We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch your valuables!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #115 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
hampshire UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Watch your valuables!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here June 14 - 18; the room was comfortable but shabby - no hair dryer, no safe and the breakfast very expensive. if you go for the continental, there's a large delivery charge. On our second morning we had money stolen from our room and so did our friends -twice as much as us, while we were all at breakfast. The hotel was poor at responding and only after much time were we upgraded to a room with a safe. (hair dryer here but broken and dangerous; I received a call at 11.40pm asking if I still wanted a new one and at midnight was told this was not possible!!) Drinks were offered to keep us quiet and there was no satisfaction from the off-site security. We were never told the result of investigation to see if our rooms had been entered while we were at breakfast - so does the swipe system work or not? I have contacted the parent company but after 6 days at home have received no reply. if you go there, watch your money and make a fuss if your room is not up to scratch.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a safe and a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    269
    139
    55
    39
See reviews for
57
254
29
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because I was attending a conference in the nearby RAI. It was a walking distance in the beautiful morning of Amsterdam and an equally relaxing walk at the end of the day.

My flight from Doha arrived very early in the morning (around 7:00) and I was ready for a denial of early check in but the guy at the reception welcomed me with a smile and got me right into my room. No question asked. That helped. The room is not large but it has a desk and was arranged functionally nicely.

Breakfast buffet was good and rich in variety.

I recommend this as an option for any event at the RAI.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

While this hotel was not in the center of town you could walk to the Riksmuseum within 20 minutes.

We stayed 2 nights at the begining of an escorted tour with Gate 1. The room was comfortable, but the refrigerator did not work. We had a view of the parking lot, while my brother-in-law and his wife had a view of the marina and canal.

The best surprise was that the front desk recommended a local Restaurant, Richards, which was marvelous. This led us to discover a whole neighborhood of fantastic restaurants!

Full breakfast was included in our pakage and was excellent!

Room Tip: Request a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as part of a conference that was happening in the RAI. The hotel was good, nothing too fancy but had all the right things. Staff was good, got taxis right away and were very polite. Breakfast was ok, recommended to eat on the patio overlooking the canal. Location was pretty good, in walking distance (12 minutes) of the RAI and lots of other shops, hair places and restaurants in the area. Only took 10 minutes to get downtown in a cab. Only downside was the internet – absolutely didn't work in the rooms unless I sat on the floor next to the door and even then it was spotty. Sometimes bad internet is worse than no internet! But otherwise it was a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel for 1 night during weekend trip to Amsterdam. Location good, outdoor parking a rip off, best to be avoided. Rooms very dated, hotel staff overpowered by large groups of American river cruise ship tour group, hence long waits at the reception at check in.
room ok but interior very dated, beware the rooms don't look as nice as on the hotel homepage!
Given the price tag of the place (room, breakfast, parking.... not good value for money at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed compliments of Viking River Cruises as we delayed by a day because of the flooding in Europe. We had a nice view from our room overlooking the canal. It seemed quite central to everything. The rooms were nice but the furniture was looking very tired. It needed updating and replaced.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I like the Amsterdam city. Hotel Wyndham Apollo is in a quiet location not far away from the city. Breakfast was simple with a little choice of items. Reception staff were nice and warm helper. Housekeeping wasn't do their job properly thus the room always not cleaned very well. Anyway as I said before I do like the Amsterdam in Netherlands.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.