We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, Excellent view, convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #104 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Wellington, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, Excellent view, convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Recent business trip to Amsterdam in June (yeah, I know.. Poor me). I arrived early morning from a red-eye flight and the very nice person at reception (Ali) gave me a complimentary early check-in (which was great so I could catch a nap after a sleepless flight). The room was nice and a good size (especially for Europe which tends to have smaller rooms than the US). Even the pillows were comfortable (which I find rare at hotels). The view was of the canal which was a real treat. Hotel was walking distance to the RAI Convention center (good for business) and also to the Rijks Museum (good for R&R). The cafe at the hotel is nice and the people friendly.
All in all, I found this a good place to stay and will happily stay there again.

Room Tip: My room was in the tower (6 stories, but that's the tower) overlooking the canal. Really nice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    274
    137
    54
    39
See reviews for
71
280
33
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I booked this hotel through the lastminute.com 'Secret Hotels' scheme - where you don't know the name of the hotel until after you have committed to book. The guy in Dehli who dealt with the booking was very helpful in ensuring that the hotel I paid for was within walking distance of the Rijksmuseum, where I was working. Once I knew the name of the hotel, I sent an email saying that I would be checking in late. When I arrived around 10.30 pm, after a very long day at work and a flight, I was told that there were no rooms left because of a computer failure. I was offered an alternative room in another Wyndham hotel and specifically assured that the new hotel was the same distance from the Rijksmuseum. I was not treated with friendliness or compassion and waited about 20 minutes for a taxi. The taxi driver told me that this 'book out' happened frequently, it was not an isolated computer failure. Moreover, despite the receptionist's explicit assurances, the alternative hotel that I was taken to was in the west of the city, in an area I did not know or particularly like, and absolutely not within walking distance of the museum. When I was extremely assertive on arrival at the new hotel, a room was found for me back at the Wyndham Apollo and I was taken back there in a taxi. It was now close to midnight. The Wyndahm Apollo itself is architecturally pleasant and well situated, and some of the staff are clearly embarrassed by the practice of overbooking. Overall, however, apart from one young woman, my experience of the hotel was of a lack of the care, hospitality and even a bed for the night, that are basic requirements in the hotel business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

It was one of the hotel suggested by the RAI administration in Amsterdam and we chose it because of the location. In general it was a very good hotel, view on the water, kind personnnel.

I didn't give a higher review because we had some problems with the booking, though I'm not sure if it was the fault of RAI or of the hotel. Regardless it was a bit annoying! I had to change my booking to stay another day (arriving a day before) and called both hotel and RAI to get confirmation. When I arrived the reservation was still with the old data, but luckily they fixed it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
none
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Wyndham Apollos expresses it's exclusivity and high standards on facilities and services but in reality really, really is dissapointing. We booked an expensive two person-room (€ 150 a night) excluding the € 18 per person breakfast.
The room was quite dirty and really in bad shape. It was stinky, the walls were dirty, there was a lot of dust AND human hair everywhere but especially in the drawers and cupboards. The bath was full of dirty brown stains. Apart from that the room itself breathed faded glory - we imagine that once it was a beautiful, well cleaned and distincitive room between many others.
Before getting in the restaurant for breakfast the next morning, a waiter that checks your room number before you can go in for breakfast, starting making a phone call right in front of us while we were waiting to be served. Very unpolite. Our breakfast had enough choice but the bread was really old. Also, a waiter ran into us three times while we were picking up some bread and butter. He obviously never heard of courteousness to hotel guests.
We had a wedding party the night before and the food, drinks as well as the service were very good. Too bad that the room and other details were so bad. For us, that was the first and the last time that we visit the Wyndham Apollo in Amsterdam. A waste of money if you ask us.

Room Tip: Don't pick one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here June 14 - 18; the room was comfortable but shabby - no hair dryer, no safe and the breakfast very expensive. if you go for the continental, there's a large delivery charge. On our second morning we had money stolen from our room and so did our friends -twice as much as us, while we were all at breakfast. The hotel was poor at responding and only after much time were we upgraded to a room with a safe. (hair dryer here but broken and dangerous; I received a call at 11.40pm asking if I still wanted a new one and at midnight was told this was not possible!!) Drinks were offered to keep us quiet and there was no satisfaction from the off-site security. We were never told the result of investigation to see if our rooms had been entered while we were at breakfast - so does the swipe system work or not? I have contacted the parent company but after 6 days at home have received no reply. if you go there, watch your money and make a fuss if your room is not up to scratch.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a safe and a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because I was attending a conference in the nearby RAI. It was a walking distance in the beautiful morning of Amsterdam and an equally relaxing walk at the end of the day.

My flight from Doha arrived very early in the morning (around 7:00) and I was ready for a denial of early check in but the guy at the reception welcomed me with a smile and got me right into my room. No question asked. That helped. The room is not large but it has a desk and was arranged functionally nicely.

Breakfast buffet was good and rich in variety.

I recommend this as an option for any event at the RAI.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

While this hotel was not in the center of town you could walk to the Riksmuseum within 20 minutes.

We stayed 2 nights at the begining of an escorted tour with Gate 1. The room was comfortable, but the refrigerator did not work. We had a view of the parking lot, while my brother-in-law and his wife had a view of the marina and canal.

The best surprise was that the front desk recommended a local Restaurant, Richards, which was marvelous. This led us to discover a whole neighborhood of fantastic restaurants!

Full breakfast was included in our pakage and was excellent!

Room Tip: Request a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.