We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel to stay in away from the center of Amsterdam but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #116 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Clonlara
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice hotel to stay in away from the center of Amsterdam but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

nice hotel to stay in away from the center of Amsterdam but only 10 mins away on the tram to center. 7 euros for a 24 hr day ticket on the tram . Need directions from the tram stop to the hotel as not easily located from the stop.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your feedback is very important to us and your information will be used to improve our service.

Thank you for sharing the correct public transport information with other travelers. The different day tickets for public transport are indeed a great deal as you can travel with all blue and white trams, busses and metros.
I'm sorry to read that you had some difficulties to find our location from the tram stop. We are now discussing internally how can improve this information.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
General Manager – Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    357
    170
    65
    47
See reviews for
99
358
35
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

On arriving in Amsterdam after an early flight we got a shuttle bus to hotel that only took 20 mins. We arrived at hotel to be greeted by friendly and very helpful staff. Our room was ready so checked straight in and were upgraded to a newly refurbished room looking out to canal and given free wifi.

Easy to get around. We chose to walk everywhere. Central Station and Damrak was about 1 hour walk.
Van gough museum and shops and restaurants only 20 mins walk.

A little bit out of main town but a lovely location.

When we came to check out the staff again could not be more helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Recommend to anyone

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear madam,

What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.
I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our service provided by the employees, one of our main focus points in our hotel.
It was a pleasure having you as our guests. Hopefully you will return someday back to the lovely city of Amsterdam and our hotel.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer – General Manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Do not book anywhere else. (Unless fully booked) This place is a value for money establishment that caters for the simple yet respectful things in life at a good price. With some communication before hand a private car could be arranged from the airport, meals are well priced and the WiFi was reliable. 4 mins walk to the #5 line gets you into town within 10 mins. 37 euro private car to airport and a convenient laundry for self service along the tram line ( kerkstraat - Behind Burger King and Bulldogs) Gone and Back in 90 mins and breakfast across the lane.

Room Tip: If you are unable to stay here... do not book the Hotel Mozart.... Stay at the CitizenM next 2 stops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear sir,

I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind and enthusiastic words. We are very happy to get 5 out of 5.
Thank you very much for pointing out our great location, there is so much to explore in the city of Amsterdam.
We definitely hope to welcome you back in our hotel so we can assist you again in making your journey a success.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
General Manager – Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Just spent 3 nights here whilst working at the RAI for the ISE Exhibition. I stayed in a Standard room which was fine. It was clean and tidy and the decor wasn't too bad either. My only grip about the room was that it didn't pick up Wifi which was a bit of a pain because I needed it for work and I had to keep going into the lobby to send and receive emails. Had the wifi worked I would have given 5 stars without a doubt.

I ate in the restaurant every night and the food was spectacular for the price. The service was top notch, I would definitely recommend the wine pairing, it was brilliant. Very well priced it was too.

Every member of staff I had contact with were helpful and extremely polite, this makes such a difference to the travelling guest I believe and I have nothing but praise for everyone at the Wyndham.

For me, the location of the hotel was perfect, just a ten minute walk in the morning to the RAI which was just what I wanted. If you were visiting Amsterdam to see the sights then there are closer hotels to the city but I just jumped in a cab and paid around Eur 20. I walked back which took about 40 mins but it was a very pleasant walk.

I will definitely use the hotel again but would have to insist on a room that has sight of the wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your stay in our hotel.

The fact that your write positively about each department, especially the F&B outlets, made me and the entire team smile. Serving with a smile and always willing to help are points of attention where we are always striving for.
The point of attention about the wireless internet has been discussed with our technical department and is progress to improve. I am so sorry that you had a bad connection during your business stay.

I hope that we may welcome you soon in the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, maybe next time for more leisure time?!

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager - Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.