facing one, sitting in the room at night with the balcony door open watching the water activity is awesome.

The hotel is a little bit south of the city centre, however, the number 5 or 24 trams are very close and take you there in around 10-15 minutes.

Room Tip: Go for a suite facing the canal, it will make your trip very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Bobsa31,

This is one of these reviews that put a smile on my face! Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your room and its facilities.
The view on the canals reflects the typical Amsterdam surrounding, which we are very proud of!

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam upon a future visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    287
    141
    56
    39
See reviews for
76
292
33
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Quite good value for money for what it offered.
It is conveniently located from the airport (30 minutes on public transport), and 20 minutes walk to the museum district in Amsterdam.

There is a nice park nearby, which is a great visit in the morning, and the surrounding environment is quite, with the hotel actually standing on a confluence of canals, so if you had the right room, I assume the room would be great, but this can be enjoyed from the bar downstairs.

Rooms are clean, nice spacious bathroom.
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Carioca500,

Thank you very much for your lovely review!
I am very happy to hear that the hotel met up your expectations and that you have enjoyed your overall stay.
In addition I would like to express my gratitude for complementing our staff.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer –General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed at the Wyndham Apollo for two nights and asked if we could upgrade to a balcony room but we were given a patio room which was even better! We could sit outside each morning right by the canal and relax before heading out for the day. Was a little worried about the distance to the centre of Amsterdam but the tram stop is only a five minute walk away from the hotel which takes you wherever you want to go. The only issue we had with the hotel after the first night was the lack of tea and coffee available in the room but after a call made to concierge they came down with more tea and milk and the cleaner left extra for us that day, as a Brit it's vital to have a couple of cups of tea in the morning before you can face the day! The staff at the hotel were very friendly and gave us great directions to all the places we wanted to visit - they gave us a good tip about visiting the Anne Frank House, always go after 6pm to avoid the ques! Amsterdam is a fabulous city, it has everything, fantastic shops, restaurants, bars - would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Kathryn C,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

I am very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your room so much. I understand that a cup of tea is very important to start your day. Our team members are more than happy to bring you more tea bags.

Once again thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. We will do our utmost to make your stay memorable in a positive manner.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Very nice hotel, large rooms, nice bathrooms. The breakfast was excellent in the restaurant overlooking a beautiful canal. The hotel is a ways from the red light district but we were easily able to walk to and from. Stayed here with a group of 8 friends, we walked down to the local grocery store bought couple bottles of wine, cheese and baguettes and sat out in the grass on the canal across the street from the hotel, loved it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear girllovestotravel,

Thank you for your review about your stay and the tips for a nice stay in Amsterdam. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay this much.

The comments about the view and the location of the hotel made me smile and I can only agree on that point. The view on the canals gives us every day a living painting.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

very friendly staff
quiet location with good access to public transportation
clean and comfortable rooms
gorgeous view to adjacent canal
bathtub side very high - difficult to step into - bathtub very slippery

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Lynn A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay.

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We will share your lovely comment about the staff with them.

Thank you for leaving the nice comment about the view on the canal and the decoration of the general areas. The view on the canals reflects the typical Amsterdam surrounding.

Your comment about the bath tub I will discuss, to see how we can improve this.

I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam upon a future visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Hotel.de so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.