We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #104 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

A friend and I stayed at this hotel for a 4 day visit to Amsterdam, right from the start we were impressed with the staff, the room, the location. Our room was newly refurbished and our view over the canals was fabulous. The beds were comfy and cosy just what you need after a full day of sight seeing. The hotel location made it easy to walk to many attractions and the tram system was easy to navigate for those further away places. Eating and drinking in the hotel is on the expensive side, but you are within walking distance of so many great little cafe's and restaurants that this shouldn't be a problem. Suggest an IAmsterdam Pass, made travelling on trams a breeze and lots of little extra's make it worthwhile purchasing. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and fully intend on a return visit. Top tip be mindful of the bike paths easy to wander into and lots of near misses on the first day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear sir/madam,

What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us.
Thank you for sharing the correct public transport options with other travelers. The different day tickets for public transport are indeed a great deal as you can travel with all blue and white trams, busses and metros.

Also, I am very happy to note that you enjoyed our service provided by the employees.

Once again, thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    287
    141
    56
    39
See reviews for
76
292
33
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

my husband and I stayed here for four days in march the hotel is spotless the rooms lovely get one with a canal view -slightly out from centre but short walk takes you to centre musems etc- and the tram service is local and very frequent handy for returning to hotel in the evening-the staff were all very helpful and gave us good advice on directions to the tram stop and local restaurants-if you stay here try the gambrinus restaurant small but v good esp good value if you pick the two or three course speical--the breakfast was served in the lovely canal side dining room and there was plenty of choice -would stay here again really enjoyed out trip to amsterdam

Room Tip: request a canl view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Shirley B,

Thank you very much for leaving this nice review.

It was great to read that you found our hotel to be perfect for your needs. That is actually more than we could hope for.We really appreciate it.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, immaculate, with very helpful staff. Adaptors produced immediately when needed, luggage left when we checked out for no extra fee.
The rooms are very corporate, so is the style of the hotel. Midweek I can imagine it is full of people in Amsterdam for business reasons, any this is one of the only two negatives.......it was soulless, the other was it was expensive, the American breakfast was €27.
Ask for a room with a canal view, the views are lovely.
It's about 10 mins walk for the trams which will take you around the city, 2 stops to the Van Gough museum.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Charlie,

Thank you for leaving a review on TripAdvisor to share your experience in our hotel.

I regret to hear that the ambiance at the hotel did meet your expectations.

Besides the American breakfast buffet of EUR 22.50, we also offer a small “Coffee and Croissant” breakfast for EUR 9.50.

I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam upon a future visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The nicest staff I've ever come across in ANY hotel - everyone was so helpful and delightful! It was our first time visiting Amsterdam and the staff were always available and keen to offer assistance with getting around. The hotel was spotless and the location was great - 5 minute walk to the tram stop and then only a few stops to museums, shops, etc. The photos of the hotel don't do it justice - being right on the water with an amazing view from our room - it was absolutely perfect. We will definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear MJ R,

Thank you so much for this extremely positive review. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

In addition I would like to express my gratitude for complementing our staff. It is our passion to deliver the best possible service every day again and guest compliments are the best motivation to strive to improve continuously.

Thank you for choosing our hotel! It’s great to read that you will return! That’s the biggest compliment we can get!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I will definately be returning as me and my girlfriends stay was fantastic, the view was great and it was walking distance to the centre the only down side was the €35 a day parking.
Definately recommended.

Room Tip: Book early and most rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear David H,


Thank you ever so much for recommending our hotel!

How nice that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and of course the city Amsterdam.
The fee to park your car is in line with the parking fees in the neighborhood. The hotel offers parking for €4 per hour with a maximum of €35 per 24 hours.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.