We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #116 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because I was attending a conference in the nearby RAI. It was a walking distance in the beautiful morning of Amsterdam and an equally relaxing walk at the end of the day.

My flight from Doha arrived very early in the morning (around 7:00) and I was ready for a denial of early check in but the guy at the reception welcomed me with a smile and got me right into my room. No question asked. That helped. The room is not large but it has a desk and was arranged functionally nicely.

Breakfast buffet was good and rich in variety.

I recommend this as an option for any event at the RAI.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    357
    170
    65
    47
See reviews for
99
358
35
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

While this hotel was not in the center of town you could walk to the Riksmuseum within 20 minutes.

We stayed 2 nights at the begining of an escorted tour with Gate 1. The room was comfortable, but the refrigerator did not work. We had a view of the parking lot, while my brother-in-law and his wife had a view of the marina and canal.

The best surprise was that the front desk recommended a local Restaurant, Richards, which was marvelous. This led us to discover a whole neighborhood of fantastic restaurants!

Full breakfast was included in our pakage and was excellent!

Room Tip: Request a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as part of a conference that was happening in the RAI. The hotel was good, nothing too fancy but had all the right things. Staff was good, got taxis right away and were very polite. Breakfast was ok, recommended to eat on the patio overlooking the canal. Location was pretty good, in walking distance (12 minutes) of the RAI and lots of other shops, hair places and restaurants in the area. Only took 10 minutes to get downtown in a cab. Only downside was the internet – absolutely didn't work in the rooms unless I sat on the floor next to the door and even then it was spotty. Sometimes bad internet is worse than no internet! But otherwise it was a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel for 1 night during weekend trip to Amsterdam. Location good, outdoor parking a rip off, best to be avoided. Rooms very dated, hotel staff overpowered by large groups of American river cruise ship tour group, hence long waits at the reception at check in.
room ok but interior very dated, beware the rooms don't look as nice as on the hotel homepage!
Given the price tag of the place (room, breakfast, parking.... not good value for money at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed compliments of Viking River Cruises as we delayed by a day because of the flooding in Europe. We had a nice view from our room overlooking the canal. It seemed quite central to everything. The rooms were nice but the furniture was looking very tired. It needed updating and replaced.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I like the Amsterdam city. Hotel Wyndham Apollo is in a quiet location not far away from the city. Breakfast was simple with a little choice of items. Reception staff were nice and warm helper. Housekeeping wasn't do their job properly thus the room always not cleaned very well. Anyway as I said before I do like the Amsterdam in Netherlands.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was our first trip to Amsterdam and we found ourselves transferred to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel after the hotel we had booked (Ramada Apollo) told us on arrival that they were overbooked. We were assured that the Wyndham was "more luxurious" and that all aspects of our booking would be honoured. Sadly this was not the case.

Positives - we were upgraded to an Executive Room on the top floor with wonderful views of the canals (and local Shell Petrol Station!!);
the hotel is in a leafy, quiet residential area;
staff are friendly if somewhat inefficient;
all areas of the hotel appear clean and tidy.

Negatives - we were booked on a dinner (3 course), bed and breakfast package which seemed to cause confusion for all staff concerned. On the first night we were offered the chef's "special menu" which consisted of a choice of asparagus with bacon or asparagus with lobster as a starter, then fillet of lamb or red mullet as a main, finishing with raspberries and ice cream or cheese & biscuits (except we were "not allowed the cheese" on our menu option. We asked what the menu options would be for the remaining two nights of our stay and were told the menu changed "seasonally"!! On the second night we ate in the bar and were given a 20 euro allocation each - almost enough for one course, the cheapest being a burger with chips and salad at 21 euros. But the burger was undercooked so our 3 course dinner turned out to be half a course. We complained to the Duty Manager and were assured that all would be sorted in time for our third dinner. Alas, this didn't happen. On the our final evening we were told by the waiter that we were "getting a special menu prepared by the chef" - so no choice. And this time it was tomato soup, followed by chicken caesar salad, and no dessert. (Standard dishes which appeared on the Room Service Menu!).

To add to our troubles, after each evening meal, despite having paid in advance for our dinner, the cost appeared on our room bill. So each morning we had the daily ritual of explaining to the receptionist about our plight and having to wait for a manager to adjust our bill accordingly.

Individually the staff were all very courteous and helpful, but somehow the administration, both within the hotel and between the hotel and it's sister hotel, was completely lacking.

The constant hassle we encountered over our dining arrangements was inexcusable and should not have been allowed to extend over three nights.

Oh, and the breakfasts were disappointing too..... :-(. Fine if you were down early, but by 9 am the cheese had curled at the edges, the scrambled eggs had turned to rubber, the bacon was incinerated, and the coffee was lukewarm.

Suffice it so say we will NOT be back and wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing stress-free break.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.