We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very spacious room but average services” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, Amsterdam 1077 BA, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #116 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Paris, France
2 reviews
“A very spacious room but average services”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the end of august in the Wyndham Apollo and booked through Expedia. Although I had different emails exchanged directly with the hotel when I booked (in July) I discovered that they didn't have the booking made for us when we arrived (bad surprise when you arrive at 22pm after you land at the airport). well they entered the registration onsite and let us to our room which was really really nice i must say. It was on the first floor (which is good because people staying on the 4th floor told us they were old fashion and not renovated over there). So nothing to say about that at all. Everything in our room was changed daily, so it seems taht the housekeeping was excellent. Before checking out though we had some issues again with the reception department as they didn't charge correctly the room, they thought we took things from the minibar (which we didn't) and made several mistakes on the invoices....The lady there took ages to understand which is a pity when you are in a 4 star Hotel really.
So my advise is check before your arrival that they DO have your booking even though it s confirmed and double check your account when your leave to make sure they don't charge something they shouldn't. A part from that, amazing room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. Your experiences at our hotel are very important to us. Your information will help us to improve our service.

Your nice comments about the room and cleanliness of the room is really appreciated. I will inform the Housekeeping team about your nice positve words.
I am very sorry to hear that your reservation was not found during your check in. Your trip to Amsterdam was for a special occasion and if we were informed correctly we could have add an extra special value to your booking.
Your points of attention about the financial part have been discusses with the Front Office team. Finishing and rounding off your payment should go quick and simple. I do apologize for the wrong financial information.

We hope that we have the opportunity to may welcome you back in the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager - Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    265
    136
    55
    39
See reviews for
57
247
28
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel was spotlessly clean and the rooms comfortable and of a high standard. The breakfast buffet was superb although rather pricey. Likewise with the bar - 6 euros a pint - but I cannot fault the staff in terms of their friendliness and willingness to help. The hotel is quite a way from the city centre, but the receptionist marked up maps for us and explained in detail the local tram routes and ticket prices, etc. It was overcast during our stay, but the location of the hotel on the water's edge is delightful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

The Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

It is our passion to combine the best facilities with personalized service in order to make successful and memorable stays possible for our guests. Thank you again for confirming that we succeeded in that.

We hope that we have the opportunity to may welcome you back in the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager - Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last year with my partner and we really enjoy the location and the room.
It was only for one night and we were not in the hotel a lot.

I would like to thank Marit for her service in getting me a receipt by adding an extra name.
She went the extra mile, and that is rare in a hotel in Amsterdam.

The person that we checked in with and the porter were also very friendly, although I forgot their names unfortunately.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Google Translation
Beste heer/mevrouw,

Hartelijk dank voor het delen van uw ervaring bij het Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. Uw mening is voor ons erg belangrijk en kan ons helpen een nog betere service te verlenen.

Ik ben blij om te horen dat u een prettig verblijf heeft gehad en dat alles naar wens is geweest. De positieve punten die u noemde over de behulpzaamheid van onze collega Marit en de service tijdens check in vind ik erg leuk om te lezen. Wat fijn dat u zo heerlijk heeft genoten.

Ik hoop u in de nabije toekomst nogmaals te mogen begroeten in het Wyndham Apollo Hotel.

Met vriendelijke groet,

Peter Heule
General Manager - Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hey look...

The hotel itself was okay. Rooms were small, but the place itself was clean. It was a bit out of the way but 15 minutes by tram to town.

The problem was that when we came to check out, we were informed that we had to pay THIRTY FIVE euros because we parked our car in the hotels gated carpark. Now, it did say that on the ticket we received, but I sadly don't speak dutch.

The issue is that this wasn't mentioned to us when we checked in DESPITE having given them our car registration! The receptionist could have mentioned that the car park wasn't owned by them, but instead, we had to pay 35 euros just to leave in the morning.

Well that sure put a dampner on the holiday. Thanks Wyndham Apollo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your comments will help us to improve our service.

I do hope that you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Although our hotel is located right outside the busy part of the city centre, all places of interest are within easy reach by foot or tram (stop located 5 minutes from the hotel). It is therefore unfortunate that we as hotel could not inform you well enough about the great location of the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. The hotel offers rental for bikes and scooters. Renting one of these items will give you the possibility to explore the city in your own tempo and on a typical Dutch way.
I am sorry that you experienced our car park as expensive. We try to inform all of our guest as good as we can, sorry that we could not do that better in your way. Parking your car in the city centre outside our parking lot is about €45 per day, the hotel offers parking for €35 per day. Ofcourse there are more parking facilities, please contact the hotel for your next visit. The concierge service can inform you about the parking possibilities including the tariffs.

Once more thank you for your comments. I hope that we may welcome you once more in the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager – Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks as part of a large group while working at the RAI. This hotel is reasonably big and therefore has all the facilites of a good 4 star hotel. But at the same time its location on the canal, the interior design, layout and the warmth of the service give it an almost family-run feeling. Try to get a room facing the water, preferably in the older section. Breakfast should not be missed, the bar area would be great in colder months and the terrace is delightful for drinks, lunch and evening meals. Would strongly recommend this as a far better and more 'human' option than most other places in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for you nice comments and positive words about our hotel, the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.
I find it nice to hear to you had an enjoyable stay in Amsterdam for two weeks. I will make sure that the full staff team is informed about your nice words!

We hope that we may welcome you again in the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam when you are visiting Amsterdam once more. Maybe the next time will be for leisure and not only for hard working in the RAI.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager – Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, Amsterdam 1077 BA, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.