We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but restaurant service was slow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #103 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but restaurant service was slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is very nice, modern, clean, and a great location overlooking one of the many canals. The front desk staff and various concierge staff were very nice and eager to help us. This is not a downtown location, and it is not walking distance to downtown but easy to take the tram or a taxi there. The quality of the food at the restaurant was very good, and the breakfast buffet was among the best I've had in any European hotel. However... the restaurant and bar service staff were awful - took forever to get a drink and to get our dinner (the place was nearly empty), and the wait staff for the breakfast buffet was so bad - tables were not cleared off so there was no where to sit, and when we finally did get a seat we had to wait forever (or at least it felt that way) to get a pot of coffee.

Room Tip: They have rooms with a view of the canal and rooms with a street view (choose based on price).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear TheATLPrinces,

Thank you for taking the time writing a review. We are always happy to help you with all your questions and requests during your stay, we are glad you have enjoyed the service from our staff.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed the food which was served at the restaurant, however I am very disappointed to hear that your experience with the restaurant staff did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope that we may welcome you back one day.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    274
    137
    56
    39
See reviews for
73
282
33
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very nice hotel and super helpful staff.
The parking was 35 euros a day apart from Sunday though, not horrendous but can soon add up. I would recommend this hotel to a friend and may well book it up when I next pop over to the Dam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Bigal6660,

Thank you very much for your nice review.

I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

The fee to park your car is in line with the parking fees in the neighborhood. The hotel offers parking for €4 per hour with a maximum of €35 per 24 hours.

It is so good to hear that you would recommend our hotel to others!

Thank you so much for your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guimaraes, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excelent views the amesterdam canals.
Fantastic breakfast with delicious chocolate muffins, sublime oranje juice, excelente variety of fruit allowing the breakfast to be healthy and at the same time really enjoyable.
Very comfortable rooms and very quiet atmosphere.
I had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear RitaBapti,

What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.

Starting the day with a healthy breakfast is a good start of the day, especially when you have a nice view on the canals around our hotel.

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

When we booked this hotel on line we were led to believe it was 4 star with modern rooms and high quality service. We were staying for three nights on 24 May 2014 for our wedding anniversary. On arrival we were greeted with a luxurious reception area which had all the hallmarks of a high quality hotel. We were allocated Room 20 which we then found to be on the lower ground floor. When we entered the room we were overcome with a strong stench of damp!! Not only this but the decor was shabby with badly soiled carpets. We opened the patio doors to let the smell out only to be greeted by a brick wall. When we asked for another room we were blankly told there were no other rooms available. We had to suffer three nights in this hotel room which resulted in chest and nasal problems. Overall we are very disappointed with our experience of the Wyndham Apollo Hotel. So if you do decide to stay at is hotel please avoid rooms 17 to 26 as they are no more than the Hotel's Basement!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

A good hotel, slightly outside of the center, slightly expensive and a small fitness center. The personnel is a bit cold but maybe due to the national character :-) Otherwise, the breakfast is good and the overall package can be recommended for business.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Alexandre,

The Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

I am very happy to read that you would recommend our hotel to other guests.
Thank you for staying with us, and I hope to welcome you back anytime.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had a one night stay for my boyfriends birthday in the second week of May. We had a nice room with a great canal view! The room was totally new, spacious with a nice bath tub. The staff at the front desk and restaurant were really friendly, especially the night receptionist Ali was really friendly and helpful. He is very resourceful, as he gave a lot of information about the hotel, services and area. He is the best example of someone who can really make your arrival experience five star. Thumbs up for the staff.

Room Tip: Executive room is great! Breakfast is also very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Grey2490,

Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your room and its facilities.
It is our passion to combine the best facilities with great service in order to make successful and memorable stays possible for our guests. Thank you again for confirming that we succeeded in that.

How nice that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and of course the city Amsterdam especially for your special occasion. I will certainly pass on your kind words to Ali!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I had a great stay at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel. The rooms are beautiful and the staff was very friendly and efficient. We arrived with a group of 9 persons and the rooms were already checked in, so we didn't have to wait.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Dominique V,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about our hotel!

It was a pleasure having you as our guests. Hopefully you will return someday back to the lovely city of Amsterdam and our hotel. I will share your kind words with the staff.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Hotel.de and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.