We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel in suburb but 35 Euro to park....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #115 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amersham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel in suburb but 35 Euro to park....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We booked this hotel, which was excellent value for money for a 4 star hotel in Amsterdam, because it had parking. It was a bit of a shock to find it was 35 Euro per night to leave your car in the hotel's own surface car park - scandalous! Nothing was mentioned when we booked either.

Having said that, the hotel is 10 mins walk from the tram stop with 2 routes into the city centre. It is in a quiet canal-side location and the rooms are very nice. We were upgraded to a suite, which had everything you could want in a hotel room plus peace and quiet.

We did not sample the breakfast at 22 Euros.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Tom H,

The Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

Amsterdam is unfortunately one of the most expensive cities to park your car. The fee to park your car is in line with the parking fees in the neighborhood. The hotel offers parking for €4 per hour with a maximum of €35 per 24 hours.

I am happy to see that you have enjoyed your overall stay !

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    269
    139
    55
    39
See reviews for
57
254
29
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Staying at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel in Amsterdam is an excellent choice for the traveller. The hotel is super clean, most rooms are newly done but its excellence wrests with its employees. To mention only a few, Linda and Kim from the front desk and Frits from the restaurant stand for the rest of them: all are super friendly and accommodative. It is my home away from home and I love them all. If I not there I am missing them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Mr. HeinzAbs,

Thank you very much for leaving a review about your stay with us.

I am so glad to read that you have noticed the efforts our staff makes to make our guests feel at home. I will certainly pass your kind words on to them!

I hope to welcome you back soon to Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, your home away from home.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

People make a great hotel and the kindness of staff ,Gilbert was very helpful and understood the importance of great smiles to carry us through the day and so were other staff .Easy to get to the centre and close to museums.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear John B,

Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review!

I will share your feedback with our entire team and Gilbert in particular. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you back as our guest in the near future!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel has good food and service. There are many options for those with dietary restrictions. The restaurant and bar look out onto the canal, which is a great view. We were able to hire a private canal boat for a tour and take us to our dinner destination. The hotel is located in the southern part of the city. It's a 10 minute tram ride into the old town and a 7 minute walk to the tram stop. The rooms are very small, but clean and modern.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear AG,

Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor!

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the service and the food in our restaurant La Sirène.

Thank you for all your kind words and positive feedback, it was a pleasure having you as our guest a couple of days.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Nice experience!!!! Close to tourism places, good and healthy breakfast, beautiful lobby and overall hotel. Rooms do not have Air Conditioner and are tiny; beds are twin. Service by employees are good, kindly and humbles, they bring attention to everyone to feel guests comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Charen M,

Thank you for granting us the maximum score!

There is a difference in size and facilities between the standard rooms, executive rooms and the Marina suites.

Also, I would like to inform you that all rooms do have an air conditioner.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you again !

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doorn, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We have spent 3 days here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff is extremely helpful. Whatever you need or if they can help they will. You can walk from the hotel within 15 min to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum and as the hotel is located on the water you can also organise boat trips etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear sir/ madam,

Thank you kindly for sharing your positive review about your stay with us.

I am happy to read that the hotel, it’s locations and it’s facilities have met your expectations. In addition, I would like to express my gratitude for complementing the staff.

I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam upon a future visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Myself and my sun stayed here in April it was kings day so very busy but we had a superb room overlooking the marina was great I have to thank hamid on the concierge who helped try and arrange a boat rental for us he was so helpful a credit to this hotel even telling us another party would be going to the airport and would we like to share a taxi with them above his duty also Linda on reception very helpful could not have done more to make our stay so good thank you hotel is out of town but this makes it special and a short walk along some pretty streets and u can get a tram , breakfast was good as well hotel can hire you a Scooter or bike

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear sir/madam,

What a pleasure to read your review of you and your son’s recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review, I am very thankful for your kind words.

I will make sure to pass on the compliments to the team members involved. Always nice to read great compliments about the staff as they are the true assets of this hotel.

Thank you so much for pointing out the hotel’s facilities!

I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam soon!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.