We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well positioned, decent quality hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 14 more sites!
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, Amsterdam 1077 BA, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #118 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Biggar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“well positioned, decent quality hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Visited Amsterdam for our usual pre-Christmas break - normally we stay at the Bilderberg Garden but this year opted for the Wyndham Apollo.. Its location is excellent - we were attending an event at the RAI. positioned right on the canals, its lovely, with some nice restaurants nearby, and less than a 5 minute walk to a tram stop, where tram numbers 5 or 24 will take your right up into central station area.
Very friendly staff checked us in, and directed us to our room. Room was very well appointed, but a bit small. However it had a superb view of the canal, and the bathroom, whilst small, was very nice with a great powerful shower. Maybe a bit too powerful as every time we used it the floor was completely soaked. Did report it to reception and they tried some silicon sealant at the bottom of the shower door but it made no difference.
We didn't eat in the hotel at night, and only had breakfast there this morning - a bit expensive and really a bit average, also the breakfast staff were a bit surly, and all our plates were left uncleared i.e. fruit juice, yoghurt etc were left until the end of the meal - pity as all the other staff were excellent.
Overall a good standard and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    233
    123
    51
    36
See reviews for
53
225
27
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Since I am used to stay quite near the city center, I felt I was staying in the middle of nowhere; but un my case the location was accurate because I was suppose to attend meetings at the RAI convention center, 20 minutes walking from the hotel.
The rooms are average if you get to stay in the left side of the building, I was first assigned to yhe right side and the room eas literally a shoe box, much better once I complained and relocated.
Food is average and service too.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband booked a long weekend in Amsterdam as a surprise for my birthday & booked the Wyndham Apollo through Last Minute’s ‘Secret Hotel’ promotion. Last Minute.com falsely describe the secret hotel as ‘contemporary chic 4*’. Well this hotel is far from contemporary chic and very far from a 4*. I have never felt the urge to write a negative review before but this experience was so bad that I feel people should know about it.
When we arrived (on my birthday!) the reception and lobby area looked lovely, it has obviously been renovated and is really impressive. We were given a room on the ground floor and as soon as we opened the door the smell of cigarette smoke hit us. Probably a one-off is what we thought at the time so we went back to reception and asked for another room. We were given a second room on the ground floor and without exaggerating it was absolutely filthy. My husband actually took photos, but clearly there had been a problem with damp and hidden behind the bedside cabinets the wallpaper had gone rotten and peeled away from the wall. The bedside cabinets were stained and obviously hadn’t been cleaned — you could actually see finger print marks and stains on them. There were also about 3 flies which had been swatted on the walls & the net curtains had dead bugs stuck all over them.
At this point we called reception and said we needed another room and that they should ensure that the third room is clean! The third room we were sent to looked like it hadn’t been decorated since the seventies. The first thing we noticed when we walked through the door was a big hole in the carpet. Then we realised the curtains were ripped (majorly ripped) and the armchair in the middle of the room was worn down and tatty… as you can imagine by this point we were livid. We went down to reception and asked to speak to a manager. After some debate (the reception staff were quite defensive about it all even though you could tell they are used to dealing with complaints – they tried to steer us away from the main reception so that others wouldn’t overhear) they eventually said that they had a fully renovated room that they could give us. Finally, we walked into a completely different room which I would class as 4*.
It’s very clear that the Wyndam Apollo is going through a renovation project. Once it’s complete I imagine it will look ten times better. However, if they have renovated rooms that aren’t occupied it is unbelievable to me that they would send us to three different rooms that were horrible. The reception staff tried to pitch to us that the renovated rooms are not Standard Rooms (they are Executive Rooms) but that is nonsense. The final room we were in was clean but it was not an Executive Room. The insinuation that a standard room ought to be dirty, smelly & tatty & an Executive Room would be clean and chic is ridiculous.
If you were to book I would clarify exactly what kind of room you’ll be placed in and ask specifically whether it has recently been renovated.
Overall, probably the worst experience we’ve ever had with a hotel. We will definitely not be returning to the Wyndham Apollo.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Exceptional hotel... Very pleasant front desk staff... Received a beautiful executive room with a wonderful canal view! I will highly recommended it to all my friends! I am looking forward to my next visit. My compliments to the management!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

the location is very good, the rooms look beautiful, the beds were marvelous, but the reception service was inadequate. I expected better and was a bit disappointed. the staff in the breakfast area was very noisy. (friendly as well)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Wyndham Apollo Hotel
Address: Apollolaan 2, Amsterdam 1077 BA, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.