We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #105 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

724 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    270
    137
    54
    39
See reviews for
71
276
33
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel isn't going to blow you away with any particular thing. We stayed for three nights, they (like a bunch of other hotels) have pushed two twins together to make a double. We didn't get the breakfast, and our room size was pretty nice. Not a bad place at all. I will add the place is quiet to sleep, we didn't get disturbed once by outside noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights, staff are very friendly and helpful. Upgraded us to an executive room overlooking the canal with a stunning view. Very clean room. Tea and coffe making facilities, beautiful decour. No complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We found this hotel on I-net as a "wild-card" promo deal through one of the leading travel sites. Not getting into the details of the wisdom of doing that, so we arrived at the hotel worried what we got ourselves into. No need to worry though. The hotel stay was way over our expectations. Starting with a very nice sized room facing the canal, exceptionally comfortable bed, a nice bath and ending with very friendly staff, we left with a sense of regret of leaving the good thing behind. Location is a little too far for a foot-based exploration of the old city itself but the walk to #5 and #24 tram is about 4-5 mins and the walk to the museum is about 15-20 mins. The core of Amsterdam is just beyond that. The hotel offers bikes at 16E/day - a highly recommended option to go with when exploring Amsterdam. The surround area is near busy access roads loading to exits 108 and 109 off A10 but you'd never know it. There is NO noise to be heard. The canal views are pleasant as the hotel is located at the tip of a 5-canal intersection. The bar setting is very conducive to just sitting, and watching the boats go by over a glass of wine of beer. The only gripe to register is the general Amsterdam parking issue. The hotel offers own parking at 45E/day. Steep. The cheaper alternative is the P&R parking at the Olympic Stadium at 8E/day. The staff was a little shy in being able to help you to direct you to that alternative, even though in the end, it is only 4 stops away on the #24 tram. That alternative should be more forthcoming as a suggestion to travelers and directions to that should be more available.

Room Tip: A restful, easy choice of stay when passing through to explore Amsterday
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel was well situated on the junction of five canals. The accomldation was comfortable, room was clean as was the rest of the hotel. We found the drinks from the bar double the price of those in the centre of Amsterdam and they were stingy on the measures. The hotel staff were friendly and polite, however we asked three times for the mini bar to be restocked as on arrival, it was empty. Attention to detail is not their highest priority. We also had a leaking shower which despite us informing reception, the fault was not rectified! Would think twice about going to this hotel again.

Room Tip: When booking any hotel always read the traveller reviews!!! We did and found others also felt atten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. Your experiences at our hotel are very important to us. Your information will help us to improve our service.

I am really sorry to hear that the bathroom did not meet up your expectations. I have informed our technical department about your mentioned points. We will do our utmost best to repair the items as soon as possible. We have also informed our restaurant team about the refil of the minibar. We are striving to serve you directly and not after asking more then once, I am sorry that we could not keep up our promises.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had during your stay in our hotel. We hope that we may welcome you again in the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager - Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet area within walking distance to major tourist attractions and good restaurants. The staff is very friendly and professional. Definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, HotelsNL and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.