We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Canal View, Calm Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #114 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    407
    180
    68
    48
See reviews for
112
395
40
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hey look...

The hotel itself was okay. Rooms were small, but the place itself was clean. It was a bit out of the way but 15 minutes by tram to town.

The problem was that when we came to check out, we were informed that we had to pay THIRTY FIVE euros because we parked our car in the hotels gated carpark. Now, it did say that on the ticket we received, but I sadly don't speak dutch.

The issue is that this wasn't mentioned to us when we checked in DESPITE having given them our car registration! The receptionist could have mentioned that the car park wasn't owned by them, but instead, we had to pay 35 euros just to leave in the morning.

Well that sure put a dampner on the holiday. Thanks Wyndham Apollo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your comments will help us to improve our service.

I do hope that you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Although our hotel is located right outside the busy part of the city centre, all places of interest are within easy reach by foot or tram (stop located 5 minutes from the hotel). It is therefore unfortunate that we as hotel could not inform you well enough about the great location of the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. The hotel offers rental for bikes and scooters. Renting one of these items will give you the possibility to explore the city in your own tempo and on a typical Dutch way.
I am sorry that you experienced our car park as expensive. We try to inform all of our guest as good as we can, sorry that we could not do that better in your way. Parking your car in the city centre outside our parking lot is about €45 per day, the hotel offers parking for €35 per day. Ofcourse there are more parking facilities, please contact the hotel for your next visit. The concierge service can inform you about the parking possibilities including the tariffs.

Once more thank you for your comments. I hope that we may welcome you once more in the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager – Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks as part of a large group while working at the RAI. This hotel is reasonably big and therefore has all the facilites of a good 4 star hotel. But at the same time its location on the canal, the interior design, layout and the warmth of the service give it an almost family-run feeling. Try to get a room facing the water, preferably in the older section. Breakfast should not be missed, the bar area would be great in colder months and the terrace is delightful for drinks, lunch and evening meals. Would strongly recommend this as a far better and more 'human' option than most other places in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for you nice comments and positive words about our hotel, the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.
I find it nice to hear to you had an enjoyable stay in Amsterdam for two weeks. I will make sure that the full staff team is informed about your nice words!

We hope that we may welcome you again in the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam when you are visiting Amsterdam once more. Maybe the next time will be for leisure and not only for hard working in the RAI.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager – Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byram, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Although very clean, you can tell the hotel is a older one and is in need of an upgrade. Hotel personnel was extremely nice and helpful. Breakfast buffet and bar excellent along with complimentary internet. Twin beds were stuck together(seemed like a full bed made into a twin bed with one headboard for both beds. a little to close for comfort if traveling with anyone other than significant other). All around it was average.

Room Tip: If traveling with a friend and need twin beds ask for roon with separate twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. Receiving feedback from guests will help us to improve our service and creating the best enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
The Wyndham Apollo Hotel offers different types and styles of rooms. In the category booked is always a possibility to choose for twin or double bedded beds. For the reception it is possible to change room type or bed type (based on availability). Please pass by the reception next time so we
can help you to find the best room suitable for you.

Our hotel is partly renovated and we are planning on renovating the rest of the hotel in the near future. Please note that all of our Executive rooms have been renovated already. The Executive rooms offer rooms with a view on the city or on the canals and are twin or double bedded.

I do hope you had en enjoyable stay in Amsterdam and that we may welcome you again in the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager - Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel as a mystery hotel, we were notified in advance of the trip as to where we would be staying, hotel looked good and we were happy.

My partner and I were taking the trip to mark a special occasion, I contacted the hotel twice to see if I could arrange extras twice they failed to respond.

Reception area was nice as was bar but the bar was expensive though it did have beautiful views across the canal.

We were booked for a room with garden view. We were given a tiny room with a view of a wall on the ground floor. Bathroom was tiny too, barely enough room to get in and shut the door. Room was also tired.

Customer service was lacking, breakfast expensive though the room was as clean as I would expect.

Overall disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

I am very sorry to hear that your requests made before arrival did not reached the hotel. Your trip to Amsterdam was for a special occasion and if we were informed in forehand we could have add an extra special value to your booking. I do apologize for this and will contact the agent where you have made your mystery booking.
The Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam offers different types of rooms with different views and styles. Please be informed that all our Executive rooms have been renovated recently and these rooms have a view on the canal or the city sight. When you have checked into a room which is not meeting up your expectations we can always see if other rooms are available.
Thank you for leaving the nice comment about the view on the canal and the decoration of the general areas. The view on the canals reflects the typical Amsterdam surrounding.

Once more I do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. I hope that we may welcome you once more into our hotel, the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam .

Kind regards,

Peter Heule – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgh le Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights. We had clean bedding every day. Our room was on the 6th floor with views over the canals and city. Very good blackout curtains and double glazed windows ensured we had a good nights sleep. The hotel staff were very helpful, with their knowledge of Amsterdam, and spoke very good English. The bar and restaurant were a bit pricey, so we ate elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and complimenting the service provided English by the staff . Your feedback is important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

Your comment about the prices of the bar and restaurant have been discussed with the restaurant.
Since August we serve a 3-course menu in our restaurant La Sirene for €36 per person. Our restaurant La Sirene recently received two good reviews of prestigious reviewers. The first review was given in the annual culinary magazine ‘De Lekker’ and the second review was given by Bib Gourmand.

I will make sure that everybody of the staff will be informed with your nice compliments. We hope that we may welcome you again in the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I reserved this hotel on a business trip as it was not far from my meeting. i arrived late after meeting and diner. The room had a nice view but this is the only positive thing about it. Furniture was old, the room basically outlived. i wanted to take a refreshment in the fridge but this was switch off and empty...
The mornng after, I discovered in my shower openned soap and shampoo bottles. I must however admit that the bathroom was clean.
After this, I decided to skip the breakfast, and went to check out. When I was asked if I used anything from the minibar and that I explained that it was empty, the only reply was a laugh and the remark: Well, I suppose it is difficult to take anything if it's empty....
All in all, this hotel is a catastophy, typically one that need a big refresh. If you have to be in Amsterdam, take a chance to anything else than this place, you'll surely be more satisfied
To end on a positive note, the location is nice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

The comments about the view and the location of the hotel made me smile and I can only agree on that point. The view on the canals gives us every day a living painting.
I am really sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet up your expectations. Your points of attention, like decoration of the room, the technical failures in the room and the service of all departments, have been discussed with the person in charge of the departments. The attention points which you mention are not our standard service where we stand for. The needed improvement points will be followed up.

I do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. I hope that we may have to change to welcome you again in our hotel to show you the service and facilities where we are striving for.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#111 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 859 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#183 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.